We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Ranked #24 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Waco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Modern”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nice enough boutique style hotel. On the far end of South Beach. Starbucks about one block from there. A/C works excellent! Parking is VERY expensive. $35 plus tax per night! We needed to get something from the car one day and asked where we can go to open the trunk and they directed us to a garage that our car was NOT in. Very frustrating, they did not know where our car was. That evening it took them about 25 minutes to bring us our car. Beach is right across the street, very nice. If you walk along Ocean Drive there's many dining options. Be aware all the specials are not what they seem. We spent over $48 for two sodas, one small Caesar salad and a small pizza. With a "lunch special" Everything's very pricey. I would not recommend the place for families, very small. I can't imagine a heavy person trying to use the bathroom. Think European hotels and you've nailed it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plopez76657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
It was wonderful having you here with us! Thank you for your comments and observations. I apologize for the incorrect instruction you received about the valet parking lot! Time on vacation is too precious to spend looking for a parking lot! We will more than make up for that on your next visit with us. Contact me directly so I can organize that for you.

Sincerely,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    391
    95
    18
    14
See reviews for
197
658
71
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights did not pre book just walked up to reception and inquired was greeted by Ms Cree Stubbs
Front office manager.
I found her customer service skills to be outstanding very welcoming and informative ,
Hotel is is on the famous ocean drive couple of streets away from all the noise so it was ideal very clean and newly refurbished hotel just across the street from the beautiful beach would highly recommend this hotel ,
Staff are all very friendly and overall it is a great hotel .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and observations! We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit with us. I look forward to providing you service again in the near future!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Although my party only stayed at this hotel for one night, we felt completely at home. The room was clean, had enough space for three and was absolutely beautiful! Very unique! The location of this hotel was perfect for us. Very close to the beach, Collins and although its at the quieter end of Ocean Drive, very close to the amazing South Beach nightlife. It's also quiet enough to sleep too, which is always an added bonus :)

The concierge Dilip was fantastic, organising all of the things we wanted to do in a very short space of time. Another fantastic member of staff was Richard, who was very friendly and helpful, and who brought me a sewing kit to the room when I was having a dress emergency!

Overall, I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel if you are visiting South Beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
It was wonderful to have you here with us! Thank you for your kind remarks about your visit and for recognizing Dilip and Richard's efforts. We look forward to providing excellent service again on your next visit with us.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Lord Balfour is in prime location a walk away from the beach and Collins St shopping. The hotel is newly refurbished chic vintage hotel with amazing accommodation and service. I would highly reccommend staying at Lord Balfour!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust_CMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind remarks about your visit with us! I am happy you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is a little gem in South Beach, very quaint and brand new!
Enjoyed the stay very much! The valet parking ouch... $ 35.00 normal for South Beach where everything is glamour! The front desk cordial but too fake! I heard "I apologize" about 20 times and was getting really annoyed! I wanted to hear more more of "what can I do to help you?" Invaluable the advices from Dilip the concierge, personable, genuine, kind and knowledgeable of the area. Old school gentleman!

The room is tastefully decorated but very small bathroom! If you are here for the beach, this is the perfect spot! Breakfast is continental and it's ok, there is no restaurant so it's continental buffet.
The room price is worth for the location! The smell is musky, in the some areas of the hotel.
I will go back next time in Miami Beach! Hopefully less apologies and more action!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for visiting with us and sharing your experience and observations! Your comments are very valuable for us and our goal of providing excellent, genuinely friendly service to all our guests. Thank you for the comments about our Chef Concierge, Dilip! We welcome the opportunity to have you visit with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed in a double queen room at the end of July and didn't find the hotel as nice as others had posted. The hotel is located on the main drag in South Beach, but at the far south end but still a good location. It was a short walk across the street, between two buildings to a nice beach area. Hotel provided beach towels for this excursion. The room had two queen beds and was pretty tight for 3 adults. The bathroom was very small, but had upscale fixturing. room had small fridge that will eventually be filled for minibar but was empty for our use this trip. hotel did have musty odor throughout the building. hotel has no restaurant but did offer a contintenal breakfast at the bar area in the mornings, but we didn't eat so can't comment. valet parking (only viable option) was available for $35 per night. my issues involved personnel issues with front desk operations and valet services - delays and errors encountered during most of my interactions with both parties. I would not book a stay at this hotel again based on overall room size, odor issue and staff knowledge/performance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen7377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during your visit with us. Providing excellent service is very important to us. The minibar is being installed this week, our valet service will be faster and our colleagues will be better informed for you. It will be our pleasure to offer you better service in these areas during your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

A gem of a hotel situated on ocean drive just minutes from the beach and bar scene! As you enter from the alluring front patio, automatic doors open, enveloping you with a cold blast of air conditioning: a reprieve from the unforgivingly hot Miami sun. A mellifluous wave of ‘hellos’ and ‘good mornings’ from the staff greets you; you have truly arrived at your oasis!

Hotel Amenities:
This newly renovated hotel has an eclectic décor replete with new furnishings and structures. Amenities include a backyard patio, a fully stocked bar and a continental breakfast which includes an assortment of teas, coffee, pastries, fruits, yogurt, and juices. You can borrow beach towels free of charge so long as they are returned. There is relatively small exercise gym located on the third floor (only four pieces of equipment!?). Although this is a renovated hotel, the slight odor of mold/mildew infiltrates the hallways still. The hotel does have plans to build a second phase (from the ground up) on the adjacent plot which will include a restaurant. I would imagine most of the small nuisances of the first phase building will be solved with new one.

Service:
The service for this boutique hotel is impeccable. The staff is warm and accommodating. Be sure to speak with the concierge (Dilip) as his advice and planning will help immensely! Cree (the morning manager) is a pleasure to speak with. If you have any concerns, express them to her.

In-Room Amenties:
The rooms are decorated in a modern way with one of the walls covered with an interesting art deco wallpaper. The size is quite small but the in-room amenities make the stay a comfortable one. The beds are firm complete with down pillows and comforters. Although the air conditioning was turned off upon the first arrival, the room was blissfully cool only after a couple of hours of runtime. There’s a flat screen TV with an empty mini-refrigerator, an Andis blow-dryer, and a small safe (large enough to fit wallets and jewelry). Each room has a small radio/music player that allows you to play your own music (IPhone or aux inputs accepted). Two robes and two slippers are provided and are complimentary. Hardwood floors cover the entire room including the bathroom. The bathroom is rather small but luxurious – the rainfall showerhead is heavenly. The ambient noise-level was minimal to none; I’ve rarely experienced a quiet and relaxing sleep as I have had at this hotel.

This boutique hotel is treasure not to be missed. I would definitely recommend to my family and friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us your kind remarks and detailed observations! They are very helpful to us. We look forward to providing you excellent service on your next visit with us.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 208 in Miami Beach
456 reviews
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,053 reviews
Blanc Kara
#27 of 208 in Miami Beach
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
482 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,398 reviews
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Property: Room Mate Lord Balfour
Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6905 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private courtyard garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and everything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing