We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
Ranked #31 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton South Beach for three nights. This is a beautiful hotel, in a great location. You pay for what you get. The pool service was great. Helpful, upbeat staff made spending a few hours poolside fun. Watch out for gusting winds though, a few of the open umbrellas fell over and had to be rescued. No one seemed to get hurt, and despite staff's request for people not to put up the umbrella's, there seemed to be a few umbrellas that were still opened. Lots of lounge chairs and the sun seemed to reach all sides. Great access to the beach and the running/walking path. Pay attention to where you come out, so that you know where to go back in. All of the hotels start looking the same from the path.

Location - close to walking to the Lincoln Pedestrian Mall (great for people watching or dining al fresco), seemed to be almost the centre of the pack.

Loved South Beach. Would try a different hotel to try to save $$

Room Tip: Our room did not have a view of the ocean, but was very quiet - 631
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,961 - 1,967 of 3,206 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Amex platinum travel booked hotel for three (3) me, wife and child. Check-in staff said no rooms with two beds desite reservation. No help, no "sorry" just take it or leave it! The worst Martoitt (sorry "RITZ") in the world! Don't risk your vacation with this hotel. Try the new W only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBenzTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I love ritz carton hotel, but actually this time I had a bad experience the hotel not that clean as the Ritz carton should be. the front disk people might very good, but I received by bad one and I checked out by much worse than the one had received me. Definitely I wont go back to the ritz carlton in South beach. I will changed to go to Louis next to the Ritz and has a better summing pool and service.

Room Tip: You should to have a ocean front view to enjoy the beach sight seen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nowaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The place is great, if you want to feel like a star and spend the afternoon having brunch and hang out by the pool great. But the brunch is a little overpriced for what you get

1  Thank MrCaliAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This property - right on the beach, at the origin of trendy Lincoln Road, is A Ritz in the fullest sense - excellent, personal service; high end furnishings, etc. The building is quirky - having been a reclamation of an older building; the pool area a bit small. The beach is beautiful but everything comes at a price - umbrella $20, a pair of lounge chairs in a prime location - a nice tip. And that brings me to my main issue - we constantly felt as if a tip was expected for almost everything. After a while, this can get tiring and somewhat offensive. At the price of a room, one would expect that you would be all "paid up". That being said, if you can afford the price of a room...and the tipping that follows, this is a true luxury South Beach experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroadOakPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I selected your hotel for its location, my past successful stays with the Ritz, and my new status as a Ritz Gold member.
1 - Our initial engagement with the hotel started off on the way to the hotel from the airport at 1045am. The operator was very nice but transferred us into the voice mail of a front desk agent. On our call back to speak with a live person we went to voice mail again. Our third attempt finally succeeded. The front desk was polite but had no record of my call and was surprisingly not helpful to accommodate after a long trip to visit. We decamped for lunch and came back to a new front desk agent at 1:30pm who was able to deliver the room for my in-laws. Our 2 rooms would not be ready until closer to 4pm.
2 – Room #1 - Thankfully at 3:30 the room was delivered and we gratefully moved our luggage our new rooms 912 and 914. The City view was unfortunately marred by a large horizontal concrete decorative element which blocked our view. The bigger issue was the carpet under the window which had several large nails sticking out from beneath the carpet. A front desk manager was called and after viewing the situation she promptly agreed to move us.
3 – Room #2 - Shortly thereafter we were moved to a new set of rooms which were not connecting. With 3 young daughters this was a non-starter. So we called back.
4 – Room #3 - Just before 530 we were finally moved to rooms 517 and 519. A wonderful view of a wall outside of our room but thankfully connecting rooms.
Other general feedback:
5 - As an aside I suggest you inspect the threadbare carpet on the way into room 517 and the dirty window coverings in room 519.
6 - Every evening the housekeeping would arrive for turn down service as we were planning to go out for dinner between 5pm and 6:3opm. The first night we asked for the housekeeper to return in 30 minutes her manager came running over and explained that she did not speak English and said they would be back. Shockingly no-one returned. The following evenings we had the same knocks and the same lost in translation moments (albeit without a translation as there was no supervisor) so we knew to call.
7 - On top of everything else The Valet crew took change out of the cup holder of the car.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robertnewyork1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Always a great place to stay in South Beach. Will likely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#17 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,785 reviews
The Setai
#4 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,152 reviews
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 214 in Miami Beach
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#44 of 214 in Miami Beach
7,267 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#12 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,664 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#11 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Address: 1 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $310 - $632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach exudes an air of modern sophistication with elegantly appointed guest rooms that draw inspiration from the azure waters of the Atlantic Ocean, South Florida’s golden sandy beaches and the vibrance of South Beach. An oceanfront, restored 1953 Art Moderne building, The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach in Miami Beach boasts a $3 million contemporary art collection featuring established and emerging artists and beckoning visitors to an oasis of luxury. Whether you crave a day of soaking up sunshine, water adventures, artistic experiences, the area’s best shopping or dining and nightlife, you’ll discover an unparalleled South Beach experience. New enhancements at The Ritz-Carlton Spa also offer guests a private oasis to relax and unwind with signature ESPA treatments, while a reimagined Ritz-Carlton Club® Level lounge feature elevated views of the Atlantic Ocean, along with signature cocktails, flavorable bites and a dedicated Club Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Ritz Miami Beach
Miami Beach Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing