We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun and comfy, even for the senior set!!!”
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Whitelaw Hotel
Ranked #67 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Park Ridge, Illinois
1 review
“fun and comfy, even for the senior set!!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Youth and beauty and booze and beach---recurrent words describing South Beach.
Dauntless, my husband and I, both senior citizens, decided to visit the famed place and chose to stay at the Whitelaw. Jessica who made our reservation was very helpful. With a bit of trepidation, we arrived. Our fears were immediately dispelled. We so enjoyed our stay....friendly staff, especially Sydney and Raul and bartender Doreen....clean, attractive decor...great location-one block from the beach and right in the midst of SoBe happenings. The hotel has a very fun and comfy ambiance. We hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmburgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Good Afternoon Mmburgis,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are very glad that you chose to share it with us! I am content to read that you had a fun and comfortable stay with us! It seems to be like you enjoyed everything here at the hotel from the location, to our staff, to the cleanliness and the decor of the property. I will let the mentioned staff know about your kind praise!! They love to hear what the guests have to say about their hard efforts. Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Have a great day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    462
    198
    125
    192
See reviews for
168
474
151
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Urbanna, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, but very noisy. We knew what to expect. Beds were very comfortable, bathroom adequate, but lukewarm water in the shower at best. Definitely a party hotel, but the lobby and outside porch and patio a complete mess in the morning. The loud music 24/7 is obviously affecting the staff, as within 1 minute we had to tell the front desk 3 times what our room number was and we still did not get on the list for the shuttle back to the airport, although that turned out okay. The noise level reminded me of Vegas.

The hotel is in the heart of SoBe, didn't need a car and walked to great shops and restaurants. Free happy hour is not a big deal to us. WiFi was great.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Good Afternoon Marla W,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are very glad that you chose to share it with us! We are very glad to read that you have a nice time while staying with us! I am glad that your room was nice and clean. We apologize about the noise that you experienced. We are centrally located in the heart of South Beach between 8th and 9th on Collins.
Do you remember who you spoke with in regards to the shuttle service?

We would hope to have you stay with us again!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This little boutique hotel is located right in the heart of the shopping district. Great location. Rooms are decent and all the amenities were functional in my room.

They have a bar in the entrance in front of the check in desk. Don't expect much for service. You are inconveniencing the people who work here. Expect to wait 20 minutes for a coffee or drink. Happy hour is great if you're ok with people barfing on the white sofa and passing out there. Happy hour or not, it' s not easy to buy/get a drink as the bartenders are more interested in talking to their friends instead of serving a client. It's super hard to get served on the patio since a worker would have to walk 15 steps to get to you. Go to the bar and wait there because if you're outside they may look at you but that's it.

Personally I think this could be a decent place but I'd fire all of the people that pass themselves off as servers. Likely the managers friends since it seems very clicky and no manager could possibly not see what is happening. It was easily the worst service of anywhere I went to in South Beach.

I woudn't stay here again but if you just need a place to crash while partying it works. There's other places right in that area that likely don't have the 'Attitude' that the Whitelaw has.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for a rear room. I was in the front and it wasn't that noisy for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank traveller6719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello Traveller6719,

Thank you so much for your honest feedback! We are very glad to read that you were content with the location of the property as well as the room, and the amenities that we offer to all of our guests! I am very sorry to hear about the issue that you had at our lobby bar! This is definitely unacceptable!! Do you remember the name of the bartender that was working at the time that you went? or perhaps what he/ she looked like?
I would like to take a further look into this but I will need a name of the bartender. I would hope that you would give us another chance and stay with us again!

I look forward in hearing from you!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I came into this place with my eyes open. It's a loud party hotel with rooms under $100 right in SoBe a few blocks from the beach with prime shopping everywhere.

We asked for a quiet room on the third floor and they delivered. It was cleaner than I imagined, and the beds were comfy. I had earplugs just in case but did not need them. There was a little hallway noise, but not bad at all. I actually saw someone with twin babies enter a room a few doors down and we never heard the kids.

We were glad that the free airport shuttle saved us $$, but note that it leaves on the hour RIGHT at the hour, not a minute later, so get there early.

There is a two-story Walgreens two blocks down if you need water, drinks or sundries. The cuban cafe down the street has been there for years.They have a 3D mural and great cuban coffee. Breakfast was pretty gross, but the lunch food is yum.

I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Third floor if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joivie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Good Afternoon Joivie,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback for all of our future guests to read! I am very glad to read that you had a great time while staying with us! We try to accommodate all of our guests and the requests that they have. The amenities that we offer are great! The R/T shuttle is a great money saver and all of our guests love it! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Have an amazing day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Summary: it is not safe at all, even though they will promise you, that they will give you a room where you can sleep.
I now illustrate our history:
we arrived on the evening of 24/12/2012 around 23:00 and we were given a room with walls without insulation and with a dilapidated port, located on the ground floor, right next to the bar, where all night long there was music and a continual coming and going until dawn with people coming and going to the rooms.
We did not literally closed our eyes, even at 7.00 in the morning there was music, shouting and slamming of doors, so we got up and walked out, then passing on Christmas day as a zombie around Miami.
For the next night of the 25th we were able to give us a room on the top floor.
There we were able to rest, even if he went to the music coming from the speakers in the piano bar outdoor fixtures cause disrepair.
Having to stay in this "hotel" as 30, 31 and January 1, on the morning of the 26th, before leaving for a tour of the area, I specifically asked, accompanied by appropriate tip, to reserve us a room on the top floor, request granted to the condition that we did not check in before 23:00 of the 30/12.
I foreboding and then at 21.30 the 30/12, ahead of the maximum period, we presented for check-in.
As I feared, despite the promise, the room we were given was one of those on the ground floor, adjacent to the bar.
At that point, we planted a big mess and after about an hour of discussion out loud, they pemesso to speak with the manager of the hotel chain, which made ​​us move to another hotel in the group (Chesterfield) Room at this point was great and we enjoyed it very much, but it remains an obligation on our part to warn other tourists what happened.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room, but it is not sure that they will give you what they promise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Astatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Good Afternoon Astatore,

Thank you for your kind feedback! We are glad that you chose to share it with us! I apologize about the noise that you experienced while staying with us! I am going to let the front desk manager know about this and make sure that they are aware of the level the music should be on at certain times of the night. Unfortunately, we weren't able to accommodate you the night of the 30th due to the hotel being fully booked. We were able to grant it before because we had rooms available. In the case of the 30th all room types were booked therefore you were given the original room type that you choose. I am very glad to hear that you were moved to our sister hotel where you got a nice room that was quiet enough for you.

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Positives:
+ Very funky decor.
+ Large sparse room.
+ Comfortable bed

Negatives:
- Loud music from the bar just below our room till all hours.
- Tiny bathroom with weak water pressure.
- Very loud and wonky A/C -- even after the serviceman 'got it working'

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello Ilanlevy,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are very glad that you chose to share it with us! I am very glad that you liked the decor of the hotel. I will let the front desk manager know about the level of the music, and where it should be at certain times of the day. We are a boutique hotel therefore everything is a bit smaller then your regular hotel. I apologize that you did not have an amazing time with us!

Have a great day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

After driving through traffic, was told they overbooked the hotel. They sent us to their sister hotel Lincoln Arms, 10 blocks away. This was after waiting in line for 15 minutes, no sense of urgency. There was another gentleman at the desk but he was on his cell phone and counting money. The bar was packed and they don't mention the 32$ valet charge for parking.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ttugurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Good Afternoon Ttugurl,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback for all of our future guests to read! I apologize to read about your negative experience with us! Do you happen to remember the name of the agent that was assisting you at the front desk? If not, maybe what he looked like? Unfortunately, the valet parking is not part of the hotel, it's an outside company. As the attendants take your car they are supposed to inform you of cost. I apologize that they failed to do so. I will make sure to let the manager of the company know this. Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#76 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#84 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#75 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#51 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,059 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Paseo Hotel
El Paseo Hotel
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#117 of 208 in Miami Beach
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitelaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitelaw Hotel

Property: Whitelaw Hotel
Address: 808 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5808
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitelaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitelaw Hotel, South Beach's hip, chic boutique hotel, offers guests the ultimate vacation experience at an affordable price. In the heart of South Beach on Collins Avenue and 8th Street, the hotel is located just steps from the beach, shops, restaurants and nighttime hotspots. The Whitelaw combines Art Deco embellishments with whimsical design to transport its guests into a world unique from any other Miami Beach accommodations. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whitelaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitelaw Hotel Miami Beach
Whitelaw Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing