We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel--Beautiful area on both the ocean and the bay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Miami Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #129 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel is the last remaining resort from the original Miami Beach Golden Era of the 1960s hence it has the grand lobby, large rooms, along with beachfront property with the bay on the other side of it.

It has NOT been redone in the generic "shopping center" manner that the neighboring Eden Roc and Fontainebleau hotels have been. They are all within a five minute walk from one another. The lobby is beautiful and the staff is terrific. The rooms although large, could probably use a facelift but they are spacious, clean and nice--not dingy.

The setting of the property on Collins Ave is truly astounding. Beautiful, I understand the hotel has a landmark status as it certainly deserves. It seems to be the safest too as there is nothing sleazy anywhere nearby. All top luxury hotels and condos for a mile in either direction without exception. This is a rarity in Miami Beach and the hotel is perfectly located on both sides for that reason. The hotel was once known as the Doral Hotel, after that I think it was both a Westin and Wyndam for a time.

I think the value is a good one, the place is a fine hotel. I found it to be a pleasure to be there--I wished I lived there!

Room Tip: Get a less expensive room facing south but on a high floor. This will give you a beautiful view of b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,233 of 3,831 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

We got a great rate on Expedia and had a vague idea of where the hotel was located. I understood that the hotel is an older hotel but I found this to be charming. I loved the fact that it was right on the beach. The pool is not an infinity pool but is big and serves its purpose. It is a low amenty hotel which means that if you are high maintenance, do not stay here. The service people that we met were very nice and did try hard to please - I really appreciated that. For the price and location - I would highly recommend this hotel. If you're dissatisfied with the hotel and its restaurant, you can just walk down the block to the Eden Roc or the Fontainebleau and spend mucho bucks on your room and lodging. Simple as that.

Room Tip: If you can't get an ocean view room try and get a partial ocean view with a partial view of Miam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJoQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel staff are very helpful. Other than that I dont have a good impression. Especially for the money. Location is bad. Far from most happening places. Room is dingy, old appliances, duct-taped wiring and pealing paint on the window sills. You have a good ocean view yet I have nothing to have fond memories of.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AanjhanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

hotel and lobby staff were professional. Hotel is at the most nothern end of South Beach near Mid beach more then south. rooms are dated needing paint, and a good cleaning. shower is dark and the room does not even have a safe, refrigagtor or microwave. Only parking is valet at $28 plus tip in and out a day with no other parking in the area (I checked) along with hidden resort fees and taxes etc. The ONLY reason it was good because it was a priceline bid and only cost $85 a night instead of thier listed 250 or more. I would not stay here again unless under $85 a night and I did not have a car to park.

Room Tip: ask for the higest floor and get an ocean/bay view. full bay is less money and full ocean is more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyormirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Ths hotel has a nice lobby and good service. But, the room was very boring, old and did not feel ver clean. The pool was great until 1PM when the sun started to hide behind the high buildings surrounding the hotel. We will not choose this for our next stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 100donesofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The stay was fine. I was there for a day on business. The gym was decent. The room had a full kitchen, its ashame I was not there longer to take advantage of it. Since this area is well out of the way from airport or south beach I did not expect a valet charge - $25. There is also a spa fee (hidden charge) - $15 or $20

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Versatile_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#103 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,045 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#67 of 212 in Miami Beach
5,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#100 of 212 in Miami Beach
983 reviews
0.8 mi away
Circa 39 Hotel
Circa 39 Hotel
#29 of 212 in Miami Beach
982 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 4833 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-2751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $147 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miami Beach Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This distinctive Miami Beach hotel is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean and the Intra-coastal Waterway, and boasts 424 guest rooms and suites - each with amenities such as free high-speed Internet access and floor-to-ceiling Ocean and city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Miami Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing