We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic French food”
Review of Pied a Terre

Pied a Terre
Reserve with OpenTable
Pied a Terre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 1,235 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cross Street 17th and James Ave.
Description: Located in the Cadet Hotel on 17th and James Ave. Pied A Terre has 11 tables seating 30 people plus outside seating available depending on the weather. We serve innovative Contemporary French cuisine in a fine dining setting. Our menu is always a reflection of seasonal ingredients and local products. We offer a 6 course tasting menu featuring our signature offerings. Our cuisine is always a work in progress and we strive to ensure there are always new and exciting dishes for our guests to sample. Our wine list is unique featuring unusual wines, Boutique wineries from different parts of the world. We also offer outdoor dining with two chef's tables to accommodate larger parties. Our 2 outside patios are perfect for private parties up to 80 guests. We can accommodate any dietary requirements.
Reviewed November 10, 2018

As soon as we sat down, the owner came to welcome. The wine selection was extraordinary. We decided to get a white french wine that the owner suggested and that was a great decision.
My husband and I decided to have the $39.99 pre-fix menu and that was a great value. I had the beet salad, the scallop with branzino and dessert. My husband had the same, but he opted for terrine, which is their specialty (the best we've had here). My salad was perfect, beets were delicious and the combination of the cheese and the beets was perfect. My fish was also delicious, the portions were not huge, but decent. Dessert was outstanding.
The owner was very nice and professional, making suggestions and making small conversation about France and its food.
We will definitely come back. Everything was first class about this restaurant.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SandraMiami_fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Pied a Terre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your visit and your comments.
For the French Week and Miami Spice we make a point to serve you the same quality and cuisine as on our regular menus around the year. For us it is a good way to introduce our guests to our restaurant at an unbeatable cost for our clients.
The regular menu offers every day consistency, creativity and value and the wine list is reasonably priced and offers very unusual wines from around the world.
Looking forward for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 667 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2018 via mobile

It was not just a meal, it was an experience. Impressive wine list. Fresh ingredients. Luxurious experience. Owner stopped by and was very helpful and knowledgeable concerning the menu. Beautiful restaurant a hidden gem I’m Cadet hotel. We loved our dining experience.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank 100martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

Pied à Terre is an oasis of fine French dining in the midst of otherwise edgy South Beach.

Located in the quaint 1941 Cadet Hotel one block off Collins at 17th St, that unexpectedly became the residence of newly graduated West Point Cadets under the command of Captain Clark Gable (Yes; that Clark Gable.) during WWII. There’s Gable memorabilia on display in the hotel’s lobby so pause on your way in or out to have a look. The hotel reception is very welcoming to pointing out the hotel’s collection.

Pied a Terre’s dining room is a few steps up from the lobby entrance. The dining room has subtle gray toned walls, white accent linen sheath curtains, various seating options from rattan chairs, a cozy corner banquette, an eclectic collection of small deco era ceiling fixtures, and vintage art with contemporary flair; all sets a tranquil, comforting space for the delicious food and wine that follows.

The menu items are GMO and antibiotic free sourced from points around the world. New Zealand lamb, Filet, Sweetbreads, Foie Gras from specialty farms in Canada, produce from pesticide free organic growers.

Wine Spectator noticed the commanding wine list with honors and these accolades stand on their merits.

Monsieur Douest, the proprietor, and his skilled team, pay close attention to every detail in the dining room that completes the staging for the delectables to follow. Starched linen, a proper set mise en place, appointments finely tuned, effortlessly set in motion.

We enjoyed a Sancerre and an Pinot Noir from Oregon, great suggestions by the host that paired well with our food; Sweetbreads with Chanterelles, Foie Gras, warm and cold, (There are 4 choices for foie gras préparations.) Beet and Chèvre Salad, Filet Mignon Périgourdine, Cod Fish with crispy Skin and Mushrooms. For dessert, a silky Lavender Crème Brûlée. The subtleties and side accompaniments, presentation, all sauced and flavored masterfully, were an unexpected and surprising experience for Miami Beach, or anywhere for that matter. Mes amis français, faites attention.

As a finicky traveler and long time Miami Beach resident who typically has no reservations pointing out dining shortcomings, I can honestly say I look forward to enjoying and recommending this dining experience on at least every one of their quarterly menu changes.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank AJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

In an obscure hotel hidden away on South Beach find this gem of a restaurant. Were I in Europe, it would have been SOP to walk into this scene but not in Miami where the big splashy decore seems to be the attractant at so many restaurants. This restaurant is very small as if dining in your home. When the first course rolls out you know you are somewhere special. Our table of three began with a sampling of foie gras prepared several different ways. It was excellent. My main was duck l’orange with candied peppers and creamed carrots. This was a unique presentation of wonderful flavors. I was told that the branzino was very good as well. We all shared a fluffy fondant for desert. The wine list is extensive and quite eclectic. Our waiter over-road my order for a bottle of Tattainger champagne telling me he had better. He produced a bottle of Paul-Etienne St. Germaine which blows the doors off my choice. Service was spot on which also is quite rare on Miami Beach as well as much of the mainland. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank ElJeffeMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Excellent French food ( we are French) and very good service.

Very nice and calm, without the fake? sparkles of the Beach

we will defintely go again.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tourist87228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pied a Terre also viewed

Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Pied a Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing