We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious!”
Review of Pied a Terre

Pied a Terre
Reserve with OpenTable
Pied a Terre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 1,097 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cross Street 17th and James Ave.
Description: Located in the Cadet Hotel on 17th and James Ave. Pied A Terre has 11 tables seating 30 people plus outside seating available depending on the weather. We serve innovative Contemporary French cuisine in a fine dining setting. Our menu is always a reflection of seasonal ingredients and local products. We offer a 6 course tasting menu featuring our signature offerings. Our cuisine is always a work in progress and we strive to ensure there are always new and exciting dishes for our guests to sample. Our wine list is unique featuring unusual wines, Boutique wineries from different parts of the world. We also offer outdoor dining with two chef's tables to accommodate larger parties. Our 2 outside patios are perfect for private parties up to 80 guests. We can accommodate any dietary requirements.
Vallabh Vidya Nagar
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We loved the delicious food at this French restaurant, and its Peruvian influences made it especially unique. It's a bit pricey, but justified, given the excellent, attentive and personalized service we got on top of the fantastic food. The portion sizes are reasonable, not huge, and they really know their wines well and can match them with the food. It was such an enjoyable and memorable meal - a great idea for a special occasion or a nice night out.

It's a small and cozy place, not trendy looking, and as another reviewer said "It's all about the food." It's located in the Cadet Hotel, which is a big plus for the hotel guests. Because we were guests, they squeezed us in without a reservation, but judging from the long line of people waiting outside when we left, it is definitely a good idea to reserve a table!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GajriKesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    96
    33
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best in Miami”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Pied a Terre is by far the beat restaurant in Miami. It is a great place for a special occasion or just a romantic dinner. After living in NYC for years, first class food has been somewhat difficult to find. Here expect first class service, immaculate wine, and delicious food. The seafood risotto is an absolute must.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dazzled and delighted”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I ate dinner @ Pied a Terre on Saturday evening. The maitre d'--Patrick-- is gracious, knowledgeable, and fun. He's a heckuva wine picker too. Sylvia is simply wonderful. The service--on all levels was superb. The food is really really good. Don't miss the foie gras appetizer and take advantage of the wine pairing with that one. For entrees we had seafood risotto and sea bass. Both were perfect. I'm guessing that anything they serve is going to be wonderful.

An already excellent evening got even better when we met the owner--Vilma Biaggi. We spent quite a bit of time with her and she is a wonderful, warm person who loves this little restaurant. She is a hands on operator--and the restaurant reflects her desire to make it feel like home...a place where friends gather to share a fine meal and a nice glass of wine. And if you ask her nicely, and you ask her enough times she will finally agree to play that lovely Steinway in the lobby--and she's a seriously good pianist. We were dazzled.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExpertSlacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy, delicious, top notch service”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Pied a Terre is a very cozy little restaurant in a small hotel. It's ideal for a romantic dinner, and the perfect place for food and wine lovers. Unlike so many places in SOBE, it is not a scene. The wine list is excellent and fairly priced (my husband, who is in the wine business, was in agreement on this point). We had a 2004 Cornas, a Neal Rosenthal Selection, for under $100. You'll be well served to listen to the recommendations of the small, professional, and seasoned wait staff. We were happy that our wonderful waiter steered my husband from his choice of beef filet (you can get steak anywhere!) to the sous vide rack of lamb. It was so good, I had to refrain from licking the rest of the sauce from his plate! Our waiter also suggested that we could get an appetizer portion of the scallops that were on the menu. Another excellent suggestion. For dessert, we split the lemon raspberry tart --- it was beautifully plated and ethereal. For the quality of food, the atmosphere and the professional staff, Pied a Terre offers exceptional value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Elegant dining at its best!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Patrick and Sylvia do a wonderful job recommending food options with wine pairings. My wife and I shared two outstanding appetizers, the ceviche and the quinoa salad. For entrees, we tried two of the signature offerings, the sea bass and the sea scallops. Both were outstanding. The sauce for the sea bass is fantastic- make sure you have plenty of bread. For dessert, we shared the lava cake, a perfect portion for two. The interior space is understated and elegant- like you are dining in a private home. Pied a Terre has two outdoor spaces that offer options for a private party or a very serene meal removed from the frenzy of Sobe. Valet parking is available half a block away on James Avenue.

Helpful?
1 Thank ChathamRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pied a Terre also viewed

 

Been to Pied a Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing