We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
Ranked #34 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here for the first time last March, and while I gave it a favorable review (with praises for location and service) -- I thought that the rooms were a little dated considering the high price tag. After staying here last Saturday night, I have a completely different opinion! It looks like the rooms have had a major "face lift". We stayed in a partial ocean view room with one king bed. The room was extremely spacious with a beach-y, aqua feel. Once the madness of the South Beach Food and Wine Festival calmed down, it was very quiet (virtually no outside noise). I was a little disappointed with the size of the balcony, given the killer view! It would have been lovely to lay out, especially since the pool can get a bit crowded - but there were only two small chairs. The pool, of course, is beautiful - maybe a little smaller than the pool at the Loews, but nonetheless extremely clean (given the proximity to the beach I was worried it could be sandy, but it was not). Deck chairs can be difficult to come by on a beautiful day so get there early if you would like a spot in the sun! The service is excellent, as at virtually any Ritz property. You cannot beat the location on South Beach, and I appreciated the quietness that is hard to find in SoBe. Overall, I am happy I decided to give it another try after initially being unimpressed about the dated rooms back in March - this time, I felt the higher price was justified! If I can afford it again in the future, I certainly will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyx113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,596
    663
    287
    148
    106
See reviews for
761
960
98
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Overall rating is A- mainly because some of the things we've come to expect from high end resorts were missing here. With room to improve this was still an excellent experience.
Lengthy review follows for those interested in the details:
The two of us came here for a weekend 3 day/2 nights stay. It happened to be the weekend of the Food Network's South Beach Food and Wine Festival thus the entire South Beach was full of (hungry?) people.
We came to the hotel around 1 pm and were told that our room will be available by 3 pm even though official check-in is at 4 pm. We went to the spa to change into the beach clothes and left valuables in the lockers there. Everyone at the spa was extremely friendly and tried to address you by your last name. We spent few hours by the pool that is only accessed through the spa floor or from the beach. Once we got our room, our luggage was brought up and everything was explained to us by the bellman. All except mini-bar and internet is included in the price of the room.
We had a partial ocean view room that we paid extra for when booking. This unfortunately, meant a partially obstructed view off the balcony. The balcony was fairly spacious with a couple of chairs and facing the beach so we still had a great view and sound of the festival area.
The room itself was large enough for 2 persons (around 375 sq ft) with the king bed, two night stands, a large bookshelf, drawer chest, minibar and a desk, a large flat screen tv (that we never used), couple of chairs, two table lamps and a floor lamp. All of the decor was of modern elegant variety. All electronics in the room worked well including internet (for the life of me I don't understand why they have to charge extra for WiFi). Room had a sizable closet with hangers, ironing board, working iron and a full length mirror. The bathroom was large with a tub and a separate shower, two sinks, and a separate toilet closet.
They provided ample towels and bathroom amenities, including a hair drier, shavers and magnifying mirror , q-tips, shampoo, conditioner and so on. There was only one robe, though they promised to bring a second one. That never happened but we did not really need it. The ones in the spa were better anyway.
Room was cleaned in the morning and was in meticulous condition. They also do turn-down service in the evening but early, around 5:30 pm which is when we were coming back to the room from the beach so it wasn't done. I once called front desk to request a turn-down after we went out for dinner but no one showed up. That was disappointing, especially since front desk promised to send someone up right away. Next night we didn't even bother to ask again.
SPA was Excellent. it is well staffed. All amenities like sauna, steam room and showers are in very good condition, always with plenty of towels, robes, slippers. The relaxation room is small but very plush with hot teas and snacks and fruits in ample supply.
Fitness Center is very good with separate areas for weight machines and free weights and separately a treadmill/elliptical / bike machines. They provide towels, water and cups, headphones, and fruits to take with. It is located just a few feet from Spa entrance so you can leave your change of clothes in the dressing room and use the spa amenities after the workout.
Spa treatments are very good though on the expensive side and they do not accept Spa Finder certificates.
Pool area is fairly large but it gets filled up with guests fairly quickly so if you want to lay out by the pool you better get there early. If you want all day sun, get the seats by the beach end of the pool otherwise around 2 pm you will be completely in the shade. Of course they provide large freestanding umbrellas for those who want both. The lounge chairs at the pool and on the beach are cushioned and very comfortable. They provide you with plenty of towels and there's plenty of staff to bring you drinks and food any time you can flag them down. Pool water was very warm but had lots of little kids in the pool. We ended up going to the beach instead. There is no separate adult pool area in this hotel. There is a small Jacuzzi but it is not restricted to adults either. Pool area also has a full bar with top shelf liquor and a pool side restaurant that is open all day and evening. Be forewarned that prices are of an upscale variety but the food is very good and in large portion. Consider sharing some dishes and your meals won't cost as much as a room. They do offer cabanas and beds by the pool and the beach but we did not try them out.
Beach is accessible from the pool area with secure gates so make sure to take your room key to get back to hotel through this gate. If you do forget, there is always hotel staff available to get you in.
Right outside the pool gate Ritz offers a beach bar and restaurant, showers and bathrooms. Walk to the beach is about 30 yards. Beaches in Miami are public but hotels can offer beach amenities if they are at least 30 ft. from the water. Ritz offered complimentary lounge chairs and towels and you were not limited to only one per person. Beach staff was very friendly and accommodating. Ritz offers and charges for beach umbrellas and front row beach beds. They do not offer massages or other solicitations here which was good to see. The beach and the water were very clean and the weather was perfect mid 80's during the day and humid low 70's in the evening. Water temps were on the cooler side but still warm enough for many people to swim daily. The shower and bathrooms are back by the beach restaurant so keep that in mind when going for a swim. Ritz staff offers drinks and food at the beach as well for those who do not want to miss a minute of the beach time.
Location of the hotel is excellent. Walking distance to most of the South Beach attractions, stores, restaurants and nightclubs. Walgreen's is just across the street for any items you may have forgotten to bring with you. Ritz has a fully staffed concierge desk and there are plenty of cabs outside to take you where you want to go. The lobby of the hotel includes a bar lounge where live music can go on until midnight or later. On the other hand the rooms in the hotel are well insulated even when the late night beach event was in full swing. Beds are very comfortable and we got some great sleep on this trip.
For those traveling with small children, hotel offers kids club and an area on the beach for kids to play at. Since we were traveling without our kids, I could not provide additional info on this aspect of the hotel. Hope your experience will be at least as enjoyable as our was.

Room Tip: Ask for floor 10 or higher for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidlifeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, you can walk to most everything. The hotel is clean and beautiful inside. Our accommodations were great! What made our experience the most enjoyable was the outstanding customer service. When we arrived Sofia at the front desk made us feel extremely welcome and happy we were at the Ritz. We had a very unpleasant experience at a different hotel in South Beach, ended up checking out of that hotel as soon as we got there and went to the Ritz instead. Sofia was attentive, sympathetic to our situation, and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and happy to be there. A shining example of superior customer service! The hotel is luxurious and comfortable. The poolside is awesome with sunscreen available to all as well as Citrus infused iced water. The service was also wonderful, Dia was great. Great personality and very attentive! We also had the pleasure of meeting Mary O'Donnell, the hotel manager, who delivered her personal thank you notes to us so we could give them to some of the staff. Amazing job, thank you to all mentioned for being sincere, pleasant and believing and achieving fabulous customer service!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMShores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed with my Dad in February and loved every minute of it, the food is outstanding, the pool is wonderful, I enjoyed the spa and was really impressed with the vicinity to the beautiful white sandy beach in front. South Beach is a great fun destination and there are lots of lovely hotels but the Ritz Carlton is always a stylish and wonderful experience. With the exception of some of the reception staff who were a little pushy, I found it an almost perfect experience. Best feature, the beds and linen - one word WOW!

Room Tip: Any overlooking the pool are really nice in my view. Miami is a pool/beach kind of place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 235BenMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent a long weekend in February at this perfectly located Ritz Carlton in South Beach. Beautiful pool area, steps to the beach, wonderful, helpful staff. so why the missing star? well, the hotel property itself is the weak spot. Ritz took a smallish, tired property and have done the best they could with it. but if you dont plan to spend your entire time here in your room, the proximity to the beach, restaurants, nightlife and the welcoming staff will ensure a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rokko193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at the Ritz-Carlton South Beach due to a conference and the experience was excellent. Friendly staff, great room, good breakfast, pool and gym. A good choice for those who enjoy comfort and luxury.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vini_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days the end of January. Staff is extremely friendly and goes out of their way to be of assistance. Angie, the children's director, is so good and bilingual; she played with our grand daughter(Sophie) in the pool as well as other kids. The Beauty Salon is the best. The gals not only cut her hair, but put on sprinkles, and painted all 20 of her nails. Sophie thought she was the princess.
I loved having the guys open the door every time I went in or out.
This is great location for walking on the beach and on Lincoln Rd.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walk34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#65 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,057 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,345 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#9 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#20 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#18 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
Address: 1 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Ritz Miami Beach
Miami Beach Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing