We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deauville Beach Resort
Ranked #172 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Not a good choice.”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Recently stayed at the hotel for a conderence, sohad no choice.

I DO NOT recommend this hotel.

Upon arrival your only parking option is valet and it's $20 per day upfront directly to the valet it can't be placed on your hotel bill. Also it's recommended you give them 30 minutes to an hour to get your car around.

The front desk workers where scattered at best. You would have a line of people and they would all be helping one person or to busy counting there tip money.

The hotel charges a daily fee if $15 on tip of your room rate for use of wifi (only good connection in limited areas), lounges at Pool & Beach, gym, etc.

The resort is old and while they do keep it clean it just feels old, run down and dingy. The hallways are long painted in grey with no pictures.

The room was basic. I had an ocean front view (gorgeous) but the carpet was old and pulled up. The bathroom was dark, paint pealing, cheap bath products (thank goodness for walgreens across the street). They don't provide wash clothes! My room did have a flat screen TV but the color was off.

A few other general observations:

Wifi best near rooms 07- 09, 24-26, 15-17

Elevator to the left was off by 1 floor so look at floor number when door opens.

Few nights smoke smell came into my room.

Hear next door neighbor tv - very thin walls.

Travel partner had no hot water until maintenance fixed the problem.

There is a business center but it's privately owned so you pay to use Internet and $1.00 per Page to print/fax.

It became a running joke from the conference attendees about how bad this place was.

The location was not ideal not much around at all.

For $160 a night would have expected at least 3.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmstewar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    1,046
    974
    731
    1,071
See reviews for
1,530
1,261
209
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

DON'T BE DECEIVED BY LOOKS! This place is a nightmare on COLLINS Ave. FREDDIE CRUGER WOULD RUN!!!!!!!! They don't give you bathclothes. My shower head had to be changed because of mold and mildew. The carpet stinks. Hotel stinks. Paint is chipping from the ceiling. The curtains in my room had mothball holes in them. The hangers came from Walmart. Get this, we had a banquet at the conference and they charged $2 for water. Mind you, rooms were close to $200 per night. How cheap is that????They ran out of food.We had to go across the street to eat.
If you stay here, bring Lysol and raid! A colleague took a shower and the knob fell off. Another couldn't get the door open to the balcony and called the maintenance man. He had to use a wrench to get the door open! This was the worst conference ever. The Motel 6 is better than this dump! The general meeting room had water damage on the sliding doors that divide the rooms. Must I really continue reliving this nightmare trying to convince you to never enter the gates of HELL at the DEAUVILLE? Oh one more, the mattress sagged!!!! You roll to the middle,

Room Tip: There are none!!!! Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drob17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is possibly the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Arrived at the hotel at 10.30 am thinking check-in would be around 11am, to be told that check-in was 4pm and if we wanted to check-in then it would be an extra $56. We decided to pay for the earlier check-in. Got up to our room on the 12th floor. Spent several minutes trying to open the door with our swipe card only to find that the room was already occupied by a woman who opened the door looking extremely nervous. Back down to reception. Wait for 15 minutes for them to find an unoccupied room. Back up to the 12th floor and our room. Room was extremely run down, smelt musty and very dark.
We were there for three nights and several times when we got back to our room the swipe card wouldn't open the door and we would have to go down to reception to have them re-configure the card. The Lobby of this hotel is very nice but the rooms are old and really delapidated.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Cool retro hotel -Very Miami - laid back vibe - kind of rat pack style lobby etc -overall fun

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueghiblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montes Claros, MG
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The hotel is old. The rooms are great but very old. The pool is bad conserved. You pay for all services, for to use pool, for to use beach chair, towel and umbrella. Parking is not in hotel and you pay very expensive a day, about U$20,00. Attendants are not sympathetic. Breakfast is payed separated, about US$ 11,00 per person a day. I have not stayed at this hotel again. I think that Miami have other good options.

Room Tip: request rooms to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eovieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed recently and were very pleased with our stay. Great room and loved the ocean view room we had. The people serving at the beach were efficient and very friendly. Would definitely return and recommend. Its convenient location included a Walgreens just across the street so we could buy some things anytime. Also nice restaurants walking distance. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erikam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Long gone the day where Deauville in its glorious moment, now everything is out of order. First the parking staff is unreceptive and slow. They don't seem to care and cars piling after cars. And when you want to get your car, it would take about 20-30 minutes. The receptionists are not friendly at all. The elevators are so old that some of the buttons don't light up. The room seems to be ok but then nothing works: the AC wouldn't stop, i have to unplug it; the hair dryer doesn't work. The TV is old and isn't illuminated well....Plus someone woke me up at 8am to sell me Calvin Klein underwear, i hung up and they call 3 more times....I regretted of saving a few bucks and let this hotel spoilt my vacation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BinhH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#98 of 208 in Miami Beach
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#117 of 208 in Miami Beach
281 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,104 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deauville Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deauville Beach Resort

Property: Deauville Beach Resort
Address: 6701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141-3242
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#110 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deauville Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in pop culture history; Deauville Beach Resort is not only a present day getaway favorite, it is also historically an all-star Hollywood destination. Its most historic moment came in 1964 when Ed Sullivan brought his celebrated "Really Big Show" to the hotel's Napoleon Ballroom featuring what was to become one of the biggest music groups in history --The Beatles. Deauville Beach Resort's history of glitz and glamour has been long in the making before the memorable 1964 presence of The Beatles. The hotel was a favorite of the 1950's and 60's stars such as Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jr., Dean Martin, Joey Bishop and Tony Bennett, to just name a few. They were attracted to the Deauville for both: professional and personal reasons. Holding packed-house performances at the famed Napoleon Ballroom and at the same time enjoying one of America's finest beach destinations. In 1957, the Deauville Beach Resort was reconstructed following the MiMo architecture aesthetics. It received the "Hotel of the Year" award and gave rise to the jewel it is today. Its doors reopened to a fully booked season of glamour, which set forth the coming of a new era for the Deauville. One of the jet-setting events at the hotel and Miami Beach's history was the creation of the "Cavalcade of Stars" show in 1959. Created by hotelier Morris Lansburg, guests from various neighboring hotels were transported to the Deauville for an unforgettable evening of all-star entertainment. Some of the world's most loved stars performed in the Napoleon Ballroom during these so called "rolling parties." Stars featured in the lineup included Red Buttons, Lonesome George Gobel, Judy Garland, Louis Armstrong, Sophie Tucker, The Ritz Brothers, Connie Francis and Tony Bennett. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Deauville Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deauville Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Deauville Beach Miami
Deauville Hotel Miami
The Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing