We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We will be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
Ranked #27 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Every time I am in Miami this is my go to hotel. The service is excellent the food is perfect and the rooms are amazing. We always get a room with a view and its worth it! The pool area is great for families and relaxing and the beach is right there!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,437
    614
    253
    127
    97
See reviews for
677
876
87
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at the Ritz in SoBe and have been a frequent visitor to Miami over the past 16 years. This was my 1st stay at this Ritz and I would say its comparable to the Lowes in SoBe as far as the quality of the rooms and service but the Lowes pool is much nicer. Had a great 2 days and would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This past week I stayed at this Ritz-Carlton for a business trip. I have to say that the service here is very much under par compared to other hotels I have stayed at. I travel between 3-4 months out of the year, so hotel stays are second nature to me.Two people in my group received different rooms than described with views of another building or a wall. All of our rooms had two beds in them, even though we requested king suites. The only thing great about this hotel is their concierge employees. They are very knowledgeable and helpful, and are willing to take the extra time to make sure you get what you want/need. Otherwise, you are paying top dollar ($500+ a night) for sub-par service. I have been treated better at a Motel 6 or other value hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel benefits from a great location,is located right at the beach,at the beginning of Lincoln road,near Ocean Ave.I certainly would not choose it if I was single or couple. But with kids it was the best choice . Summarize the + and -: location is great,indoor interior is very nice,although it is too strong air conditioning.Room that we requested for was overlooking the beach,spacious,well maintained.If you do not want to be disappointed certainly check with front rooms overlooking the beach.They have very good care of beach chairs and friendly hotel staff.Especially the beach and The DiLido Beach Club staff was very good,consierge vere also very helpfull. Average is hotel's pool - floor looks bad. The worst experience what we had,was food. Whether it has been in the restaurant or as roomservice.The food was really very bad.I recommend to try the excellent restaurants on Ocean Ave,sushi in a nearby hotel Delano. I dont recommend jazz branch at The Setai - hotel is under reconstruction and food is avarage.

Room Tip: Oceanfront with Balcony are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed with a friend at this property end of Oct early Nov.
The location was a 10. The property itself was in very good
condition but could have used some exterior painting and replacement
of balcony canvases. The lighting in the lobby is very low and the air con
was also very low (can you say freezing) which made trips through unpleasant.

2 gripes were about feeling gouged: wifi was an additional
expense which seems absolutely ridiculous particularly in this class
of hotel, and use of the hotel's beach umbrella was $25, again unnecessary.
The staff on the other hand were super super attentive and accommodating
whether beach, pool, lobby, or concierge.

Room Tip: The balconied rooms over the pool have nice views of Pool and ocean. I think the ones facing direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hill3co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with a great location. Rooms are a bit old but are ok . Very expensive . Room service is very expensive too . And you have to pay for the internet. They charge you for the parking also. The pool is crowded .and the beach is clean and nice.But the location is very great.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sultan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We chose this hotel as this trip was about downtime/coupletime and we didn't want or need to be at the 'cool' hotels. Just didn't want pool parties, DJ's and excessive people watching. Don't get me wrong I have stayed at SLS/Delano etc but just not this time. First choice was The Setai but half the hotel is shut for renovations including the 3 pools but with hindsight we loved the location of the Ritz and would return.

Stayed 4 nights paid for 3 deal was brilliant and we chose the Club room. Worth every penny, we were able to check in at 11am and go straight to our room on the 10th floor. The club lounge is open all day with a variety of snacks/small plates and treats available. Also teas, coffee, soft drinks, wine, champagne and cocktails to keep you going. The lounge staff were all fabulous and most helpful.

We had a couple of maintenance issues with the TV and toilet but they were rectified in record time.

Room service was really the only disappointment, poor food choices and not great when it arrived.

Pool service was immense, good drink and food choices. Staff were awesome and so keen to serve, a refreshing change. Loungers were comfy and umbrellas appeared in record time.

DeLido on the boardwalk also had great food and drink choices with smashing views.

Spa was lovely too though the actual treatment rooms seemed a bit jaded and not very 'zen'. Scott was incredible and dealt with my hubbys sprained ankle injury.

In summary, The Ritz offers exemplary service, spacious comfy rooms and a more grown up atmosphere if you like. It gave us time to recharge in a very pleasant atmosphere, decor not necessarily my taste but you can see that the recent refurb was effective.

I would stay at this hotel again and would consider Ritz in other destinations too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenpugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,180 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#65 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,758 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
Address: 1 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Ritz Miami Beach
Miami Beach Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing