We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location, Very good rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Greenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greenview Hotel
Ranked #167 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
267 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Very good rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayeared 8 nights and It was a pleasant stay. The matresses an sizes of the beds are very good. The breakfast is continental,maning muffins, cakes, cereals, toasts,orange juice and coffee.
The bad thing is that it needs more maintainment. The shower had very little water, always hot though, and the windows could not be opened. Once the maid opened it we could never close it again, jaja. When we arrived the sheets had hair and when I asked to please change them ,the maid told me that there nobody care about it for everyone was in a rushfor the bach! After that everything ok. The Tv did not work for one day and they explained it was usual in that hotel. The maids are great but they go out around 3 and nobody is left at the hotel but the front desk attendant so if you need any help you wont get it.
Its next to Lincon Road, the bus Stop, restaurants, Pharmacists and 2 bloks from the beach. All their cutlery is of plastic.
We liked it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tereg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    236
    167
    89
    77
See reviews for
184
226
40
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Greenview Hotel has a good location, just off Lincoln Road, and one block from Collins Avenue. The hotel is very clean, my room was spotless, and staff is very friendly. My room, 314, was at the back, on a corner, with nice views of the iconic Delano Hotel spire on one side, and leafy trees on the other. The room was very quiet. However, though there was space, there was no chair except a plastic desk chair, no drawers for putting away clothes, and no luggage racks. The closet contained a refrigerator and a safe. The safe was on a shelf that extended all the way across the closet, so no long hanging of pants or dresses was possible. I had to put one suitcase on the floor, and one on a bedside table.

I understand that this is a vintage hotel, and expected the bathroom to be small, but there is no where to put any toiletries except on the window sill. The toilet paper roll juts into the space you occupy while using the toilet, so you get it in the ribs. Towels were clean and soft, though thin.

The breakfast was typical of a very cheap motel: coffee, orange juice, cereal, bread to toast, supermarket cupcakes. Cream cheese, butter, and jam in packets. After I discovered Paul's just a block away on Lincoln Road, I ignored the house breakfast. (Paul's is a French bakery chain, and this one is excellent, busy, but worth the wait).

The hotel adds a "Resort Fee" of $12 a day. This is just a way to pad the bill, as the resort fee covers: beach towel (the beach is three blocks away and in December the water is too cold to swim), internet access (Miami Beach has free Wi-Fi everywhere), telephone (who uses a hotel phone?), breakfast (see above). There is nothing at this hotel that can qualify as a "resort". There is no pool, no spa, no gym, no ICE MACHINE ( I was told I could get ice at the drug store down the street), no newspapers, not even in the lobby, The only hotel internet use I needed was the lobby computer to print a boarding pass, but I could have skipped that and sent the boarding pass to my cell phone for scanning.

I would not stay here again. There have to be many other hotels with better amenities and that provide something for the popular "Resort Fee". Again, staff is very friendly and the hotel is very clean, but o/w you can do better. I hope.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room at the back to get nice views and quiet nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etherbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Where to start the first thing is you open the door to the strong smell of bleach, this is very bad to start and also misleading as you think the room must be clean. Oh how wrong you can be.
1 The bathroom is so small you can't swing a cat.
2. The shower the temp can not be controlled its either hot or cold, and don't expect a fast shower as I can pee faster.
3. The towels were dirty with hair in them.
4 The bed was ok but the cover were not to clean. The pillows were old and needed to be changed.
5. The hotel is old and needs to be updated
6. Most of the staff are helpful some need to find other jobs not dealing with the public.
7. The breakfast is nothing worth having. Much better off walking to Starbucks or Paul's just down the block
It was a great stay in south beach, but for what this hotel charges its nit worth staying here pay a little more and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willjackson7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Location was perfect being at the end of Lincoln Rd with plenty of bars / restaurants within easy walking distance.
Basic breakfast included in the cost which is a nice touch.
Room was very clean and quite.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seathherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronninglund, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

You get what you pay for... But what you do get is fine - a clean room, comfortable bed, fridge, in-room-safe, nice front desk staff and last but not least an excellent location.
Breakfast was useless to us though, they didn't even offer the apples that I've read about!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in late Nov, finally chose this hotel after lots of research. Not at all suprised about the mixed reviews here. Hotel gets a lower average rating if you check hotels.com and I can understand why. Seems to be an old building that has not been very well renovated. Hall area v nice, lift v small and clunky, can see it is of an old design despite new interior panels. Scary 70's brown/orange coloured carpet in corridor. Door to room in v poor condition, slightly dirty and lock latch broken so door did lock but did not feel secure. Nice big room, comfy bed. Small cupboard with (noisy) fridge. Smoke alarm disconnected. Two sprinklers sticking out from the ceiling. V small bathroom - toilet seat had to be wedged past toilet roll upon lifting up or down! V poor water pressure in shower, v hard to adjust temperature. Internet kept failing. Insufficient seating at breakfast, bakery products sometimes stale. Things kept running out, but were refilled by staff when informed. No on site parking, no pool. On Washington Ave. which is two roads back from the sea, so you might think it would be a bit quieter, but it depends what they are playing at the expo/theatre place opposite, sometimes they project a production onto the outside of the building and then the music/speech is quite loud ... Best thing about it was the Cuban restaurant a couple of doors down. Would look elsewhere if returning to the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polymoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

After returning from our 8 day cruise in July 2012, a group of friends and I decided to stay an extra night in South Beach before returning home. We arrived at the hotel a few hours before check-in and was informed the hotel did not have an option for early check-in or a place to hold our baggage until check-in time-this was understandable. When we did finally check-in we discovered the small, malfunctioning elevator we had to take to the third floor. The elevator could only fit two of us at a time and one piece of baggage. The top of the elevator appeared to be molded. As we arrived on the third floor, the boards of the floor creaked and shifted beneath our feet so much we thought we would fall straight through the floor. The room, was extremely humid, damp, and musty and foul. The bathroom was filthy! When we checked out we saw the complimentary breakfast in the lobby area, which included stale and molded pastries. We saw a female staff member come by to put the breakfast away, storing the pastries in a bottom cabinet near the floor, accessible to all types of insects and rodents. We assumed she would pull them out to serve the next morning. This hotel needs to go on "Hotel Impossible" for an extreme makeover or needs to be shut down by the health department!

Room Tip: Do not stay here at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayde2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#155 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
City Center
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#192 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
City Center
James Hotel
James Hotel
#117 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cadet Hotel
#74 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Lorraine Hotel
#159 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenview Hotel

Property: Greenview Hotel
Address: 1671 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and pristinely-preserved art deco design of this cozy boutique hotel is just one of the many reasons vacationers choose to stay at the Greenview Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenview Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing