We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for, and less”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Greenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greenview Hotel
Ranked #168 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for, and less”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

PRO
+ Great location between Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive.
+ Comfortable king sized beds and quiet rooms with blackout shades.
+ Spacious room decorated in modern minimalist Miami style.
+ Closet was stocked with 8 hangers, a safe, and a small empty refrigerator for personal use.

CON
- Our bathroom was an insult.
- Breakfast is a joke.
- Wi-Fi is a ghost.

Our bathroom was frustratingly small and in a shabby state of disrepair. Missing grout and loose tiles were in plain sight, the sink faucet was loose and wobbly, the shower pressure was impossibly low and the water restrictor showerhead was set to EXTREME.

The hotel offers two amenities: complimentary breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The one and only day I got up early for breakfast I found a few cellophane wrapped pastries and an empty coffee urn. Tip: head to Abuelo's Restaurant a few blocks away for a Cuban breakfast and there are at least three Starbucks on Lincoln Road.

As for the Wi-Fi, our third floor rear room was outside the range of the network signal.

If you arrive early or check out several hours before your flight, your bags won't be held behind the front desk or any other secure area. You'll have to leave them in the lobby and hope for the best.

Bottom line: Greenview Hotel is a very well located, few frills hotel that is a little too shabby chic for this traveller. It’s inexpensive but should still try harder than it does to provide the two amenities it offers and to maintain the guest bathrooms. If creature comforts and reliable amenities in South Beach are on your wish list then refocus your search and consider doubling (at least) your hotel budget.

Room Tip: Rooms that end in -14 and -15 are the rear corner rooms. They have king sized beds, more windows, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chachi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    237
    167
    90
    77
See reviews for
184
227
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Greenview is quite unbelievably convenient for Miami Beach convention centre and for Lincoln Rd, the heart of the restaurant area. It's a two minute walk to either. So, so easy. This is really it's trump card, and to be honest along with the lovely staff is what lifts this review from three to four stars.

The hotel itself has lovely, friendly, accommodating staff. They allowed us to store our bags for the last day, and even allowed my colleague to take a shower before his flight.

The rooms are simple. There is aircon, although my unit had the typical Florida salty, humid air that I have encountered frequently. I ended up opening the window instead, which worked great. There is free wifi throughout, which while not terribly fast, was reliable all week.

Shower and beds were both good. The keys are pleasingly retro 'real' keys. Breakfast was very basic, but the coffee was excellent.

Overall a great place to stay on business, but if you are looking for frills then I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREEN1671, General Manager at Greenview Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear LichfieldGordon, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write our hotel such a kind review. It was a pleasure to have you stay at the Greenview Hotel. I will make sure and pass on your review to our entire staff! We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Recently stayed here for business. The "charm" of the hotel is perhaps in its simplicity. The doors have no swipe cards - you get an actual key to open the door to your room. The front desk attendant was very friendly and accomodating. We did not eat breakfast here so I cannot speak to the quality or spread of the continental breakfast. The room was a very good deal, considering it is a VERY short walk to Lincoln road shopping. In contrast, most hotels in Miami Beach charge 2 or 3 times more for minimally upgraded amenities. The room was above average in cleanliness - the grout in some of the shower tiles did have some mildew, but nothing intolerable or unsanitary. If in the area, I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmaniac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I attended The Wine and Food Festival on February 23,2013. We decides to stay at the beach over the weekend. We checked in to the Greenview hotel located on 1671 Washington Ave... Our experience was excellent.. The staff was courteous and professional... I highly recommend this hotel to my family and friends....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heco72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREEN1671, General Manager at Greenview Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello Heco72 Thanks so much for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

At $179+tx for a Wed, OK value. Great location - 5 min walk from the beach (17th Av), close to Lincoln Av strip with lots of shopping. Carpets are old, but frequent cleaning was helpful. Rooms are fresh and cleanish (found some hairs in the sheets), small fridge & closet good for storage. Glass shower was nice; all-in-all a small modern room with floors in a great location. Continential breakfast was simple, staff were helpful. Stay here if it's a good price for you - not worth it to over pay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarasoda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREEN1671, General Manager at Greenview Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello Sarasoda27 , Thanks for taking the time out of what I'm sure is a busy schedule to write us a review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope see to you back real soon.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

GOODS
like the green and white decor in room
walking distance to the strip
nice boutique style lobby

BADS
lifts did not work therefore had to use the stairs
rooms are small
bathrooms are extremely small

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Spoiled vacation!!!!
Very Very Bad experience!!!!
Everything was dirty and broken!!
Shower was disgusting. I did not take a shower for 2 day because of dirt on the tile floor. I couldn't stand on the floor, because it was nasty.
DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy_bu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREEN1671, General Manager at Greenview Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello Lucy_bu Please accept my apologies for the issues you had during your last stay with us. We have made some recent changes and i can assure you that your concerns have been addressed. All of our rooms have now been remodeled. Thanks for taking the time to review us, and i hope that you will give us a second chance the next time you are in Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#155 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
City Center
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#192 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
City Center
James Hotel
James Hotel
#117 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cadet Hotel
#74 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Lorraine Hotel
#159 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenview Hotel

Property: Greenview Hotel
Address: 1671 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and pristinely-preserved art deco design of this cozy boutique hotel is just one of the many reasons vacationers choose to stay at the Greenview Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenview Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing