We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptionally friendly, very pampering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
Ranked #30 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

first off, I did not meet one single employee at this hotel that was even remotely not friendly. this staff was trained properly.

hotel: location was tremendous. right on Lincoln road which is a hotbed of activity and dining options, all within walking distance. it is right down the block from the Delano. across the street is a 24 hour Walgreen's for whatever necessities you may need. across from that are two tschoka stores for all your Miami souveniers. the lobby was not particularly accommodating. there was a small flight of steps from the front desk to the elevators. an obvious problem if you have a lot of luggage. there is a ramp but you have to retreat from the front desk back towards the entrance, then walk up a corridor ramp which leads to the top of the steps you had just encountered. you can stop there and have a drink at the lobby bar which is right in front of the elevators. it looked lovely and there were the sheerest curtains to help partition the bar from the elevators in case you didn't want to drink in full view of everyone coming and going from the hotel.

once upstairs, you had your ritz-carleton rooms which were spacious and lovely as ever. my view was of the roof and ventilation ducts, but I didn't pay for ocean view and they certainly didn't comp me or upgrade me for that. the bathroom had a separate shower from the tub and double sinks. there was a safe in the room that was in the wall in the closet about two inches deep so you had to balance all your valuables on top of one another and quickly close the safe door before your valuables fell over onto the floor.

the pool: quite nice. you do not need sunscreen, it is provided at the pool gratis. spf 15 and spf 30. the denizens of the hotel are well heeled, so no screaming kids at the pool. there are staff to take your deck chair cotton towels to you chairs and they will set them up for you. if you ask, I assume they will provide you with an umbrella although the pool staff didn't offer to get me an umbrella. there were also pool beds, but they cost extra. kind of like a cabana, but if you want something in that vein that is more elegant, go to the Delano, they do cabanas properly. the pool itself was not deep and each day I went, it was dotted with people so forget about a swim, but it is nice to cool off in the pool. I did not see a hot tub anywhere. walk down from the pool to the beach area and you first encounter a bar, very pricey, but there may be a bank nearby to obtain financing for a small glass of sangria ($15,) I know, I know...i'm at a ritz, so what am I complaining about? I still don't like getting hosed at the beach.

beach: one of the worst I have every seen. Phuket, glorious. Miami beach....not so much. sand is course, once you reach the sand bar and step down to the ocean, there is a fairly fast dropoff. a lot of shells, a lot of that seaweed stuff, overall, not that pleasant a beach. sorry. but the location of the hotel is great. did I mention that? stick to the pool.

I gave the hotel a 4 because of the staff and location, but if it is a true beach vacation you want. you should pass. this place is great to go partying and walking back. no dui's while staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fongghoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,640 - 1,646 of 3,198 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Attentive greeting and excellent service right off the bat. Doormen are there to open/hold main doors for you every time! Huge, open central lobby space and welcoming lounge. Eclectic, if monied, clientele all over the place; but a large number of families too. Rather unpretentious, and a nice vibe throughout.

Incredible art throughout hotel including numerous Miros - very understatedly impressive. Immaculate property. A non-descript age - not old & Art Deco at all but not new, just nicely retro layout and architectural style (prob 50s?)

Huge room and deluxe furnishings - we had a typical guest room with lanai that overlooked the pool. iPod dock & free coffee (maker) standard in-room issue. Big balcony with two huge loungers. Massive bathroom with marble counters & double sinks! Separate doored toilet; big bathtub + separate shower.

My travel agency got us a couple of special exclusives: a spa credit of $100 & free breakfast daily. The breakfast (offered in the main restaurant, called Bistro One) was the best I have ever had at a hotel or resort - a huge spread, hot & cold, and made-to-order station (worth $35 p/p)! Inside or outside seating.

Pool area and bar / restaurant are groovy and nice (even better by night with purple lighted ambiance). Pool is large but only 4ft deep max - fun for the families, and the rest just to show off and be seen, but limited otherwise. Hip dance mixes all the while, but goes far too late into the night - not loud but the bass is noticeable (& goes well beyond 10pm), though this never became an issue for us. We didn't try the beach.

Spa is full value and outstanding service! I don't know much but would say that the prices are reasonable there too.

Perfect SoBe location on Collins Ave and right on the beach, and at the foot of Lincoln Road - couldn't be better.

Without question a pricey hotel choice, but to do South Beach best you can't get a better location and the Ritz name is full value here.

Room Tip: Odd and complicated path to get to Lanai rooms?! Can't avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Amazing staff and the beach was so close. The spa was not as good as you would expect at the Ritz. Club level experience is definitely worth paying for (could be costly if you're not a member of the Ritz rewards program).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asefermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Treated OK, but definitely not under expectations.
Check-in rush to get us in and didn't offer any help what so ever.
Didn't care to ask whats the special occasion for our stay and when i told them I'm on my honeymoon all they said was "Oh OK, Congratulations".

Later that week we went to Ritz in Fort Lauderdale, FL and were treated great. Offered us champagne and upgraded our rooms for free because it was our honeymoon.

Won't Stay here again,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Ritz Carlton provided a wonderful experience for my week vacation. I was in awe of the fabulous customer service. The beach crew was amazing. They remember your name and preferences immediately which makes you feel special. The maid service was incredible. Nothing was ever too much of a request and timeliness was never in doubt. Great location too! I was continuously impressed by the RCSB team. If there was ever a slip up, such as a forgotten menu item ordered, the fix was made immediately and you weren't charged for it. A head's up for anyone staying there that the fridge is completely full with Ritz items so if you want to bring in any of your own water or drinks, you'll need to keep up with getting ice. The poolside and breakfast menu is a touch over priced but it is South Beach so it's probably in line with other nearby hotels. The pool did close for a short time in the sweltering weather due to uncontrollable issues. I came home feeling such a positive feeling that was reflective of the crew's attitude...everything is "my pleasure" from the smallest to largest of requests. I never encountered a lazy employee. I am really glad we went with the RCSB!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for a week in March with my boyfriend. Relaxing getaway. Service was great. Had a oceanview room by the pool. Was pretty noisy in the room once the music at the pool started playing. We called and there were no other rooms available for us to move to, so they gave us a room credit to make up for it. Room was beautifully decorated and bathroom was nice as expected for a Ritz.
We primarily relaxed by the pool and on the beach. Great service both poolside and on the beach. On beach - charge required for beach umbrellas, but they set up chairs and everything for you.
Good location - right on beach. Walking distance to many restaurants/bars, and shopping on Collins.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

First thing that strikes you is the very dark reception area. You need a torch to sign in . Nice aspect and views if you pick a sea view room but otherwise you will be staring at an adjoining tower block
We had a suite but i was disappointed in the bathroom. Only one sink and doors that were difficult to navigate . No guest toilet which is the norm these days for suites

A funky experience all round with lighting al levels to challenge those unaccustomed to Disco lifestyles, Fun but very pricey when you include all those taxes which fill half the page at check out.
Its right on the beach so take all your gear.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bowie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#15 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,641 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#51 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,956 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 212 in Miami Beach
287 reviews
The Setai
#6 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,118 reviews
SLS South Beach
#40 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Address: 1 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $356 - $960 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach exudes an air of modern sophistication with elegantly appointed guest rooms that draw inspiration from the azure waters of the Atlantic Ocean, South Florida’s golden sandy beaches and the vibrance of South Beach. An oceanfront, restored 1953 Art Moderne building, The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach boasts a $3 million contemporary art collection featuring established and emerging artists and beckoning visitors to an oasis of luxury. Whether you crave a day of soaking up sunshine, water adventures, artistic experiences, the area’s best shopping or dining and nightlife, you’ll discover an unparalleled South Beach experience. New enhancements at The Ritz-Carlton Spa also offer guests a private oasis to relax and unwind with signature ESPA treatments, while a reimagined Ritz-Carlton Club® Level lounge feature elevated views of the Atlantic Ocean, along with signature cocktails, flavorable bites and a dedicated Club Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Ritz Miami Beach
Miami Beach Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing