We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Ranked #26 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Wonderful, newly renovated hotel! I stayed here from 8/26-8/30 for a birthday and end of summer vacation. I found this hotel via a Groupon and read great reviews on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to say that they didn't disappoint. Lovely decor! Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. Great to have the complimentary continental breakfast every morning! The property was well kept and the lobby always smelled lovely!

Only a few very minor complaints:
-It was very easy to hear people talking in the hallways
-The water temperature tended to be slightly cooler at times.

These two minor issues didn't ruin my trip nor will it keep me from returning!

Look forward to staying at Lord Balfour again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

It was great to have you here with us! Thank you for your kind words and observations. We are always striving to provide ever more excellent service. I look forward to your next visit with us.

Best regards,

Chauncey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,307)
There are newer reviews for Room Mate Lord Balfour
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We really enjoyed the hotel and the staff. The location is excellent - close to Nikki beach and the South Beach promenade but far enough away to avoid the crowds and the noise. Ideal for the short break that we took and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montblanc07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for kind words regarding our staff and hotel! It was great having you here with us. I look forward to your next visit with us in the near future!

Best regards,

Chauncey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! Awesome art deco from lobby to room. The staff in the lobby were freakishly nice. Some of the staff wore fake smiles and personalities but it didn't bother me. Overall everyone was super friendly. Richard the bellman was awesome. Don't know if they need a bell service for every guest considering there are only 4 floors with an elevator lol. People gotta make tip somehow yeah? Room was fantastic. Fitness room sucks. Only 4 cardio machines but who works out in south beach right? Lol. Bottom line: BEST BUDGET FRIENDLY HOTEL.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

It was great having you here with us! Thank you for your kind comments and observations. We are always seeking ways to provide excellent service to our guests. I hope to have you here with again soon in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you are in Miami South Beach do yourself a favor and visit Lord Balfour for a cocktail or two. The quality of their drinks and service are outstanding!
We have tried a few cocktails mixed by Preston who really made us feel welcome (although we did not stay at Lord Balfour) and in a way made me regret not booking our stay at this hotel - we went for nearby Marriott instead.
The person who designed/created the cocktail list definitely knew what they were doing. Notice quality of ingredients being used (starting from the sugar syrup, ice cubes, organic juices and sodas etc), great bar staff skills, tools and presentation as well as flawless customer service skills.
Whoever is in charge of HR - great job on staff selection, keep it up!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ZeGnrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind word about your experience in the Lord Balfour Bar! It is a wonderful cocktail program prepared by a knowledgeable staff. We look forward to having you back again soon.

Best regards,

Chauncey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wow, just got back from a long weekend 2 weeks ago and stayed at Lord Balfour, I Read all the reviews of this new hotel before booking and decided to give a try.
This is so nice to see customer service still exist in North America, Cree the Manager was really helpful and all the staff during my 4 days stay.
My favorite and most amazing staff member was Amaury..... just WOW, Great Job!!! Lord Balfour is lucky to have such amazing guy working there.
I suggested this hotel to 2 friends and they already booked it for the liberty weekend and I am thinking to go back at this hotel really soon....
Again Great Job, Design/Space/Location/Bed/and all the ETRO Bath Product!
See you soon LB.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanalaintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

It was wonderful to have you visit with us! Thank you for your kind words and observations. I am looking forward to having you here with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I stay there for two night last week, the hotel located a street away from the beach and a street away from the loud crowd of ocence drive. It is very quiet at night. The hotel room is very stylish and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeiFai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

It was great having you here with us! Thank you for your kind words. We appreciated you choosing to visit with us. I look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for a single night in mid-August and found this newly-renovated hotel to be a real gem. It is about a block south of the southern edge of the Art Deco District, which means you are next to everything but not on top of it... The weekend chaos can be really loud - we had fun participating in it and then walking back to this pristine hotel for a good night's sleep.

The rooms are funky and well outfitted. No pool, but a great continental breakfast was included.

We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinoTheDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

It was great to have you here with us! Thank you for your kind remarks. I look forward to having your visit with us again in the near future!

Best regards,

Chauncey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 210 in Miami Beach
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#39 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#20 of 210 in Miami Beach
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Flora
La Flora
#18 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,418 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#7 of 210 in Miami Beach
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6905 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $122 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private courtyard garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and everything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing