We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Relaxing stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
Ranked #29 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for a week in March with my boyfriend. Relaxing getaway. Service was great. Had a oceanview room by the pool. Was pretty noisy in the room once the music at the pool started playing. We called and there were no other rooms available for us to move to, so they gave us a room credit to make up for it. Room was beautifully decorated and bathroom was nice as expected for a Ritz.
We primarily relaxed by the pool and on the beach. Great service both poolside and on the beach. On beach - charge required for beach umbrellas, but they set up chairs and everything for you.
Good location - right on beach. Walking distance to many restaurants/bars, and shopping on Collins.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,466
    624
    257
    133
    101
See reviews for
687
891
87
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

First thing that strikes you is the very dark reception area. You need a torch to sign in . Nice aspect and views if you pick a sea view room but otherwise you will be staring at an adjoining tower block
We had a suite but i was disappointed in the bathroom. Only one sink and doors that were difficult to navigate . No guest toilet which is the norm these days for suites

A funky experience all round with lighting al levels to challenge those unaccustomed to Disco lifestyles, Fun but very pricey when you include all those taxes which fill half the page at check out.
Its right on the beach so take all your gear.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bowie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

What can you say? It's truly a "Ritz" and more. We spent a night in South Beach as we are locals and wanted the best, we got it. From check in to check out everything was perfect, more than what we expected. You certainly do not find "South Beach" service and attitudes here.
The mattresses were the best any where, and Frank at the pool was outstanding, he could not do enough for us for the one day we were their. ThanksFrank

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Spent two nights at the Ritz South Beach and found it to be fantastic. The pool area and beach access are great for everyone. This is a premier spot in South Beach and would highly, highly recommend it to anyone looking for that perfect Ritz experience. You are in close walking distance to the whole "scene" on Ocean Drive as well as shopping on Collins Avenue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramblingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Excellent service ... Stayed here before and also loved it, rooms ate great ... Entire hotel staff are so attentive, polite, and very accommodating. The beach staff today were so pleasant and eager to make our vacation a wonderful experience ... Thank you so much! This hotel ensures you have a pleasant stay. The name follows its reputation! Excellence!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michyridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
246 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at the Ritz Fort Lauderdale property before coming to the Ritz Miami Beach. Here are some pros and cons of this particular property:

PROS:
1. The hotel is right on the beach so free use of towels and beach loungers but need to pay $25 for umbrella. If you are a beach goer, this Ritz is for you!
I did notice seaweed on the beach while the beach infront of Ritz FT did not have this and appears much cleaner.
The waves here also appear to me slightly larger than in FLL.

2. We were kindly upgraded to a pool lanai room with a balcony with 2 loungers and a coffee table so it was very easy access to both the beach and pool; but, you do hear the bass of the music. If the balcony door is shut, then it isn't too bad. The music stops around 9pm or so.

3. The pool here is larger than that in FLL with many more loungers and day beds which you can rent for $300/day.

4. Our room had a coffee machine with complimentary coffee and tea as well as water. There is also complimentary coffee in the lobby every day until 9am only.

5. Location of this Ritz is fantastic as it is so close to all the restaurants and shops that one need.
Ex: Walgreens steps away, CVS a block away, I love Liquor a block away.
If you walk a few blocks to Washington Street, you can even find a great little supermarket that sells liquor for better price, produce, baked goods, and even hot meals for just $6.99.
Also, on Washington street, blocks from the hotel, you will find little coffee shops with great breakfast prices for $4.99 to $6.99 which includes eggs, toast, potatoes, and coffee.

6. Bus S which goes downtown is also nearby (one block) which cost $2 vs a taxi fare of around $35.

7. In our room, they use Frette linen, the beds are comfortable but slightly on the softer side from what I like but different strokes for different folks.
The room is very clean--bathroom has double sinks, not a soaker tub, separate toilet and walk in shower. The grout in the shower can be cleaner as it is stained on the bottom around the perimeter of the shower.

8. Evening turn down service for us was usually around 9:00pm which we found late so we would just put out the Do Not Disturb sign.

9. Complimentary newspapers every morning--USA Today, New York Times, and Wall STreet Journal.

CONS:

1. On our balcony, we found quite a few ants which is unavoidable but i just don't like them so we called down to maintenance. They came up very quickly and sprayed with something, not Raid, but still ants the next day.

2. This hotel building itself is from Art Deco Era so it is an older building and in some places it shows but it is still a very nice building.

3. Everything is very expensive...$7 coffee in the restaurant before taxes and tip.

4.Tv in room does not have Bravo or Food Channel which we love so I wasn't able to watch the
Real Housewives of Miami on the tube while in Miami.....lol.... such irony.

5. There are many young children at the pool playing water ball and inadvertently, the balls will hit other guests/swimmers but many of the parents do not discipline their children.
I wished the pool staff would ask children to refrain from throwing and playing with these water balls in the pool as it is very annoying for other guests who are trying to relax and not get hit!

6. For me, I found the clientele at this particular Ritz property to be a real mixed bag and it isn't like other Ritz properties. Perhaps here, they allow day use of their pool with spa usage???

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here but we still prefer the refinement and the exceptional service at the Ritz Fort lauderdale.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Most comfortable hotel room we have ever stayed at.
Not cheap but if your looking to be comfortable this will not disappoint.
Room service amazing.
Great location for beach or main shops both on door strep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,190 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#7 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#63 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,775 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
Address: 1 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Ritz Miami Beach
Miami Beach Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing