We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is great, but it nickels and dimes you.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Miami Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #124 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This hotel is great, but it nickels and dimes you.”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the 10th floor, beautiful oceanside room is worth the extra cost. Everything was great besides the following complaints:
Chair lounge and beach umbrellas are way too expensive ($25 per day). Parking at the hotel is also ridiculous priced at around $30 per day. We parked at a public lot about 20 minutes away for $10. If you don't have a car, be aware that there is almost no restaurants within walking distance that are reasonably priced. The hotel breakfast is mediocre for the price, and most restaurants we went to in Miami include an 18% service charge on the tab. The hotel room service was very slow: it took 30 minutes to receive two sets of silverware (our food had already gotten cold), and even when it arrived, we only received two spoons. The second time we requested room service, they were closed... (Around 3pm) and we were told to come down and get it ourselves. There is a minibar fridge. However, you cannot store any of your items in it, otherwise they will charge you a $25 fee. Finally, the pool is fairly small and heated (not pleasant in 80 F). However, that didn't matter for us because we spent our time at the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haniwa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo M, Manager at Miami Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Haniwa09

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, we are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and we are honored that you rated our services as high as you did; it is expected that every employee goes out of their way to anticipate our guest’s needs.

I would like to take a moment to clarify some of the fees that you mention in your review. The beach in front of our Resort is public and as a result, there is a beach provider that charges a fee for chairs and umbrellas, however, these services in our pool area are already included with the cost of your room. Parking on the beach is also extremely limited and therefore all hotels in the area charge for valet parking. We are proud to have the friendliest valet parking on the beach with one of the lowest fees per night. The Miami Beach Resort does not recommend using the public parking lot which is 2 blocks away from the Resort due to the fact there is no in and out privileges (you must pay every time you park), your car is outdoors exposed to the weather and it's very difficult to find a spot.

Lastly I would like to sincerely apologize for the poor experience you had with our room service staff. Our Director of Food & Beverage is looking into your comments and making immediate improvements to insure no other guest has the same experience.

Thank you once again for allowing us the privilege to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring to to Miami Beach!

Sincerely,


Eduardo Moya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    1,323
    858
    393
    350
See reviews for
1,332
1,044
132
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Good valet service (parking was $30 a day), reception was OK. Nice foyer but the room and the whole environment, decor is a bit old fashioned and is about from the early 80s.

Spacious room on the 16th floor with great view, overall clean but old fashioned furnitures and lights. Was missing a safe in the room.

Felt a bit expensive for the overall experience I had.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ZJRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

It is a dated hotel in a quiet side ( north) of Miami Beach. It is a tired hotel with great staff. The gym has ancient equipment. The toilet wasn't working in the unmanned gym. I was there for one night and it was very windy so I couldn't go the beach. The Tv is old and the shower was wanting. Didn't eat any meal there. Wouldn't recommend it at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jokels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo M, Manager at Miami Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Jokels,

We are disappointed to learn about your experience and downhearted to realize that our staff did not earn your recommendation. I would like to share with you, however some great news! The Miami Beach Resort retained the services of a well known architect and he is currently working with the historic preservation committee from the city to allow our historic building to modernize. As soon as the permits are issued, we will commence the modernization and renovation of the Resort.

Thank you for allowing us the privilege to serve you and we look forward to regaining your confidence once renovations are fully completed.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Moya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Nice room. Stayed at 14th floor with a fantastic view.Concierge Eduardo was great. Restaurant was too expensive. Service at pool was great. Thanks Jimmy. Sunbed at beach TOO expensive. Should be free.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogens N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Hotel has restaurants, quick access to beach and a good size pool. Decor is dated in the rooms but beds and rooms were very comfortable. Fantastic views from 11th floor. Hotel is a minimum of 30mins walk to south beach nightlife or shops (which is why it is cheaper) so beware you need to get the bus or taxis. Taxi from airport is 32 dollars. We were hitting spring break prices and the hotel was competitively priced. Staff all helpful and friendly. No noise from other guests throughout our stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 2012JandBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The seventies' luxury imitation, perhaps? Grand foyer, sizeable rooms, full stop. Hotel is people, and a vast majority of staff here is fed up with life and their own incompetencies, the everpresent and rather disgusting American "what about my tip" hovers in the air.

Reception? Bored, unqualified and mediocre to say the least. Breakfast wide in choice, but thereagain, from the cook slowly turning your omelette in disgust, to the rest of the staff slowly doing what they are supposed to do. Extremely boring pool area, hotel shops serving no one. The only positive issue was valet parketing with a friendly, efficient and (mind you!) smiling lady. One incredible issue (for a naive European) - minibar was locked upon our arrival, had to phone reception for somebody bringing the key. Next day, having come back from an allday trip - again locked, no key. Reception organized key delivery in 30+ minutes. Next day I surreptitiously pocketed the key for the day of our next excursion; then opened the minibar full of hope to get my Heineken in the evening - no replacement was made during the day... The TV in our otherwise very nice suite was the first tube I have seen in a hotel for many years...

The hotel seems to be awaiting its dire end soon and someting new arising from the ashes in the very near future. Prices therefore acceptable, but everything else...

Room Tip: Get a full ocean view, go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZahtevniGost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo M, Manager at Miami Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear ZahtevniGost,

The entire staff of the Miami Beach Resort are quite disappointed and to be honest, a bit offended by your comments regarding our employees. We realize we have areas to improve, however I disagree with your comments regarding our employees being fed up with our lives. I can assure you every single employee in our Resort, from our Guest Services staff to even the cook you describe on your critique, have one goal in common and that is to create memorable experiences for our hotel guests.

I will utilize your review during our weekly service training sessions with our employees so that as a team we can better identify our shortcomings and work on them right away. We will also take an opportunity to recognize ways of making our pool more entertaining as we realize this to be one of the most important areas of recreation of our Resort, thank you for pointing that out.

On behalf of our team of hospitality professionals, please accept our most sincere apologies for your poor experience.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Moya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Rather old fashioned hotel, very grand lobby with lots of marble. Room was spacious with lots of storage space. Bathroom needs updating and carpet in the room was not very clean. The windows did not open and I felt deprived without a balcony. Efficient lifts. Breakfast was good but overpriced at $22. There is a coffee shop also with deplorable coffee, when my husband complained that it was like dishwater the lady just shrugged! Pool was very good, plenty sunbeds and towels. Pool attendants very helpful with sunshades etc. Facing the sea and just a bit to the right is a boardwalk which will take you all the way into South beach which was pleasant but hot. As it was my first experience of a Miami Hotel I have nothing to compare it to, but I would think twice before returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eithne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo M, Manager at Miami Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Eithne E,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Miami Beach Resort and for sharing with us your thoughts regarding areas we can improve, it is greatly appreciated. I am happy to hear the comments about how much you were pleased with the look of the lobby and also about the service you received from our pool staff!

I would also like to share with you that the Miami Beach Resort is waiting for special permits from the historic preservation committee of Miami Beach to address some of the concerns you are brining up regarding the modernization of our rooms and guest bathrooms as well as the window situation. Once the permits are issued, our Resort will commence renovations and upgrades to better serve our guests in the future.

I would like to end by sincerely apologizing about the incident at the coffee shop. I have forwarded your comments to our coffee vendor, which is of a very well known brand of high quality coffee, so that our equipment as well as products are checked to insure the highest possible quality. This is the first time we received negative feedback about our coffee so we will insure this does not happen to another guest.

If there is anything I can do to regain your confidence, please feel free to contact me at any time. My e-mail is Eduardo.Moya@MBeachResort.com.

Sincerely,


Eduardo Moya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#101 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,097 reviews
1.9 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#171 of 208 in Miami Beach
4,698 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#64 of 208 in Miami Beach
5,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Miami Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 4833 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-2751
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#84 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miami Beach Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This distinctive Miami Beach hotel is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean and the Intra-coastal Waterway, and boasts 424 guest rooms and suites - each with amenities such as free high-speed Internet access and floor-to-ceiling Ocean and city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Miami Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing