We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Service that RC is known for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
Ranked #31 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed at several RC and this one would rate the lowest. They worked hard to get us a nice room but then forgot we were there. The first evening no turndown or towels, the next day we finally called at 3:30 because our room had not been made up, and we had been out since 9am. The last day we were to have a late, 1pm check out only to have to answer the door 4 different times and explain to staff that we had the late checkout.

Room Tip: The higher the better. We had a nice corner room facing away from the water (which would have been e...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,185)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,764 - 1,770 of 3,185 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my husband and 2 kids, age 6 and 4. Excellent service. Everybody smiled and asked if we were enjoying our stay or needed help. We've stayed at other Ritz-Carltons' Puerto Rico and Biscayne Bay. The service is consistent. Very family oriented. The beach was crowded but they had a nice little sand play area for the kids. Pool was very cool in temperature but the kids still enjoyed it. It was a nice relaxing time and everyone was friendly. The rhythm massage at the spa was fantastic. Would definitely stay here again. I was thankful that it was quiet, considering this was Spring break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GipsonFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely place, old style elegance. PERFECT service. All staff was very attentive. Costly food and drink. Paid $679 per night so it stings to pay $18 for a non-call or non alcoholic drink. 18% gratuity is always included. If money is no object - pack your bags!

Room Tip: we had a corner room (south side) over the pool on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet and very conv...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mms1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The place is beautiful - the lobby, the rooms, the restos, the spa, the beach and the pool side. In Miami, we usually stay at Ritz Key Biscayne, since we love the tennis and the feel of a far-away resort on its expansive grounds. This time we opted for Ritz SOBE for a short getaway. Again, the Ritz SOBE is very pretty, but the service - whether it's the doormen who are sometimes too busy checking out women to open doors for you, the slightly surly servers at the Bistro, or the housekeeping staff who were watching TV when we walked in and interrupted their "turn-down service" - it's not as impeccable as the service at Ritz Key Biscayne. As a footnote the sound of the live music by the pool side and in the lobby feels great in an otherwise quiet (by SOBE standards) hotel.

Room Tip: Room on floor 11 with a balcony had an outstanding view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoJaneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Managment needs some training.
Great location, Great hands on front staff;
sad to have a heated discussion with an "Ashley" Manager with a very much wrong attitude towards customers in such a high offer market.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a beautiful property in a fantastic location. As one would expect, the prices are extremely high. I had a $25 salad and an ice tea that was $7. I expect it so it was no surprise, and the service was fantastic. Staff is wonderful, cannot do enough for you. The only complaint...rooms could use a little "clean up" (some mold in the shower, bathroom cabinet coming apart) and I was not a big fan of the spa. Small and cramped space with no water features or coed common area. That being said, we enjoyed this property very much. If you have the opportunity, definately go!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattyatips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for a mini getaway and I just had to express my appreciation for the superior service we received during our stay. Before arriving I called and booked Spa services with an associate by the name of April. She was very informative when it came to the services offered and the facility access. Upon arrival at the hotel we were immediately greeted by the Valet attendants, one in particular, Gustavo, went above and beyond for us. He's truly a great asset to the hotel. He then escorted us to the front desk and we were greeted with a warm welcome by Moshe. Words can't begin to explain the amazing customer service we received from him. He smiled, engaged in conversation and he made us feel very welcomed. I can write an entire review on his outstanding customer service alone which is why he deserves a great deal of praise for his excellent customer service. Kuddos to you, Moshe for making our stay a great one. Upon receiving our room, which had an amazing ocean view by the way, we immediately went to the Spa to check in for our services. Vanessa was the associate at the desk at the time. She was NOT friendly. She seemed annoyed the entire check in process which made me and my partner very uncomfortable. Based on the other reviews I read about the poor Spa service, I’m sure she was the associate everyone was talking about. I ended up stopping the entire check in process and informed her that I will check in closer to my appointment time. (Secretly hoping someone else will be at the desk to check me in). I returned to the Spa closer to my appointment time and was greeted with a warm welcome by Cassandra. Her smile was like a ray of sunshine. She made me feel welcomed; she showed me around the facility and offered to be of assistance with any of my needs. I had a Ritz Carlton signature massage with a male therapist by the name of Scott. He was beyond amazing. I must say in all my years of getting massages, he was the best therapist I’ve ever had. I will definitely request him again in the future. We opted not to eat at the hotel being that there were other amazing restaurants on the strip. I want to give a special thanks to Girad at the pool for anticipating our needs and all of the staff on the beach. Overall we had an amazing time, we will definitely stay with the Ritz-Sobe again.

2  Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#15 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,583 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#54 of 210 in Miami Beach
6,801 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#12 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Setai
#6 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,095 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#17 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Address: 1 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $337 - $904 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach exudes an air of modern sophistication with elegantly appointed guest rooms that draw inspiration from the azure waters of the Atlantic Ocean, South Florida’s golden sandy beaches and the vibrance of South Beach. An oceanfront, restored 1953 Art Moderne building, The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach boasts a $3 million contemporary art collection featuring established and emerging artists and beckoning visitors to an oasis of luxury. Whether you crave a day of soaking up sunshine, water adventures, artistic experiences, the area’s best shopping or dining and nightlife, you’ll discover an unparalleled South Beach experience. New enhancements at The Ritz-Carlton Spa also offer guests a private oasis to relax and unwind with signature ESPA treatments, while a reimagined Ritz-Carlton Club® Level lounge feature elevated views of the Atlantic Ocean, along with signature cocktails, flavorable bites and a dedicated Club Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Ritz Miami Beach
Miami Beach Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing