We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with some flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
Ranked #30 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here for two nights after a week on business in Toronto. I arrived at about 1am after a delayed flight. Check-in was pretty quick at that time of night! The hotel is well-located, separated from the beach by a pedestrian path. Being on Lincoln Road, it is also close to the shops and restaurants of the pedestrianised section of Lincoln Road.

My room was on the club floor, although I didn't actually have club access with my room rate. The room was an ocean view with a balcony. It had two queen beds in it, which made it rather cramped. Furniture was OK, but the decor is getting a little shabby. I had problems getting power for my phone charger until I worked out that the outlet/socket was hanging out of the wall and I had to push it back in again.

The bathroom was a good size, with a proper sized bath, a separate shower cubicle and a separate cubicle for the toilet.

Bed and pillows were comfortable, although I noticed on the second night that the turndown service had turned down the wrong bed. Had I been doing it, I would probably have turned down both beds.

The biggest problem with the room is the interconnecting door into the next room. On the first morning, I could clearly hear the conversation of the couple next door. On the second morning, I heard rather an entertaining argument. On neither occasion were voices raised, yet I could hear everything very clearly. When I called the front desk, I was told that there were no rooms of this type without interconnecting doors, and anyway they hadn't really had complaints about noise coming through the interconnecting doors before (not generally the type of response that goes down well with me!). I did, however, get some hotel credit in compensation. Fortunately, I wasn't disturbed by any noise at night from next door.

I ordered room service breakfast on both mornings. The in-room dining cart/table thing was rather too large for the room, but the food was otherwise good. I had dinner in the restaurant on one night, by the pool. It wasn't busy, but the service was good, as was the food.

I think I would probably stay here again if I was in Miami Beach, although the interconnecting door issue is rather offputting.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlton79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,811 - 1,817 of 3,206 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

I visited just over a year ago for a girls getaway and after numerous issues - from a dirty room, poor spa service, a restaurant server that took milk from a table that a family had just vacated - rather gross! Then the service personnel offered to make up for each misstep but never came through - frankly it became a comedy of errors.

To his credit, the GM at the time reached out and offered a 2 night stay to help to remedy the disappointment. I received a very nice note and thought his gesture was appropriate and represented what I expected from a Ritz.

Well I just emailed the new GM, Michael Rock and not only did I not get a personal/friendly note back but was told by his assistant that I couldn't use the offer due to black out dates. Now under normal circumstances I could understand, but in this case, I planned on extending my stay and paying for the extra days - and remember I was given the offer because of poor service! And, I pointed out to his admin that based on their website, there was availability. Wouldn't they want my business? I guess not. No problem there are plenty of other luxury hotels in South Beach! Doesn't sound like Mr. Rock understands what the Ritz brand stands for.

3  Thank GreatFallsJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our first visit to South Beach and our stay couldn't have been any more pleasant. This Ritz property is beautiful and in a great location. Loved the beach, which is very easily accessible from the hotel. The club level was a great option; It made check-in a breeze and the food and wine selections were excellent. Breakfast, poolside, was outstanding. We enjoyed the buffet each morning of our stay (included in a room package- otherwise, a bit pricey). Loved the coffee which came to the table in a French press. Dinner at Bistro OneLR was excellent. Loved the lobby bar and their specialty drinks and nightly live entertainment. We had a very nice room, huge marble bathroom with super soft towels.
Best part of our experience was the hotel staff. Every single person we encountered from the front desk to the beach staff was friendly, accommodating, and genuinely seemed to like their job and their coworkers. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Club level is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We are tremendous fans of the Ritz Carlton, staying mostly at the Buckhead location and have been to South Beach many times but because of poor reviews on TA we have shied away from the Ritz South Beach. We stayed one night on the club level before our Christmas cruise.

We had a great stay; I can't think of anything that was not satisfactory. The customer service upon arrival and at check in was very friendly and courteous, taking us up to the the club level to orient us to the lounge and to our room. The food on the club level was delightful, even offering hot protein items for breakfast which is something Ritz Buckhead does not do. The spa services I received were fabulous, again pleasant staff. Pool attendants were attentive.

No complaints at all. Room clean and bathrooms large. Great views. Would stay here again on our next vaca to South Beach. Can't beat the location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cclisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I would like to say a BIG thank you to all for such an enjoyable stay at the Ritz Carlton, South Beach. All of you made my wife and I so welcome and were kind and helpful. I travel often to Miami and this has been the best experience to date.

As a well travelled individual let me tell you that your staff is one of the most professional, thorough, and courteous groups I’ve come along with. Each staff member has demonstrated a compelling desire to make our stay special and memorable. They follow up with detailed information on top of their performance, the desk, bell boys, housekeeping, beach and pool staff are outgoing, friendly, and thorough. This is, for me, the mark of a truly service-minded operation. By far, the reception at the VIP Lounge on Floor 10 is welcoming and friendly and I can’t think of a single negative. We look forward to visiting you again very soon.
Regards,

Room Tip: Floors 9 and 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrick_peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in several RC properties and while the service was great overall, this hotel looks like a 3 star hotel.

The bad:

Very tired looking rooms in drastic need of an update. Didn't feel very clean.

HARD and very very uncomfortable bed.

Very dated lobby. Kind of weird smell throughout hotel.

Very crowded and mediocre pool. No chairs available and towels, etc. not changed throughout the day, so some abandoned chairs left dirty.

Mediocre and very expensive food in pool restaurant.

For me, location felt hectic and crowded. Some people might like that.

The good?

Excellent excellent young girl at the concierge desk. Need to find out her name to give her props. So sweet and recommended 2 fantastic restaurants (go to Ola!! So good).

Friendly beach service

Great service overall, in terms of friendliness, courtesy, saying hello,

Location is very central so walking distance to many restaurants, etc. Also right on the beach.

--

Overall? Could possibly be a nice hotel if they completely gutted it. Omg-at the bare minimum, please please get new mattresses and bedding! For $600 a night The value was not there for me. For the money I would much rather have stayed at the Mandarin Oriental.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillyp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is truely "ladies and gentlemen taking care of ladies and gentlemen". Great hotel, the employees are attentive, offered great service, dedicated and take care of their guests. I will be back!!

Kim, Bobby, Marvin, the Room Attendants....these are just a few of the names that I am able to remember at this time. They made my stay an enjoyable and memorable one!! KUDOS to you "ladies and gentlemen...

Room Tip: PERFECT vacation spot!! This is the place to stay when in South Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#17 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,779 reviews
The Setai
#4 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,151 reviews
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 214 in Miami Beach
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#44 of 214 in Miami Beach
7,255 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#12 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,663 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#11 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Address: 1 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $310 - $633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach exudes an air of modern sophistication with elegantly appointed guest rooms that draw inspiration from the azure waters of the Atlantic Ocean, South Florida’s golden sandy beaches and the vibrance of South Beach. An oceanfront, restored 1953 Art Moderne building, The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach in Miami Beach boasts a $3 million contemporary art collection featuring established and emerging artists and beckoning visitors to an oasis of luxury. Whether you crave a day of soaking up sunshine, water adventures, artistic experiences, the area’s best shopping or dining and nightlife, you’ll discover an unparalleled South Beach experience. New enhancements at The Ritz-Carlton Spa also offer guests a private oasis to relax and unwind with signature ESPA treatments, while a reimagined Ritz-Carlton Club® Level lounge feature elevated views of the Atlantic Ocean, along with signature cocktails, flavorable bites and a dedicated Club Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Ritz Miami Beach
Miami Beach Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing