We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Better than we expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deauville Beach Resort
Ranked #161 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

we came to the hotel and we met in the lobby some fellow finns. they told us, how disappointed they have been here. they told us, that room are ugly and in bad shape. I had also read some bad reviews at home after we had booked. We had the same impression.
Then we got our room for three nights. The room was exactly as in the pictures! We are satisfied!
Room is beautiful and we like the colors: grey, blue and cream!
The only thing that we would to have is a makeup mirror in the bathroom.

Room Tip: we asked for silent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tellek1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Guest Relations Manager at Deauville Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that you found our rooms to beautiful and comfortable . As you were able to experience, we’ve made many improvements to the hotel with many more improvements planned for the near future, certainly we consider your comments to keep making happy our guests, we welcomed to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    980
    914
    684
    972
See reviews for
1,402
1,153
194
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodside, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel feb 2013 - the staff was friendly, the hotel was in a great spot (with its on beach front) and surrounded by small business (restaurants, bars, pharmacies, etc). The lobby was nicely spaced and decently decorated. The room were mixed: in other words: the bed set up and main part of the room looked updated and was presented well, the entrance of the room however looked outdated... however, i must say that it was clean (big plus). The room has a iron, ironing board, a closet with goos space, but such closet was also where you found a mini-fridge, coffee maker, but no microwave. Some of the cleaning staff did not know whether or not the hotel had a gym, but it did (decent one too), it also had a barbershop, laundry room (you must pay), internet cafe, restaurant, bars, and a nice pool, with a jacuzzi and bar, we also had FREE wifi access (big plus). The Deauville beach resort also had a few ballrooms for corporate events and seminars, dance events etc... I happened to be there for the World Salsa Summit, and everything was set up properly and for the most part drinking- water was available most of the night. I did think the it was overpriced, but if you are looking for all the amenities i mentioned above, and you are looking to share your room... i guess the pricing isnt so bad.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view! you do not want to see the pharmacy across the street :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Extorsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Guest Relations Manager at Deauville Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that overall you enjoyed your stay at our property. As you were able to experience, we’ve made many improvements to the hotel with many more improvements planned for the near future. Our rooms have been renovated with only a single floor left to do. We are retraining our staff to make them familiar with the entire property regardless of their department. Our large pool has been painted and repaired and looks spectacular. Our pool was an eyesore in the past and it has now been restored to its original beauty. We provide Wi-fi in all of our guest rooms and public areas and overall we’re continuously striving to improve. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to hosting your stay and your wonderful Salsa Summit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We took our daughter and her cousin to see a concert and had nothing but problems with the hotel. We couldn't check in until 4pm. There were lines at the elevator door and the bell boy almost ran us over so he could get into elevator before the guests. When we finally got up to our room we had some surprises awaiting our arrival. The toilet did not work and when i went to use the phone to call the front desk that didn't work either. I went to the front desk and explained this to them and they were very rude and said, "Sorry sir, we are at 99% capacity and we cannot do anything right now other then send up a repair man." They never fixed the toilet or phone and said they would waive the $20 resort fee; which was a joke. I mean i had to go down 10 floors to use the hotel bathroom. We ended up having to get a manager involved and they gave us an additional 20% off after an hour of complaining; however, i am still not happy and would NEVER return to this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Guest Relations Manager at Deauville Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us this time around. It is correct, our hotel was entirely full with several large groups in house. This does put additional demands on our elevators and facilities which tend to slow things down. We did offer you compensation for your inconvenience and once we had a room available, we were able to change your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

What ever you do don't book a standard room. The photos they show are of the most expensive rooms. This is a big hotel which is quite old. Some of the rooms have been renovated and some have not. My travel agent booked me a standard room and it was disgusting. The carpet was stained, it smelled musty, the paint was pealing, it was bare minimum furniture and very old. My view was of a filthy roof top. Two of the elevators did not work. The pool was closed for repair and staff were uninterested in helping. I had to upgrade to get a decent room to stay the night. It is not the greatest neighborhood. A $40 cab ride from the airport and another $40 to the pier. I would have been better to use that $80 and stayed a better hotel with a shuttle service. If you want a beach then book their best room and you'll be okay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Guest Relations Manager at Deauville Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We regret to hear that you were not able to fully enjoy our property. Our pool was undergoing renovations during the week of your stay. We painted and completely refurbished our pool and it has been filled and looks great. Our rooms have been renovated with the exception of several of our standard units. We offer these un-renovated units at deeply discounted rates and always offer our guests the option for an upgrade to our superior standard units, if available, when our guests are checking in. We invite you to stay with us again and experience our new rooms and newly improved facilities. We would like to offer you a significant discount so that you can have a fully enjoyable experience with us. Please contact me and provide me with your details so that I may be able to take care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were wondering how it was going to be here after reading several negative reviews. We were pleasantly surprised and not disappointed. The accomodations here are comfortable and clean. We had a nice view from our (standard) room and I really liked the walk-in closet. I saw no hours posted anywhere for the fitness center though. The pool area was very nice and in general there are plenty of places to sit. Of course the beach is so convenient and inviting. We both agreed we would definitely stay here again.
One glitch was with the concierge. We had made a reservation with a deposit for a taxi to take us to the airport. It was not there at the requested time. When we came down then they called for it and said it would be 10 mintues. Why make a reservation then? When the transportation did finally arrive, we found out there were other people going with us. If we would have known that was the case, we could have just taken the airport shuttle then.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Guest Relations Manager at Deauville Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your review. Our new rooms look great and now that our pool has been completely painted and restored, this will all greatly enhance our property and our guest’s overall vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

To the staff of the Deauville: I just wanted to say thank you very much for a job well done. You made my life very easy this week...which I am extremely grateful for. Everyone in my group was very impressed by the food and the service. Yahaira, Gabriel and Aramis (the bartender at the pool in the evenings) were especially fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Guest Relations Manager at Deauville Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We are delighted to hear that your corporate group was a success. I will pass along your comments to our entire staff and congratulate them for their diligence and hard work.
We are especially glad to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful facilities and newly renovated rooms and hope to host your next meeting and group in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband surprised me with a weekend get a way for our anniversary. Upon checking in we were given a room that we were not satisfied with. I called the front desk to complain about it and in a matter of minutes Claudio (Customer Service Manager) was knocking on our door. He gave us a tour of a better room and we were given the option to either stay where we were or change to the other room. He was very professional and attentive to our needs. Our room was great! The view was amazing! The beach breath taking. It was a wonderful weekend. I am so looking forward to returning. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivette188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Guest Relations Manager at Deauville Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our property. As you can see, our rooms are in the final stages of renovations so we were fortunate enough to offer you one of our available renovated rooms. I am also glad that you loved our location and views. We are blessed with over 700 linear feet of white sandy beach and breathtaking ocean views that our guests can thoroughly enjoy… and we are happy you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Collins Hotel
#106 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#81 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deauville Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deauville Beach Resort

Property: Deauville Beach Resort
Address: 6701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141-3242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#104 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deauville Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in pop culture history; Deauville Beach Resort is not only a present day getaway favorite, it is also historically an all-star Hollywood destination. Its most historic moment came in 1964 when Ed Sullivan brought his celebrated "Really Big Show" to the hotel's Napoleon Ballroom featuring what was to become one of the biggest music groups in history --The Beatles. Deauville Beach Resort's history of glitz and glamour has been long in the making before the memorable 1964 presence of The Beatles. The hotel was a favorite of the 1950's and 60's stars such as Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jr., Dean Martin, Joey Bishop and Tony Bennett, to just name a few. They were attracted to the Deauville for both: professional and personal reasons. Holding packed-house performances at the famed Napoleon Ballroom and at the same time enjoying one of America's finest beach destinations. In 1957, the Deauville Beach Resort was reconstructed following the MiMo architecture aesthetics. It received the "Hotel of the Year" award and gave rise to the jewel it is today. Its doors reopened to a fully booked season of glamour, which set forth the coming of a new era for the Deauville. One of the jet-setting events at the hotel and Miami Beach's history was the creation of the "Cavalcade of Stars" show in 1959. Created by hotelier Morris Lansburg, guests from various neighboring hotels were transported to the Deauville for an unforgettable evening of all-star entertainment. Some of the world's most loved stars performed in the Napoleon Ballroom during these so called "rolling parties." Stars featured in the lineup included Red Buttons, Lonesome George Gobel, Judy Garland, Louis Armstrong, Sophie Tucker, The Ritz Brothers, Connie Francis and Tony Bennett. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Deauville Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deauville Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Deauville Beach Miami
Deauville Hotel Miami
The Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing