We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very convenient hotel right on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
Ranked #29 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very convenient hotel right on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This Ritz is a very nice hotel right on the beach and so close to the Lincoln Road with its multitude of dining options. I really liked that they do not charge a resort fee and still provide towels and beach loungers for free to their guests. Beach area is managed really well with great setup, drinks and food delivery right to your spot. Similarly, pool area is really good, with plenty of towels and loungers. Pool is nice and warm.
Rooms are quite spacious and bathrooms are quite modern and nice. They also provide apples to their guests which is a nice touch - I always feel I don't have enough fruit when I travel.
Now for the negatives: 1) if you do not get oceanfront view room, the road noise from A1A (Collins Ave) becomes a bit intrusive even on the 9th floor, but still it didn't prevent me from a good night's sleep. 2) Pillows - small and skinny - really uncomfortable. I have to say this was the biggest negative and a place like the Ritz should be able to afford better pillows.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are a huge plus to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxyehho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,466
    624
    255
    133
    101
See reviews for
687
890
87
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
242 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was prepared to be wowed given the price of the room. From the moment the taxi pulled up to the moment I had to wait for a toothbrush and paste to be sent up to the room after multiple requests....I'm sorry to say other hotel chains are doing a better job in the customer service category. Where are the "ladies and gentlemen serving ladies and gentlemen?" - isn't that the Ritz mantra? Yes the bedding, towels and quality of room furniture are indeed wonderful - first rate. And the location of this hotel is convenient. But the little touches - front desk staff was scattered, unorganized, overstaffed bell stand, a series of steps to walk up on the way to the elevators (pretty bad when you're checking in at midnight with a suitcase). And no coffee maker.....huh. Disappointing because I have a lovely balcony.

Room Tip: Rooms are generally noisy despite the thick walls. I was there when a convention was in town so tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NonaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I spent a lot of time researching hotels on south beach and found the perfect one! Although others may be rated higher, this now was perfect. First of all,it is not separated by ocean drive from the beach. The hotel size was ideal. Big enough to have several dining options and nice public spaces, but small enough that a two minute stroll could take you to the pool, beach fitness center or a bar or restaurant. However, my wife and I did not really want to leave the club lounge. Food and drink was served16 hours per day and the breakfast and lunch offerings were great. The staff was excellent especially Brittany and Bianca. Unfortunately, Bianca is leaving for another property. The pool was fine, not as big as many resorts but adequate for the size property. My only complaint is that you should not try to elevate the treadmill in the fitness room if your 6 feet 5 inches or your head will hit the low ceiling! Ah we'll, not much of a complaint. My advice is to stay at the ritz and if you do, stay on the club floor! The extra money is well worth it....

Room Tip: I would highly recommend only staying on the club floor!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncater
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a three night stay in October 2012 after a hectic trip to Vegas.
Immediately able to relax in this lovely hotel. We were given a newly refurbished room which the maid claimed we were the first occupants. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in with quality linens and towels. No coffee making facilities but this seems to be normal in the US.
Hotel is handily placed on the beach and near enough to visit the local attractions,but far enough away to avoid the noise.
Had a few cocktails and a high quality lunch in the beachside restaurant which although expensive is a must do visit.
Would love to return and would push the budget for a sea view room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markY462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

From the moment you enter, the staff is incredibly gracious and welcoming! All greeting you by name. This is my third visit and certainly not my last. From Brian, Manager to Moishe at the front desk who always greets you with a huge welcoming smile, the staff is great! Brooke and Bogor in bar area also wonderful! Rooms are nice, but location and service puts this as a favorite!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacation89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
360 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We've stayed here many times, and some things, like the location and the lobby are fabulous. The cocktails are incredible, and the beach restaurants are heaven. But it is really pricey for what you get, and EVERY time we've stayed there, they assigned us a lousy room (one overlooked a rooftop of air conditioners, with noise and vibration to match the view) and it literally took hours for them to find us an alternative. We upgraded on our dime, which we're happy to do, but it still took forever. Not worth the hassle.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chopstick224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you want to stay at a very nice Hotel, Stay at the Ritz Carlton South Beach, Miami. Here are the reasons:
Location is excellent, close to beach and south beach; everything is within walking distance, you do not need a car if you plan to stay in southbeach area
Staff is excellent
Room, we stayed at Standard room, good size room, nice decor, great bathroom, quiet AC and heat unit. Very clean. Comfrotable bed, clean sheets. Good maid service.
Pool area is very nice and water temp. was perfect. Pleanty of chairs and great staff.
We will stay here again on our next visit to Miami southbeach.

Room Tip: To avoid street noise, stay at high floors. You may hear some noise,street parties, loud music for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel8284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#7 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#63 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,773 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
Address: 1 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Ritz Miami Beach
Miami Beach Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing