We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Italia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$299
EDITION
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$517
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Croydon(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$201
$168
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$428
$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$187
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$440
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
$211
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
$263
$230
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
599 results
Traveler rating
338
191
48
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
191
48
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean drivein south beachwashington avenuequiet streetshort blockssmall hotelcontinental breakfastbeach towelsyogurtnice perkdaily feeroom was largeexcellent locationvalet parkingpre cruisecouple of nightscomfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 599 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Villa Italia is not a boutique hotel by any stretch of imagination. It is a smallish motel-like property in a relatively nice part of Miami Beach. Plus points:

It's new
Rooms quite spacious
Quiet a/c
Good location
Pleasant staff
Parking (valet) cheaper than in other SoBe hotels

Alas, for me the negatives outweigh the positives:

Fittings, furniture, linens, toiletries are bottom of bargain bin (except for door locks)
Room carpets are already filthy. In general, cleaning staff have no idea of what they're doing.
Breakfast is a joke. It's just a coffee machine, stale bagels and some fruit.
Noisy. There's a nightclub nearby and bass from it is quite intrusive.
Beds are remarkably uncomfortable even by motel standards.

Overall, the main impressions of the hotel are cheapness and penny-pinching. If you want to stay in SoBe on a budget close to the main drag, then this place might be for you. If you expect a quiet boutique hotel, you will be very disappointed.

Please also note that most reviewers giving this hotel high marks only ever posted 1 review on Tripadvisor -- of Villa Italia. This smells a bit fishy to me.

Room Tip: not the ground floor
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank alexkorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgera, General Manager at Villa Italia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our hotel review on Tripadvisor.com website. As a BRAND NEW hotel that has only been operational for 3 months we greatly appreciate guest feedback. Your comments help us to improve so we may better meet, anticipate and exceed customer expectations.

I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your recent stay and wish you had expressed your issues to one of the member of the staff during your trip so that we could address your concerns. We could have certainly accommodated your request and moved you and your wife from our lower tier Standard King room to one of our more Deluxe rooms or Villas so you may have a quieter and more tranquil stay

All of our rooms are equipped with Serta premium plush double pillow top mattresses and both our towels and linens are manufactured by the T-Y group and part of their Glamour collection. I hope you enjoyed our complimentary Kimono Robes and slippers. Our other guest reviews on TripAdvisor.com particularly mention our mattress and bedding how they enjoyed a great night sleep.
When guests check-out, we send each guest a personalized thank you email with a link attached so they input their feedback on Tripadvisor.com as we had sent to you. We didn’t realize until you brought to our attention, how many guests we had successfully converted to become members of Tripadvisor’s vast community. We understand the importance of “Social Proofing” so a larger community of members can only benefit everyone.

Finally, we offer hotel guests a complimentary breakfast but we certainly don’t expect to supplement the quality of the many amazing breakfast/brunch venues in the vicinity of South Beach. South Beach is a mecca of a cultural melting pot, thus the restaurants located in South beach and particularly in Miami Beach’s SoFi (South of Fifth) neighborhood are some of the best in the country. We offer coffee, juice, milk, cereal, fruit, fresh bagels, pastries with an assortment of individual –size cream cheese, butter and fruit jams. Again, this is simply a convenient and FREE continental breakfast that is no way intended to supplement a 5-star catered and personalized breakfast from a top restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night at the Villa Italia, prior to moving in to the South Beach Marriott (which was full on our first night in South Beach).
We were thrilled with all aspects of the VI. Perferctly clean, comfortable, spacious romm (for SB), great location, wonderful family style service for evryone at the hotel, especially Michael and Patricia. Also, the continental breakfast was much better than the norm.

This section of Washington really feels like a local neighborhood.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat !!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Very new boutique hotel two blocks from from Ocean Drive and the beach. Attentive staff (we arrived at 3 am and were able to check in quickly and valet park our car). Rooms were cleaned thoroughly every day; the chocolate mints left on the pillows are a nice touch. Walking distance to beach, most clubs, restaurants and other attractions on south beach. CVS conveniently located one block away. Downside: no pool and breakfast (although free coffee and bagels available in the office). All round great experience. Highly recommended and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nimsay25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Just by luck we dropped on this hotel whilst driving around. We had no previous experience or recommendations for the hotel. Brilliant hotel would consider adjusting vacation dates if this hotel could not accomadate us in future. Our original intention was to use Miami as a one night stop over on our way to the Keys but liked it so much we stayed a second night

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulwhite03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Good clean room. Very friendly staff. Good location. Walk to the beach and shops...

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank North1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews