We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
Nearby Hotels
$329
EDITION
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$201
$168
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$498
$358
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Croydon(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$236
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$187
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$299
$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
$290
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$429
$287
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
$211
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,212)
Filter reviews
3,212 results
Traveler rating
1,875
729
313
170
125
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,875
729
313
170
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub levellanai roomsouth beachlincoln roadpool areapool servicefitness centeran umbrellaocean viewbeach stafflounge chairspeople watchingart decovalet parkingresort feercconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
2,306 - 2,311 of 3,212 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2009

I really enjoyed staying at Ritz.. The Service is just incredible.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SylvieTannhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

For our short Honeymoon in South Beach, Miami I booked two nights at the Ritz Carlton: oceanview room / club level at 809$, early check in requested. We arrived after 12:30, and the room wasn't ready. (So we tried the Sunday brunch while we waited. It was very good, and 165$ total for two.) After encounters with various personnel over a long afternoon, we were finally in the room by 4:45. And after describing our luggage over the phone, it was delivered by 5:15. Also, after several phone calls and conversations, the burned out light bulb in the desk lamp was replaced, the next day.
Maybe it is all a matter of tastes and expectations, but the ordered rose petals on the white sheeted bed were white, not red, the requested dark chocolate covered strawberries were milk chocolate, and the empty chocolate cannister for the expresso machine in the club lounge was never filled(and yes, that is a big point for chocolate lovers!)
To sum it up, the place was nice, the people were friendly, but service was so hit or miss for the entire trip , that it became annoying... So if you're looking for that enchanting experience. look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lu_xing88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

great location..clean....friendly and courteous staff.....guest services staff needs some help. I had to call guest services to get our room cleaned 3 times in two days. Second day on the property, went back to the room after 5:00 p.m. and room not cleaned. The third day on the property, my wife went back to the room after lunch to drop off some shopping bags and found the room had not been cleaned ( 1:30 p.m. ) She called guest services and reminded them to please do not forget to clean the room. We went back at 5:00 p.m., and the room wasn't touched. I called down to guest services and asked them to send someone up to clean the room. We went back an hour later and the room was cleaned but the staff had left a large bag of trash and dirty towels in front of our door. Those 2 bags had been sitting in front of our door for 2 days. We were located on the club level. Other that those issues, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The restaurants on the property were some of the best anywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mpeep16395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2008

In a every time more concerned society about climate change, even if is just of a little help, the hotel should embrace the option to let guests choose if we want the towels to be changed, same as bed linen. There was no initiative in that regard. Hotels like to speak out and loud what they do in preserving the environment, but then they fail to do little in the day to day operation. No energy saving device, no energy sufficient bulbs, lots of plastics, etc.

Being Miami, the hispanic capital of the Americas, where you can hear Spanish everywhere, sad to see that quite a number of staff dont speak a word of the most popular language in the city. The hotel should have a language training course for their staff, same as hotels not in the US train all their staff in mastering English, RC Miami should start such initiative in departments with guest contact.

Bathtowels very small. Cant even cover your body. Poor standard for a RC.

Breakfast menu very simple. Not up to standard for a 5 star hotel.

Sunloungue mattress in pool area very dirty. All full of stains.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pllamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2008

This is my third time staying at this property, and figured I'd post a review. Trip booked through Amex Centurion concierge to get the benefits.

In summary, this is not up the standards of other Ritz Carlton's (especially others in Florida or internationally); however, I sense much of that is simply due to South Beach attitude and this is likely about as good as it gets (although I prefer the Setai).

We reserved an 1 bedroom suite, which was a waste of money. There is a huge bedroom with a kind and then a large attached bedroom. The bedroom is basically empty space - sparsely decorated with small desk, chest with flatscreen TV, loveseat (not a pullout bed), chair and coffee table. Huge wasted space. A very small window with a partial pool view. I wouldn't waste the money unless you really want the extra half bathroom.

Furnishings, besides being sparse, appear outdated and could be from anywhere (no miami/florida feel, which is neither good nor bad, it just is how it is).

The main restaurant has a decent breakfast buffett (not amazing, not poor), but the lunch menu seems updated and improved. Same goes for the beach-facing restaurant. Food and drink prices are way overpriced; however.

One of the nicest features of this hotel is the free, 24/7 gym, which is very large and nicely furnished.

There is wifi, but it is $10 per computer per day.

Front desk staff is merely ok. We had several arguments, including one where they, after the reservation was made and confirmed, rejected the Amex upgrade. I would blame this more on management, which is awful (I am a frequent Ritz guest) as well as the South Beach vibe.

The pool is large, but make sure you get up at 7am or they will run out of chairs. Pool service is excellent (gave out lots of freebies - snacks, drinks, etc.).

Overall, a fine hotel, but not spectacular. Worth a stay if you can catch a good deal.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rsp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews