We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Decent, but very noisy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitelaw Hotel
Ranked #79 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Decent, but very noisy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed here with my best friend. We're both 21. We were meeting friends in South Beach and wanted a place to sleep for one night. The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect. Close to the ocean, shopping, and bars/restaurants.

The hotel lobby is cute, as pictured. The room was clean. The beds were fine. The bathroom door didn't lock (broken), but that wasn't a huge deal to us. The rooms were very very noisy, even at 6pm (loud music in lobby). Our room was at the end of the hall, first floor.

We went out and came back at 3am. Even drunk, I wasn't able to sleep through the night. Other guests were screaming and talking right until 10am, when we had to wake up to check out. It's an old building so the walls are very thin, and given its reputation as a "party-friendly" hotel, it attracts loud party-goers. Basically, don't stay here more than one night unless you're a very deep sleeper. I would stay here again as a place to drunkenly crash for the night, but never as a place to relax and explore South Beach. However, the price was great and you get what you pay for! I didn't have super high expectations like a lot of the people on here, so I wasn't disappointed. Just sleepy. Good luck!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hello there H E,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We are in the heart of South Beach just blocks away from all the action that takes place here. We are glad to read that you were content with the cleanliness of our hotel. We are indeed a party hotel and our website clearly states that. If you were looking for a more quiet and secluded stay, perhaps one of the other hotels in our group were more suited for you.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    375
    175
    109
    175
See reviews for
131
360
121
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for one night! It was awful! First off, we had to drive to the valet to have our car parked (literally took an hour even though it was one block away), get to the room and there was an overbearing smell of bleach. Given the week we went was spring break (nothing against partying) there were people yelling in the halls almost every hour until 5am! When we went to leave to catch our flight(at 6am) there was an abundant smell of weed coming from the lobby and the only one in there at the time was the front desk man. The hotel definitely ruined Our Miami experience. Never going back!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mriz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Good Afternoon Mriz22,

We value all of our guests feedback, and we are terribly sorry that you did not have a 5 star time with us! Unfortunately the City of Miami Beach is preforming construction on Collins Ave. They are working to improve the roadways. They have set strict regulations with the valet parking, and have made all valet stations move elsewhere for the time being. I will make sure to pass on your feedback to our General Manager so that she is aware of this. We apologize that your stay with us was less then enjoyable!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I had a very good time every one was so nice, the rooms super nice and the location is amazing , also at the restaurant the service was great the waiter Lourdes was so nice, that's my spot in miami, see you next time!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liorberen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Good Afternoon LisaMarieSwitzer,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours! The City of Miami Beach is preforming construction on Collins Ave. They are working to improve our roadways and this project should be done soon. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you! Our complimentary cocktail hour is the perfect way to start the night off! Doreene is great and all of our guests love her! She whips up some delicious cocktails! We are in the heart of South Beach, just blocks away from all the action that takes place here. We are glad that your stay with us was great! We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Arrived with.construction.out front but was kindly directed to a.free parking garge a street up. The room was exactly.what.was expected from discripton. Happy hour was awesome, the bartender Doreene was awesome, very friendly, attentive and knew our group. She took great care of us all.night. the.service desk.help Andrew helped us with a room accomidating to our situation. The location Is one block from.south.beach strip with a vey mellow and comfortable porch to.hang on.and.and.have some drinks and enjoy the.south beach weather. Overall a good expierence we would.definitely do.again. thank you Whitelaw for a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMarieSwitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Good Afternoon LisaMarieSwitzer,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours! The City of Miami Beach is preforming construction on Collins Ave. They are working to improve our roadways and this project should be done soon. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you! Our complimentary cocktail hour is the perfect way to start the night off! Doreene is great and all of our guests love her! She whips up some delicious cocktails! We are in the heart of South Beach, just blocks away from all the action that takes place here. We are glad that your stay with us was great! We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Only positive for this hotel is location. Happy Hour starts at 7PM and people do not leave the bar area until 5AM. If you get a room on the first floor all you hear are doors slamming and loud racket from the bar! We asked if we could check out early do to noise levels but were advised we would not receive a refund. I am a manger for several hotels and most reputable hotels are normally willing to work with their guest.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jescat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Good Afternoon jescat55,

We would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, regarding your recent stay. The location of our property is indeed in the heart of South Beach, just blocks away from all the hot spots. We offer a lovely complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM nightly. It's a perfect way to start the night off. We have a cancellation policy just like any other hotel. If you chose to cancel out of our cancellation policy you will be penalized. We could have moved you to a room towards the back of the hotel on a higher floor away from the noise. If not, then to one of our sister hotels. We apologize that your time spent with us was not a 5 star one!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

great honeymoon with my wife.

happy hour was excellent and all the excursions and tours Nicolas booked were amazing.
also a shout-out to jorge luis. excellent bellman. very attentive and full of information

Room Tip: back rooms are the quietest. construction was trouble for parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hello there Marcos p,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback with us! We are delighted to read that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us! I see that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8pm nightly. It's a perfect time to mingle around and get to know your temporary neighbors. Jorge is absolutely amazing and all of our guests seem to think so as well. I will make sure that he is aware of your kind praise! We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is under construction so you are going to hear a lot of noise. If you plan on being dropped off in front of the hotel, think again because the construction is going to stop you from that. We were dropped off about two streets over in front of their other hotel "Chelsea" and told to walk on over. This hotel has only 3 floors so you are going to hear noise from everywhere. It is definitely not the place to stay if you are looking for quiet as the music goes on until 3 or 4am and then you have the club goers coming home and so it stays noisy throughout the night. The worse part was the beds felt dirty as they felt like they had not been cleaned. I know the hotel is located in South Beach, but the sand should stay on the beach. Worse night ever! Do not stay here, it is not the hottest hotel in South Beach!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccvanderbilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Good Afternoon ccvanderbilt,

We value all of our guests feedback and apologize that you did not have an amazing time while staying with us! The City of Miami Beach is preforming construction on Collins Ave. They are working to improve our roadways. This project should be done shortly and everything will be back to normal. Unfortunately The City of Miami Beach has strict regulations about the shuttle service. We are not able to load or unload any guests nor their luggage on Collins Ave. We are indeed a party hotel and our website clearly states that. If you are looking for a more quiet or secluded stay we are not the hotel for you. All of our rooms are deep cleaned before they are handed over to the next set of guests. We would never check any guest into a room that has not been cleaned and inspected by our supervisors.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#83 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#113 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Metropole Apartments
Metropole Apartments
#74 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
1.0 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#88 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,945 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#82 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitelaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitelaw Hotel

Property: Whitelaw Hotel
Address: 808 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitelaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitelaw Hotel, South Beach's hip, chic boutique hotel, offers guests the ultimate vacation experience at an affordable price. In the heart of South Beach on Collins Avenue and 8th Street, the hotel is located just steps from the beach, shops, restaurants and nighttime hotspots. The Whitelaw combines Art Deco embellishments with whimsical design to transport its guests into a world unique from any other Miami Beach accommodations. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Budget Places so you can book your Whitelaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitelaw Hotel Miami Beach
Whitelaw Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing