We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely a home away from home "Pied a Terre"”
Review of Pied a Terre

Pied a Terre
Reserve with OpenTable
Pied a Terre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 1,107 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cross Street 17th and James Ave.
Description: Located in the Cadet Hotel on 17th and James Ave. Pied A Terre has 11 tables seating 30 people plus outside seating available depending on the weather. We serve innovative Contemporary French cuisine in a fine dining setting. Our menu is always a reflection of seasonal ingredients and local products. We offer a 6 course tasting menu featuring our signature offerings. Our cuisine is always a work in progress and we strive to ensure there are always new and exciting dishes for our guests to sample. Our wine list is unique featuring unusual wines, Boutique wineries from different parts of the world. We also offer outdoor dining with two chef's tables to accommodate larger parties. Our 2 outside patios are perfect for private parties up to 80 guests. We can accommodate any dietary requirements.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

World Class restaurant. I have been lucky to have eaten in fine establishments all over the world and this is right up there with the best. When in Miami I will always go again. Patrick is a marvellous host with Sylvia a wonderful sidekick. Tonight's dinner was memorable!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 408 of 619 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great French food within walking distance of Lincoln Road.Great wine list and not expensive.Would have been a great night if not for the Russian group sitting behind and bumping into us after each below and slapping of the table ...

Thank cemre_birand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilma B, Owner at Pied a Terre, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thanks for your comments.
Our restaurant is usually very calm, but once in a while we can have a larger group a little more "vocal" and we don't have too much control over it...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We could not have been more impressed with Pied-a-Terre. What a find! Patrick and Sylvia were great. As soon as you enter, you are treated like a family member who has returned home from a long journey. The seating area is cozy and romantic, and the service is so gracious. Sylvia suggested I try the sea bass, which was cooked to perfection, while my husband's duck confit was delicious as well. Patrick's knowledge of wines is spectacular, and he helped us find wines that paired perfectly with our meals. Our desserts were splendid, and it was delightful to hear Sylvia and Patrick's playful banter regarding syrupy vs. non-syrupy dessert wines. Patrick chose two delicious dessert wines that proved non-syrupy and completed our meals perfectly.The restaurant is like a little piece of Europe in South Beach. What a gem!

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank modmodernist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilma B, Owner at Pied a Terre, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments.
Pied a Terre means in French "your home away from home" and our goal is to make you feel at home when visiting us....
Note. Our new visiting Chef just put together an amazing menu...You will have to try soon....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We visited this restaurant during our stay on Cadet Hotel on December. We had high expectations according the reviews here. We have eaten a lot on restaurants on Europe, too, so we are familiar with this "cuisine" and French kitchen. Also preparing food is our hobby.

Firstly they don't make this tasting menu, if the restaurant is quite full (so they explained). But our luck, they did not (it would have been bigger loss). As we had Foie gras (liver) and it was missing all flavors. Quinoa salad was ok. Then as main course we had Seabass, which had some good flavors, but those black olives we did not understand. Then Lamb rack was also good, but even that was something "normal in European restaurants". Cooking (e.g. medium) generally was great, but spices and such extras were missing.

We had wines they recommended, and few were ok with food and few too dry/mismatched (our opinion).

Service was at start good, but when we wondered why tasting menu is not available, they were a little bothered. Ofcourse it took time from us to adjust to new situation, to be able to pick up food from menu...usually we eat some menu on "highly ranked" (as Michelin) restaurants with recommended wines. And also for us it was not so easy to select wines for food as wine list was quite French specific (did not recognise so many wines there).

And the service was a bit angry after we told our opinion about the first course. As I think many people visiting there is not honest as we do. So, big disappointment compared the price we paid!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Minttu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilma B, Owner at Pied a Terre, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience. We try our best to make each visit of our guests memorable. We know that we will not please everybody, every day as hard we try to achieve. Taste is a very personal thing...
Once somebody felt the foie gras to be a too big portion..some may find the portions too small...

Our wine list is far from being focused on French wines only. It is true that we don't carry the usual wines you can find everywhere. Our goal is to give our guests an opportunity to discover something they don't know. We think this discovery is an important factor of the pleasure to dine out. Overwhelmingly, our guests agree with this philosophy and our staff is giving tastings regularly to make sure that the wines match the palates of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Excellent, fresh ingredients interestingly prepared and presented. Service was outstanding. Patrick is an excellent host and provided many great suggestions on both food and wine. The passion of the owner for her hotel and restaurant is evident in all of the details and her friendly visit to our table. Could not recommend more highly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank msd0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pied a Terre also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Pied a Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing