We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Nearby Hotels
$299
EDITION
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Croydon(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$201
$168
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$629
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$187
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$428
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$440
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
$211
$199
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
$274
$230
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,495)
Filter reviews
1,495 results
Traveler rating
893
449
109
23
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
893
449
109
23
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean drivesouth beachsouth endbeach towelscontinental breakfastboutique hotelperfect locationresort feequiet areagreat boutiquesmall bathroomnikki beachan umbrellanight lifeart decochairs and umbrellastwo blocks
Filter
Updating list...
846 - 851 of 1,495 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

So many good reviews can lead to high expectations and eventually some disappointment. Not in this case. I had a nearly impeccable 8 night stay at this hotel. Location is great, on a quiet block of Ocean Drive just a few steps away from the beach and from the action of SoBe. The hotel is modern and the room we got was pleasant, clean and even a little more spacious than the photos led to believe. Although simple (few options), the complimentary breakfast is a nice touch. Finally, all the staff was very friendly and helpful.Great deal for a fair price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent stay at the Lord Balfour Hotel. We are pleased you had an impeccable stay and that you enjoyed your accommadtaions plus the location of the hotel. Thank you for being our guest , we would be thrilled to see you again!.

Best regards,
Ralph Reveron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I'm in hotel & resort business myself. Stayed 4 nights for a conference. From Front Desk open friendliness and not being over attentative, to room amenities and décor, from bar cocktails to morning simple bfst (even though that's the only dining period), from easy access to local Ocean Drive hot spots to a 10min cab ride away from best clubs...it was all awesome! Special thank you to Gisela and Richard! Next time I'm in Miami, it's an easy choice!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FJHPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at the Lord Balfour Hotel. Your comments reagrding Gisela and Richard are welcomed and I will share your compliments with them for the service you recieved by them. We do hope to see you again soon and pleased that you have chosen our hotel as your future destination while in Miami Beach.

Thankfully yours,
Ralph Reveron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Since I currently work in the hospitality industry, I knew I had to do my research and read online reviews before booking this hotel. I have to say...I couldn't be any happier that we chose to stay here due to their affordable price and outstanding service!!!

It was our first time in Miami for a girl’s trip and we arrived 11am at MIA airport. We called the hotel and asked if we could check-in early and Amaury (spelling?) happily invited us to check-in early. When we arrived at the hotel--the lobby smelled lovely and looked cleaned. As soon as Amaury (the bellman) saw us, he greeted us, helped us with our bags, and directed us to the front desk. Kries (spelling?) checked us in and she informed us of the hotel amenities such as the complimentary beach towels, complimentary breakfast, etc. instead of just handing us the room keys and saying bye.

Every time we walked in the lobby we were always acknowledge even the night auditor did the same. They were so friendly from the time we stepped in and stepped out of the hotel.

Location was excellent--it was across the beach and a few blocks away from many restaurants.

The rooms were a little on the small side but we had enough space to move comfortably, modern, and clean. Beds were super comfy and the complimentary breakfast was delicious!!! Guest had a choice of coffee, tea, or orange juice with an assortment of pastries. My favorite was their almond cheese pastry--it was delicious!

On the second morning, we told housekeeping to come back since we were still sleeping when they tried to clean the room and when we headed out we asked the front desk if they can ask housekeeping to clean our rooms. I overheard the front desk agent (I can't recall her name but she had long brown hair) call in the request to housekeeping immediately over the radio as we were heading for the door. When we got back in the room around 5pm, our room was unfortunately not cleaned but this wasn't a big deal for us since we only had 1 night left and they were happy to deliver us extra sets of towels.

Regardless, Kudos and thank you to the Hotel Lord Balfour Team for making us feel welcome throughout our stay and providing a clean/safe place to stay in Miami...we'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

We are certainly happy to hear that Amaury was able to check you in early as you have requested and once you arrived Cree our Front Office Manager provided you with information of all the amenities we have to offer. Our team is geared to providing memorable vacation experiences, whether you are here on a long vacation or a short vacation. We take great pride in extending great service to all of our guest. However, I do want to apologize for missing your housekeeping service after you have requested your room be serviced. Certainly we failed in following up to ensure it was completed before your return. I have shared this concern with our management team to correct and ensure this does not happen again. We thank you for choosing the Lord Balfour Hotel from many other choices here in Miami Beach. We do hope to see you soon and it will be a great pleasure to be your host.

Sincerely yours,
Ralph Reveron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I bought a Groupon a couple of months ago for a vacation from DC. The location of the hotel on Ocean Drive is far enough away from the loud and raucous area that you can't hear the noise, but close enough to walk (just a few blocks). Also not even half a block from the beach. The doorman, Richard, was extremely helpful throughout. The continental breakfast each morning (pastries, juice, coffee) was a nice touch to grab on your way out. The bathrooms, as noted in some other reviews, are small, and the room is not much bigger but wouldn't expect a boutique hotel to have large rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful overall. I would recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAS368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to recieve great feedback of the Lord Balfour Hotel. We greatly appreciate your positive comments regarding Richard, we are so pleased to have Richard on our team. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed yourself and also enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast we offer. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely yours,
Ralph Reveron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We Stayed here for 3days. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Excellent location in Sofi. Quiet and close to action. Still gave it 5 stars despite not having a pool. Continental breakfast was nice. Hip and modern with art deco details. We would definitely return again on our next tip to South Beach. Really digged the tattoo lady on the wall. So edgy.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank FoodDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on the Lord Balfour Hotel. We are currently on the plannng stage to add a second wing next to our property that will feature a state of the art pool for your enjoyment in the future. We thank you again for your comments and hope to be your host on your next return to the Lord Balfour Hotel.

Sincerely,
Ralph Reveron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews