We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not until a renovation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miami Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #118 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not until a renovation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was attending a conference in Miami Beach and this was one of the hotels that the organization put on their list. I was extremely disappointed. The lobby was very nice upon arrival. That was about the only nice part of the stay. Upon check-in, we had to wait for a very long time. Come to find out their credit card machine was broken and all credit cards had to manually be called in. I had reserved a king room for my husband and me, he was attending the same conference. No king rooms were available until after 5pm but we had to change and get to our conference by 5.The clerk said he would take one out of order so we could move the following morning. We decided that was fine and took a room with 2 beds. I asked if they were at least queen size and was told yes. Not a true statement and the room was awful. Two double beds, peeling paint, black & white checked bathroom floor with pink paint, etc. The view, "partial ocean view", overlooked the nastiest and most unappealing roof top I have seen. I immediately called the front desk and asked to be moved. I was told I could not be moved until the next day because now that we had "entered" the room they would have to send housekeeping in, even though we had not even touched anything in the room. I agreed to move the next day since I had already been assured a king room was "out of order" and on hold for me. The next morning we packed our bags, went to the front desk only to be told there was no king room available. Grr... They stored our bags for the day and once we returned that evening we were put in a king room with a much better view. However, the rooms are old and dirty and in major need of a renovation. One of the closets had crumbs or something all over the floor. Frankly, it was just gross. An example of the service - we went to the pool one afternoon and asked the attendant if there were more towels available since the bin was empty. His response? "NO". That's it! The rest of the service was about the same. No one seemed to care and treated you rudely. Bottom line, I would never return. Also note, there are no restaurants in the area. Had to cab it to get anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QuitYourJobandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    1,223
    759
    333
    287
See reviews for
1,160
942
117
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here to be close to famlily and it seemed to be the best value when I did my "research" for hotels in the area. The hotel could use some updating (old TV in the room...no flatscreen) but otherwise was great. The room was big, clean and quiet. The pool area was especially nice, and they even came around to offer guests fruit.Good security, excellent location, helpful staff. I'd definately stay again when I visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieGarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at Miami Beach Resort the first weekend of October. I have to say from the reviews that I read this resort was nothing like it. Reviews are good but sometimes you have to see things for yourself. I have to say my visit there was very great. I stayed in the Jr Suite. Very spacious, nice and clean, oh and the stuff was pleasant all the time. We had a great view of the ocean. We got out and caught the bus or a cab where ever we needed to go. I would stay there again.....

Room Tip: The jr suite is very spacious. It sleep 6 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the resort for two days before a cruise to the Bahamas. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are in need of a refresh which we heard is in the works. Bar drinks are a bit pricey and the bar is only open until 11:00. Pool bar open until 7:00.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pantera12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

While this hotel is in a great location in Miami Beach (in Collins Ave., near Fontainebleau), common areas are nice, and rooms have a good size with a lot of closet room, nothing else works.

The quality of the service is a gamble; some members of the staff are very nice but some are either rude or unable to help you. First night there was an annoying sound coming from the next room, like a smoke detector alarm, but the maintenance guy said he couldn't hear it, then he said it could be "sounds the building makes" and that if that would bother us enough to sleep. He promised he would come back to try to fix it but never did. The sound didn't stop until the third day.

When one of the keys stopped working, they were unable to fix it on the front desk because everybody was in a meeting and they had a young lady accountant covering, which obviously did not know how to fix keys. When a bell man was asked to accompany me to the room to let me in, he said in a rude manner that he was busy and walked out. I had to wait around 20 minutes for somebody from security to open the door.

Maybe the worst part is (I am writing this from the room; staying until tomorrow) the shower. You just cannot set a constant water temperature. It goes from cold to hot back to cold and so on. This has never happened to me before in any hotel, and I've been in much "cheaper" ones.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Javier I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamifun_9, Manager at Miami Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort and share with us your experience regarding our staff and our hospitality. We find great value in your detailed and constructive comments where you point out our shortcomings and areas that we must continue to improve.

I have addressed these issues with our guest services staff as well as our maitenance team and oh behalf of all of us, we would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenices you may have experienced.

We sincerely hope to regain your confidence for a future visit to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Before coming to Miami, I read a lot of the reviews about this hotel some were not the best! However my stay was without fault!

Upon arrival we were greeted at the door and told that we did not need to worry about carrying our bags in as this would be done for us and taken to our rooms, there were 8 bags going to 4 different rooms but this was still no trouble!!

The staff were extremely helpful, they didn't have a room for us but checked us in and took a number and said they would call when the rooms were ready, this gave us a chance to explore the hotel and the surroundings.

The food at the bistro in the hotel was delicious as well, although a little pricey.

The concierge was extremely helpful with providing us with details about buses, taxi prices etc as well.

One staff member in particular was lovely, his name was Eduardo and he was out waiter, he made time to speak to the table in between courses and even took the time to chat to us the following day when were at the bar, what really struck me was the fact that he gave my dad some camomille tea and honey for me when he heard that I wasn't well (sun stroke) and said that it is meant to make you feel better! That I thought was so thoughtful and I very much doubt that would happen anywhere else! Even when I called for room service for some hot water all I asked for was a mug and I got a jug, they even waived the delivery charge!!

I would most definitely stay here again if I was lucky enough to be in Miami ever again!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catlady1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel looks and is amazing! Friendly staff who cannot do enough for you. The pool area is great. Rooms are great!! Great location, great seaview from our room. Great cafe which we had croissants for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BexBrebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#102 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,444 reviews
Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#117 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,720 reviews
The Confidante
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Beach Hotel
#61 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,209 reviews
Deauville Beach Resort
#163 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 3,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Miami Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 4833 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miami Beach Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This distinctive Miami Beach hotel is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean and the Intra-coastal Waterway, and boasts 424 guest rooms and suites - each with amenities such as free high-speed Internet access and floor-to-ceiling Ocean and city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Miami Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing