We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Service above all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
Ranked #24 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Service above all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed very much our stay at this hotel. Service was excellent and rooms very agreable. My only negative impression was that the shower door in our bathroom could not stop the shower water from leaving onto the exterior thus wetting the entire floor.. :(

On the other hand I cannot thank enough Kristin at the Concierge counter and Luis (with car pick up) who helped us with our broken car right when we were leaving the hotel. We did appreciate a lot their honest interest in helping us trying to get the car started and then getting a new car from the rental company.

Room Tip: if you can afford the cost ask for a room facing the ocean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,343
    585
    240
    117
    95
See reviews for
631
827
85
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Enjoyed a 7 night stay on Club level - ocean front room. Had booked club level city view but was pleasantly upgraded to an ocean front room with balcony. Service was excellent in every department of hotel. Staff seemed to go out of their way to be pleasant and happy which I found to be contageous. Food presentations in club were very good - cerviche and shrimp dishes were prepared very well,. The hotel is an old property but kept up well. Location at top of Lincoln Rd can't be beat. In the action but surrounded by Ritz serenity. A great paved walkway between the beach and hotel allowed great walking/jogging and bike activity that went on for miles away from the busy road but still along the beach. Too windy to sit on the beach during the week we were there. I found it a bit odd that the Ritz charged $20 if you wanted an umbrella. The chairs and towels were free for guests but not the umbrella. Seemed a bit "ungracious". Busy pool and beach area with good service though. As in all of South Beach, the Ritz is a great people watching location!

Room Tip: Top three floors have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

You may have read that due to the recent prominence of Trip Advisor, hotel managements have been writing disingenuous reviews of their hotels in order to counter negative guest reviews.

We have stayed in the same two Lanai rooms at the SB Ritz Carlton for a number of years between Christmas and New Years.

Primarily for their unique and exceptional location over the pool and with a full ocean view

For those who know the property its the Lanai corner closet to the main building to the right facing the hotel

So pool chairs not a necessity

We were are in the sun all day

I can smoke cigars at the pool when my wife and girls at the beach while not having to worry about disturbing pool neighbors while also not disturbing others when I am on business calls

All in all ,a great set up

Not the hotel

Know the property very well

Despite this sweet set up which we have enjoyed this year after many we are moving on this year

Last year was just intolerable

We are frequent travelers and I especially like many of the reviewers am a RC Platinium member

We have never looked at RCSB as a typical RC property ,it is not and necer has been, at all.

We just had these two sweet rooms that could not be beat location wise in SB

I have read the Trip Advisor reviews with great interest

Please notice the detail of the negative reviews

They are all accurate

Notice the superfluous positive reviews

Mostly inaccurate

Notice the amoun of experienced travelers (and loyal RC clients) who write the
negative reviews

Then read the reviews of the star struck first timers who leave their expectations on Lincoln Road and are so thrilled that there is a Walgreens across the street

Or especially the "management" issued reviews which offer not only glowing reports about the location and it being the "only place to stay" in SB, but offer tips about hotel incentives, services etc

The hotel is in decline

Has been especially after sales manager Karen Giordano ( a true hospitality executive) moved on to Palm Beach

Senior management at RCSB whom I have met with are imperious aloof and are clearly not in the hospitality industry

The senior and his second should have been dumped within weeks

Many of the staff are professionals and are caring but morale is low and has been for a while

Concierge Marcus is a bit misunderstood in the reviews which is understandable he happens to be an above and beyond type of professional

As are the lvely ladies at the bars (pool and lobby)

Otherwise the beach is an aggravating mess the pool a gang tackle and the beach security gate a joke

All else you read about room cleanliness etc on the mark

All else you read about table service accurate

This is not in any dimension near an RC experience

If you have made your holiday plans

Just a suggestion

You may want to focus on the accurate negative reviews and act accordingly

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sf06883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I booked a room at the viceroy in Miami for a weekend getaway. On arrival they were overbooked and put us in a dirty room, no where near the category room we had booked . They did not care and the manager would not even speak to us, so the next thing I knew we were standing on the curb with no where to stay. Ritz Carlton to the rescue, I called them up and for not much more money they promised me an ocean view room. On arrival I relayed my story to the front desk and he apologized on behalf of all hotels and upgraded us to the penthouse suite, which I might add is an extraordinary room at a ritz. I mentioned we had canceled our dinner reservation at the viceroy and he asked if he could help with that. I said I had tried to get into nobu but it was booked. He took us to the concierge and stayed while they got us in that night. What amazing service, the location is perfect since lincoln road is more fun than South beach but is still in walking distance to both. You will NEVER be disappointed at a Ritz.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantB15C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just returned for a fun and relaxing 4 days at this great hotel. Great pool and beach service and absoutlely ideal location. If you can, get a room on the Club Floor -- delicous breakfast, lunch and snacks all day and into the evening. Wine and champagne included. LOVED it. Will be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary_from_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Can't say enough good things. Got a decent AAA rate and was upgraded to a Junior Suite. Beautiful room and hotel. Stellar service. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Nice gym. Beautiful lobby. Great location on Lincoln Road-can walk to everything.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklyntraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Outstanding client service since you are received at the front door. Staff remembers your name and treat you like a prince. Pool, Beach Facilities, Lounge, Beach Bar, and rooms outstanding. You feel like a king in your entire stay. If you would like to be loved take your loveone to this Hotel. You will not regret it. My only comment is you should not charge separately for wi-fi in this type of Hotel, include it in the rate and have guest free access.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrique G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,991 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#57 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 5,467 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#31 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,781 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
Address: 1 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Ritz Miami Beach
Miami Beach Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing