We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Ranked #26 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Experienced lovely service. As the reports state, the wall are thin so you can hear a lot of noise from other rooms as well as corridors. Initially, I was given a room with inter-leading doors. The couple in the next room were quite loud... then they started eating something, and the smell permeated to my room. I immediately went to reception and asked for a room change to one without the adjoining door. It was no hassle for the guys at the front desk, and they apologised and made me feel comfortable. Excellent light breakfast. Great location for South Beach, restaurants, as well as shopping... all not too far. Enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
There are newer reviews for Room Mate Lord Balfour
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at LB for two nights including New Year's eve 2013. Trip Advisor reviews very accurate and faithful representation of the hotel. We felt hugely welcomed and looked after by Richard the Doorman, and the rest of the staff. Was not sure how we'd like the art motif but it is really done well and there are many layers of both visual and written art to explore (which as writers, we liked).

Best part is the location - we like being near but not in the action all the time and LB was a perfect location - a couple of blocks south of the action so very easy to engage or disengage. LB was quiet with a lovely atrium and outdoor patio. The bar was cozy and well attended / stocked, you can grab a quick drink before or after your other plans. Breakfast was too much bread and carbs for our diet but others seemed to enjoy. There are two Decostations to rent bikes within a couple of blocks (the ONLY way to get around Miami IMHO).

We stayed in room 422, a Lord Balfour suite - it had a nice bed with a door separating it from the small but very comfortable and functional living area. Bathroom nice and functional, including a "hand" to hold the soap (slightly creepy at first, but we made friends with it!). Room and whole feel very well done, romantic and comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay.

With so many choices in S. Beach, it can be bewildering, but if you are looking for a very nice spot near the action with a fun and creative vibe, and great service, Lord Balfour is your place. We'd go back!

Room Tip: Get a room in the back, ideally facing the patio / atrium. They are expanding so the new section ou...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVMJMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, the final hotel of our holiday. The room was clean but basic with a small bathroom. Breakfast was ok and wifi reception good. The main downside was that we could hear the occupants of the room above particularly on the last night when their footsteps could be heard clearly for a couple of hours after they returned at 2am. Reception service was very good and the location is in a quiet area but just a short walk from the beach, bars and restaurants. Overall, I am surprised it is rated so highly. Tip - don't use the valet parking which is very expensive. There is a car park 1 block away for less than a third of the cost.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank KMLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

we stayed there twice within a few days of interval:
- The first time was great: large room, comfortable, clean, good service, free breakfast, free access to umbrella, chair on the beach
- The second time was a disappointment: room situated on the basement floor, impossible to open windows, couldn't lock the bathroom door, toilet not flushed when we arrived, smaller room, disappointing breakfast (less things than before)

To summarize try it if you can get a good deal otherwise go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I felt in sync with this hotel hrs before check-in...
because when I called to announce our delayed flights, Lord Balfour Rep, Ms. Cree, was very accommodating and provided sufficient solutions. Furthermore, the moment we stepped out of our cab, the staff promptly greeted us, guided us to the front desk, and managed our luggage. Check-in was a breeze...no lines, pleasant smiles, and a verbal tour of hotel amenities and nearby attractions.
As far as location...it's directly across from the beach :-) and they provide FREE beach chairs/towels! Now, Ld Balfour is on the lower end of the famous "Ocean Drive", which allowed us to relax/reboot peacefully (oh, which they do encourage use of indoor voices...hmm) but only a block away from the "action" as needed!
As far as the hotel decor....Sheesh! Words cannot fully describe all of the creativity put into this ArtDeco Hotel...from the bubble-gum sidewalk wire art to the Sculpted Soap Dishes....Elaborately Creative. (Please see pics) Needless to say, the hotel was trendy, comfortable, and very clean. Rooms could be considered small, but that is expected from ANY/ALL South-beach Hotel rooms.
Overall, our stay was very relaxing, exciting, and comfortable! And, the warm attentiveness of Ms. Cree, Mr. Richard, and staff, will assure our return for upcoming South Beach trips!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThirdEyeMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

We're so glad you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our new design and all the unique art. Thank you for posting the pictures, and giving the 'shout out' to Cree, Richard, and the rest of the team. We're all here ready for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We just spent 5 days at the Lord Balfour and totally enjoyed the experience. The location was great with all of South Beach and the real beach itself just out your door. The Hotel was very tastefully done with original artwork in the public spaces and fine modern design throughout. It rained off an on while we were there and it was nice to be able to eat breakfast or have a drink in the evening out on the comfortable front patio and be outside even though it was raining. We took full advantage of how the hotel sets you up with beach towels, beach lounges, and beach umbrellas. The entire staff was fantastic. Everybody was part of assuring our stay was a good one. They succeeded. We are already planning a return visit to the Balfour. We have stayed at many nice places but this is the first time I can recall us checking out and already planning our return visit to the same venue.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you for posting your review of your great experience. We're all here to wow you. Sorry we had some rainy days during your stay, but glad you could chill out on the front patio and watch the world wonder by on Ocean Drive. We're excited that you'll be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Ms. Cree Stubbs and her staff went above and beyond to ensure that our visit was an enjoyable and relaxing one. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The staff was also helpful in recommending restaurants, shopping, and local attractions. Thanks so much!!! No question about it, Lord Balfour is the place to stay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

We're so glad you had a great Girls Weekend! Thank you for recognizing Cree and the rest of the fabulous team of Associates. Maybe it's time to start planning the next weekend getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 210 in Miami Beach
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#39 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#25 of 210 in Miami Beach
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Flora
La Flora
#18 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#7 of 210 in Miami Beach
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6905 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $122 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private courtyard garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and everything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing