We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food is never inexpensive. This is amazingly great food!”
Review of Pied a Terre

Pied a Terre
Reserve with OpenTable
Pied a Terre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 1,090 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cross Street 17th and James Ave.
Description: Located in the Cadet Hotel on 17th and James Ave. Pied A Terre has 11 tables seating 30 people plus outside seating available depending on the weather. We serve innovative Contemporary French cuisine in a fine dining setting. Our menu is always a reflection of seasonal ingredients and local products. We offer a 6 course tasting menu featuring our signature offerings. Our cuisine is always a work in progress and we strive to ensure there are always new and exciting dishes for our guests to sample. Our wine list is unique featuring unusual wines, Boutique wineries from different parts of the world. We also offer outdoor dining with two chef's tables to accommodate larger parties. Our 2 outside patios are perfect for private parties up to 80 guests. We can accommodate any dietary requirements.
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food is never inexpensive. This is amazingly great food!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Good food can be inexpensive. Great food is NEVER cheap. Great food is what you will fine at Pied a Terre. Intimate dining. Hands down the best of the best for find dining French cooking regardless of the big name and "celebrity" chefs in town who never actually do squat in their restaurants personally. The food here is always with fresh ingredients and each dish is made completely from scratch. Attentive staff and very knowledgeable wine guy (Patrick). Make this your one best meal out while on vacation or for the local your special occasion or romantic night out. FYI: In the summer they have outdoor dining in a cute garden area and a champagne happy hour (real champagne). FYI2; For Bridezilla's they can put on small, tasteful, wedding events, with amazing food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrMcAnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    96
    33
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small but elegant”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were surprised to find it the location in such a small hotel and the restaurant was even smaller. Being as it was, the host was gracious and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the food and the service was decent. The wine selection was extensive. I would recommend it to anyone but since we have been there, we would try other places in town before returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorrieAMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoover1011
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dissappointed with Service.”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place was a tad bit stuffy for me. Super quiet. A waiter read the entire menu to us and described every item....nice but a bit of an overkill. It would not have been too bad but we had no drinks yet!! We asked for a glass of Champagne prior to the menu reading and we were told that they were out of that one but had another champagne that was good and they would bring a sampling for us to try. After 20 minutes we realize we were obviously forgotten so my husband ask another waiter for a cocktail...no word was ever said about the champagne. The cocktail did arrive, it was a ruby red infused vodka...very nice. Once finished, the empty cocktail glass and empty water bottle sat thru the next course of food and no one ask if we wanted more. We then asked for a wine menu, 10 minutes later we had to ask again.There was only 4 tables being served and 3 waiters taking care of all the tables. With that ratio you would have thought the service would have been outstanding. I think too many people with no assignment of direction, There was one table of two gentlemen who were known by the waiters who did get a lot of attention!! No complaints about the food, it was tasty and fresh and presented well. The bill was very pricey, we never mind spending good money when the service and food are work it. Don't think we'll return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank hooverd1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilma B, Owner at Pied a Terre, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are very sorry for this disappointing experience that is very unusual.
We encountered on this day some unique and unforeseeable circumstances that disturbed our usual quality of service.
We hope to see you again during a next trip to Miami and show you our real way of treating our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“World-class contemporary French cuisine in SoBe”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I am genuinely surprised to say that I had some of the best French cuisine ever in South Beach. Pied a terre serves exceptional food in an intimate and charming environment. We have dined in many wonderful restaurants but none compare to the 28-seat dining room of Pied a terre. The signature cocktail is wildly complicated from a Pernaud-coated martini glass to the final ingredient, a dollop of champagne, and the result is a smooth and complex drink. Their menu is changing so I won't go into too much detail (but the confit de canard was out of this world). Proprietor Patrick is a gracious host who manages the wine list with a keen concern for the best wine to complement your order. If you love South Beach for the weather, beach and architecture (and gyms) and love exceptional food then you must visit this gem.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“True GOURMET. Wow”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Tiny little gem of amazingly prepared food. It was a very quiet Thursday and we had the place to ourselves. The waiter discussed the menu and suggested the veal chop which was NOT what I was going to order. I'm usually a seafood guy, but this was thd best I ever are. Tender and cooked perfectly with a wild mushroom gravy that was amazing. My wife had rack of lamb equally perfect. My fois gras appy paired with a Pinot Gris was deeeelish as was my wife's vegetable tart. Very unusual dish that tasted great. Five star chef! Great!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreeholdDMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pied a Terre also viewed

 

Been to Pied a Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing