We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Find a other hotell”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whitelaw Hotel
Ranked #66 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Find a other hotell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotell is a joke. We ordered i doubleroom with and extra bed. When we came there they did not have any extra bed and refuse to pay us back for both nights. They even refuse to let 3 people in to room..

The staff is no serviceminded and dont care that you are on vacation. Small rooms, dirty, much noise. Miami have a LOT hotels and this is NOT one to choose. Be aware for hotell fees and other hidden cost that this hotell charge after you have booked.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller768ew9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Good Afternoon Traveller768ew9,

Your honest feedback is greatly appreciated! I have spoken to the General Manager about this review and she recalls the situation clearly. Unfortunately you had booked through Booking.com and you had booked a room for 2 adults. The GM informed you that there would be a room available for 4 adults on Sunday. She definitely did everything that she could to provide you with excellent service! We are indeed a boutique hotel and therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average size hotel room. On all of our third party sites it clearly states that there is a service charge that is not included in your final price. We also take a $100 hold out for incidentals just like every other hotel does.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    445
    192
    119
    186
See reviews for
164
458
145
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

First and foremost, Check in was extemely long. We checked in at 2:50pm and we had to wait till 3:42pm to get a key to the room. Hotel allows random people to walk into other guest rooms to have items stolen and then charge the guest that was staying inside the room without doing an investigation. Will get a lawyer involve most definately. Next morning we asked for towesl we didnt get any until 5:00 that evening. Cant get any sleep the hotel musci extremely loud. A fight broke out and no one was at the front desk to resolve the issue, the police were called. So sad such a betiful hotel and poor poor service provided. I guess I iwill stay on Ocean Drive next time.

Room Tip: Do not go here..keep it moving
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello Alexi H,

Thank you so much for your time to provide us with your honest feedback! I see that you were able to start your check in process a little before 3. Our check in time is usually at 3PM. Sometimes it takes longer for our guests to get a room, depending on our availability the night before, and how many guests did a late check out. We would never let random people walk into other guests room. If there were items consumed from the mini bar it's because the people staying in the room consumed those items. Why would we let random people walk into our guests room? We have camera's that prove this as well. Please have your lawyer contact us in regards to your matter. I apologize that you were not able to get any towels until 5PM. Our housekeeping staff replenishes your towels when cleaning your room, and they do indeed have until 6PM to clean all the rooms of the hotel. We are indeed a party hotel and our website clearly states so. If you are looking for a more quiet or secluded stay please check one of our other lovely properties. There is always someone at the front desk. Perhaps they weren't exactly at the front desk, maybe they were sorting out the lobby area but they are definitely in the lobby, a few steps away from the desk. Thank you for your feedback!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Ive stayed at the whitelaw 2 years ago and its nice to see a couple familiar faces: Andrew and Raul who were quite helpful, I like the vibe of the hotel and came with a girlfriend of mine this time,We were on the 1st floor but to the back so the music wasnt a big deal for us and we already knew that there was music in the lobby. Happy hour was pretty good although one of the femail bartenders they had this time could do with an attitude adjustment. E-Z the other bartender kept us entertained and the live DJ on the weekend was great. All in all it was a pretty good trip for the weekend for me and my girlfriend.

Room Tip: Not for the boring type or the big complainer....Hotel does have music at the bar. maybe select a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello there jenny r,

We love when our guests post lovely feedback such as yours! Thank you very much for your time to provide us with that! I am glad to know that you are a loyal and returning guest! I see that there were some familiar faces at the hotel since the last time you stayed with us. I wish that you could have provided a name to the bartender that was giving you an attitude. I would have liked to address the issue immediately. We hope to have you stay with us for a 3rd time! :)

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitol Heights, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the Whitelaw July 16-19. The hotel is a nice hotel for the price you pay but there are some things that need to be addressed. They are doing construction across the street so front rooms be aware. the rooms 203 was a nice size. we had lots of space to enjoy ourselves. The problem I had with this hotel is clearly there must be a communication issue because me and my husband where laying in bed when some lady (an employee of the hotel) comes busting thru the door. She was like, "Im so sorry do you guys need anything". I was really bothered by this and I wont be staying there again for this reason.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantek920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Good Evening Chantek920,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for taking your time to post yours. I apologize for the construction that is taking place on Collins Ave. The City of Miami Beach is improving their roadways at the moment, to better things for our neighborhood. I am terribly sorry about the employee that came into your room. There was definitely a communication error there. I am sure that it was another room she needed to attend, and she just got the numbers mixed up. Everyone makes mistakes and we truly apologize for that!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Let me sum it up for everyone wondering if they should or SHOULD NOT stay at this hotel based one of the most interesting and MOST TERRIBLE experiences I've ever had any hotel:
-Unusual check in:
•this hotel takes a xerox copy of your ID as well as everyone's ID that is staying in the room, while checking into the hotel.
-Great location:
•only a few short blocks from the beach. In the middle of the hustle and bustle of South Beach.
-Terrible service:
•such a hassle to get fresh towels.
•getting harassed every single time you pass the front desk; double checking to see if you only have a certain amount of people in your room.
•Asking the bar tender for an ash tray was like asking him to run a marathon.
-Awesome front porch with club like seating and atmosphere. Nice to chill and hangout.
-Hotel rooms were extremely extremely small.
-Unhelpful staff
-If you think you are going to sleep, good luck to you!! The bar at the front desk doesn't stop playing music till 3am. (Cause that's exactly what everyone wants when returning from the club.)
-Cool chic atmosphere when entering the building, looks like a older hotel they tried to make modern.
-- Everyone has different experiences at hotels. This being one of the WORST experiences I've ever had. I WILL NEVER EVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL EVER AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EParadiseR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello EParadiseR,

Thank you so much for taking your time to provide us with your honest and extensive feedback! I am extremely sorry that you did not have an amazing time while staying with us! We do indeed take a xerox copy of your ID at the point of check in. We have noticed that many of our guests try to do charge backs, claiming that they never stayed with us. With the copy of your ID we can prove that the guest did stay with us. The location of our property is indeed in the heart of South Beach, just a walk away from all the action. I apologize that it was a hassle to get fresh towels. I will definitely inform the Director of Housekeeping about his issue. In the past and in many cases the amount of people staying in the room, does not equal out to the amount of people on the reservation. We have also had random people walking in trying to get into rooms, when they aren't even staying with us. We like to check and make sure for your security and ours as well. We do offer rooms of all sizes depending on what each guest is looking for. Perhaps you booked a room that was smaller then what you really needed. On our website it clearly states that we are a party hotel, if you are looking for a secluded or quiet getaway you might consider staying at one of our other properties. The majority of the hotels on South Beach are historic buildings that have been remodeled and upgraded.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I'd rather stay at the Days Inn than this place. They put a lot of money in the appearance of this place and that is all. Wifi sucks in your room, shower leaks, bathroom and room is small, curtains are thin and it gets super bright once daylight hits, front desk staff lacks personality, towels and washcloths seem to be highly protected because you have to ask for them all the time and they are of very poor quality, no microwave which should be standard since they really are not that pricey, they have an antiquated credit card contraption at the front desk and idk what is up with xeroxing your ID when you check in. Stay only for the location. If you value customer service and amenties, the days inn will hail in comparison to the whitelaw hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello there Choo P,

Thank you for posting your honest feedback for all of our future guests to read! I am terribly sorry that you did not have an amazing time while staying with us! Were we aware of all the issues that you experienced while you were with us? If we were aware of the shower leaking we would have definitely sent a maintenance man to check that. We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are smaller then your average hotel. We do offer rooms that range in size though. Perhaps the room type that you chose was smaller then what you needed. I will make sure to inform the front desk manager about the personality of our staff. We do not offer a microwave in our rooms as we have a restaurant right down stairs. We have noticed in the past that guests do charge backs and say that they never used the room. This is the only way that we can secure that the guest did indeed stay with us.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here June 24, 2013 on our way to Key West for a family vacation. Due to the construction going on at Collins Ave, the valet parking was a nightmare from start to finish. We had 7 people and 2 vehicles in our caravan and needed to unload in front of the hotel. The front desk people and the valet people told us different things we needed to do.

After finding the *valet umbrella* a block away, you have to turn around in an alley to pull up on the left side of the road for them. Our car was rear ended and the driver sped away as a police was chasing him down the alley.

ASTONISHING FACT: In all the chaos, the family we were with left a large sum of cash and their check book in the glove box of their car. The valet driver found it and returned it to the front desk for them. Also, I had let an ipad in our glove box and it was still there when the car was returned.

The lobby is extremely loud with pumping dance music and the bartenders drop the F bomb like its a comma in a sentence so if you are offended by that, I would choose elsewhere.

Getting our cars back was just as big of a cluster as dropping them off and again this is because the valet drivers and front desk people are NOT communicating with each other.

This place was very clean and the maid in the lobby in the morning was working her rear end off washing everything down.

A few days after checking out, we noticed a charge on our credit card bill we were not told about. I have tried too many times to count to call them. THEY WILL NOT ANSWER THE PHONES!!

Room Tip: Very small rooms. If you are there to just sleep, then it wont be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissirhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello Chrissirhc,

We truly value each and every one of our guests feedback and thank you for sharing yours with us! Unfortunately we are experiencing construction going on in front of the hotel. The valet company is a company that we work with. If they are not communicating with us on a daily basis we will not know what information to provide our guests. I am terribly sorry to read that your card was rear ended and that the driver left the scene. I am content to know that the valet driver gave the cash and check book to the front desk agent. They are not responsible for missing items and that was very honest of them to do so. We are indeed a party hotel and our website states that. We like to keep the music flowing to maintain a great vibe for our guests. I will definitely inform the bar manager about the language that the bartenders were using. That is not acceptable and we apologize for that. I am content to read that you were glad with the cleanliness of the room, and the job that the room attendant did. You can email me directly at Katrine.Beltran@southbeachgroup.com and I will investigate what this charge is for you.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#75 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#77 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#92 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#55 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
4.6 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#110 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.0 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#84 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitelaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitelaw Hotel

Property: Whitelaw Hotel
Address: 808 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5808
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitelaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitelaw Hotel, South Beach's hip, chic boutique hotel, offers guests the ultimate vacation experience at an affordable price. In the heart of South Beach on Collins Avenue and 8th Street, the hotel is located just steps from the beach, shops, restaurants and nighttime hotspots. The Whitelaw combines Art Deco embellishments with whimsical design to transport its guests into a world unique from any other Miami Beach accommodations. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whitelaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitelaw Hotel Miami Beach
Whitelaw Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing