We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel in south beach”
Review of Greenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Greenview Hotel
Ranked #163 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Nice and calm hotel close to the beach and ocean drive. Clean room, they are a little bit small but nice,Just the breakfast is to light, with not so much choice. no swimming pool. The service is ok in english or spain

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Geraldine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 752 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were at the Greenview during spring break. I have no complaints at all about this hotel. The breakfast was plentiful, rooms were clean and the location is fantasic!! The staff were extremely accomodating and helped us with bus routes and tours. My son was extremely happy with the wi-fi!
I would absolutely return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel on Miami beach April 3-6th. The hotel is conventiently located on Washington Avenue - between 17th street and Lincoln Road - only 2 blocks away from the beach. Location is quite noisy with a lot of traffic. Our room was on the 2nd floor at the end - located right next to the Air Conditioning Vent outside which was quite noisy - also due to building works in the appartements next door on 17th street there was a lot of noise early in the day. The room was small / only just room to move around the bed and no real space to put the luggages except for on the floor. Bathroom was tiny - hardly enough room for one person / let alone 2 persons. Bed was good and comfortable. This was one of the rooms not included in the last renovations in 2010 so was in need of some repairs / updating - clearly not matching the pictures on the website - although the rooms further down the hall looked a lot better. Continental breakfast in the morning very basic, just coffee / orange juice / toast / some cakes and croissants and jams / butter. No cheese / meats / ... and one morning by 9 they had already run out of croissants. Also no real breakfast room so have to stand / sit in the lobby or sit outside (if the weather was nice) - which was noisy and also not a lot of space there - so we ended up having our breakfast outside of the hotel.
Basically - nothing special but in the end OK value for money as for that location on Miami South Beach was not so expensive!

Room Tip: Ask to book a room in the corridor - they are bigger and were redecorated in 2010.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eveline1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

PRO
+ Great location between Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive.
+ Comfortable king sized beds and quiet rooms with blackout shades.
+ Spacious room decorated in modern minimalist Miami style.
+ Closet was stocked with 8 hangers, a safe, and a small empty refrigerator for personal use.

CON
- Our bathroom was an insult.
- Breakfast is a joke.
- Wi-Fi is a ghost.

Our bathroom was frustratingly small and in a shabby state of disrepair. Missing grout and loose tiles were in plain sight, the sink faucet was loose and wobbly, the shower pressure was impossibly low and the water restrictor showerhead was set to EXTREME.

The hotel offers two amenities: complimentary breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The one and only day I got up early for breakfast I found a few cellophane wrapped pastries and an empty coffee urn. Tip: head to Abuelo's Restaurant a few blocks away for a Cuban breakfast and there are at least three Starbucks on Lincoln Road.

As for the Wi-Fi, our third floor rear room was outside the range of the network signal.

If you arrive early or check out several hours before your flight, your bags won't be held behind the front desk or any other secure area. You'll have to leave them in the lobby and hope for the best.

Bottom line: Greenview Hotel is a very well located, few frills hotel that is a little too shabby chic for this traveller. It’s inexpensive but should still try harder than it does to provide the two amenities it offers and to maintain the guest bathrooms. If creature comforts and reliable amenities in South Beach are on your wish list then refocus your search and consider doubling (at least) your hotel budget.

Room Tip: Rooms that end in -14 and -15 are the rear corner rooms. They have king sized beds, more windows, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chachi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Greenview is quite unbelievably convenient for Miami Beach convention centre and for Lincoln Rd, the heart of the restaurant area. It's a two minute walk to either. So, so easy. This is really it's trump card, and to be honest along with the lovely staff is what lifts this review from three to four stars.

The hotel itself has lovely, friendly, accommodating staff. They allowed us to store our bags for the last day, and even allowed my colleague to take a shower before his flight.

The rooms are simple. There is aircon, although my unit had the typical Florida salty, humid air that I have encountered frequently. I ended up opening the window instead, which worked great. There is free wifi throughout, which while not terribly fast, was reliable all week.

Shower and beds were both good. The keys are pleasingly retro 'real' keys. Breakfast was very basic, but the coffee was excellent.

Overall a great place to stay on business, but if you are looking for frills then I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LichfieldGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREEN1671, General Manager at Greenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear LichfieldGordon, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write our hotel such a kind review. It was a pleasure to have you stay at the Greenview Hotel. I will make sure and pass on your review to our entire staff! We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Recently stayed here for business. The "charm" of the hotel is perhaps in its simplicity. The doors have no swipe cards - you get an actual key to open the door to your room. The front desk attendant was very friendly and accomodating. We did not eat breakfast here so I cannot speak to the quality or spread of the continental breakfast. The room was a very good deal, considering it is a VERY short walk to Lincoln road shopping. In contrast, most hotels in Miami Beach charge 2 or 3 times more for minimally upgraded amenities. The room was above average in cleanliness - the grout in some of the shower tiles did have some mildew, but nothing intolerable or unsanitary. If in the area, I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmaniac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I attended The Wine and Food Festival on February 23,2013. We decides to stay at the beach over the weekend. We checked in to the Greenview hotel located on 1671 Washington Ave... Our experience was excellent.. The staff was courteous and professional... I highly recommend this hotel to my family and friends....

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heco72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREEN1671, General Manager at Greenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hello Heco72 Thanks so much for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#135 of 212 in Miami Beach
159 reviews
City Center
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#187 of 212 in Miami Beach
112 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#67 of 212 in Miami Beach
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Casa Boutique Hotel
#77 of 212 in Miami Beach
97 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#90 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenview Hotel

Address: 1671 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $124 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and pristinely-preserved art deco design of this cozy boutique hotel is just one of the many reasons vacationers choose to stay at the Greenview Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Splitty, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Greenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenview Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing