We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ugliest Rooms.....ever!!!”
Review of Soho Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Soho Beach House
Ranked #99 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I started off in one of the 'green rooms' which was probably the worst hotel room I've ever seen, dark, depressing ....I mean really depressing !!! There's absolutely NO lighting and the bulbs are 10watt I believe.
I quickly upgraded to a better room ( that wasn't green) with a sea view and balcony. Although it was better the lights were still dim and I got the engineer to smuggle me 2 brighter bulbs ....oh and the engineers became my friends as ..nothing worked!!!
The phone was faulty, the bar area with kettle, fridge etc did not work at all and the kettle was hardwired so could not be replaced.
The lights in the bathroom kept flickering on and off, I think all in all electrics were faulty.
The curtains had massive stains on them or maybe fade marks but looked atrocious, the balcony was fllthy and all the pots etc, chipped, I found quite a few things down the side of the outside sofa.. But no money unfortunately.
The restaurant Cecconis was excellent and the bar area too. The beach staff really welcoming and great service but I think the restaurant is the star of this show as it's patrons seem to get better service over the hotel guests. So a restaurant with rooms....?
The spa area was lovely and my massage was good.
If they refurbished the rooms I'd probably stay here a couple of times a year however I think the restaurant needs to be moved as you really feel like it's the most important part of the hotel, not the guests.
Also the management were a little stingy in compensating me for all the problems I had.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Salford66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 337 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

Spent three nights here one of which we had no running water or communication around it. No steam room (ceiling collapse)and no pool service due to team being sent home early on one day. Not all the bars open. When you pay a good nightly rate you expect all the facilities to be open and certainly for communication to be given around opening/ closing etc. Got a real feeling most team were to cool for school. All issues were discussed at the time and a nights stay was taken off the bill.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

You can come to eat (if you're hungry), drink (if it's a random Tuesday or full moon party), sleep(if your a tourist or celebrating) or roam (if you're a member). Point is- you should find a way to experience soho beach house.

I love the decorations- candles, nature, mismatched pottery and seats, books and oak shelves, random antique trinkets, all make it a special place on Miami beach.

Cecconis for brunch on Sundays is regal, well priced for the quality, service and ambiance. Recommendation- make a reservation, or wait an hr +. (Hint: pick up the phone and reserve- worth it).

Spa is also an amazing thing to try! Ask for the tattooed masseuse, amazing!

Regarding the other member details- all I can say is- great way to spend time brainstorming, socializing, laughing, drinking, eating, listening to music, tanning and even reading!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anabellepaulino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

this is my first time to soho House beach Miami; i was really impressed by the lobby, great design work, recreating the real experience of a private club.
The service at teh beach is very friendly and fast, it gets much packed also with no Soho House members, but it still keep a greta vibe!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svet_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was my second visit to the Soho Beach House. On my first stay, I was completely blown away by the level of detail in design and service so all of that surprise fed my excitement. This last visit, the newness has worn off, but the expereince was still excellent. The property attracts cool members and guests who feel worlds away from South Beach which is just a 2 minute drive, or 20 minute walk down the beach. The unique design blends art deco + modern + havana + typical soho ecclectic british club in an exerpeince unlike anyplace I've been. In some places the juxtaposition of design, in particular the wood paneled areas, feel a little out of place at the beach, but all elements of the property are really well thought out to lend a one of a kind experience. Beach service is a highlihgt on the striped soho lounge chairs, tasseled umbrellas and vintage coolers.

The rooms are all well appointed, with great touches like a full bar in even the smallest room, and a host of bath amenities that even the highest end 5-star hotels don't offer (4 kinds of body wash for example). The larger rooms, and the ocean facing rooms have even more amenities and much larger bathrooms, so if you plan on spending a lot of time in your room definitely pay up for those. Some of the smaller rooms face the side of the hotel with little to no view. Service is good, and the staff is friendly, although probably a little bit more casual than at a typical high end hotel.

The best part of this hotel and club is that it really is a destination experience. Even within the relatively small property, you can keep yourself entertained on property for days (i.e. rooftop concert series, yoga and bootcamp classes, private screenings, beach, Cecconi's restaurant, etc.) .

Room Tip: Beachside Room types (there are several categories) are the nicest, but also most expensive. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvanSK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The Soho Beach house is fantastic. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was amazing. There was one disappointment - we did not have hot water in our room for the shower or bath! The staff comp'd one of our meals in return, which was nice of them. However, it was very disappointing to not be able to use the amazing shower or bath tub in the the room. We were directed to use the spa showers, which were nice but not convenient at all. I hope that we get to return to the property at some point and get to enjoy all of the room's amenities. The hotel is great, and I assume this issue does not happen often but I had to mark less than satisfied for the "Condition or maintenance of the hotel" category accordingly.

Room Tip: Make sure the hotel is not going through a maintenance issue during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haus_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Loved our stay here was a good atmosphere with great people, maybe the service was not as good but then we where having so much it didn't affect us on the whole. We enjoyed the whole Miami experience and would come back to stay here again with friends and recommended it our friends to go here as well.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank TarleeSiam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
5.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami
0.6 mi away
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#8 of 212 in Miami Beach
744 reviews
1.1 mi away
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Miami Beach EDITION
The Miami Beach EDITION
#11 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,508 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Setai
The Setai
#36 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,106 reviews
5.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Beach House

Address: 4385 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#61 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Beach House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded by Soho House, a private club for the film and creative industries, this art-deco building on swanky beachside Collins Avenue in Miami Beach offers rooms to nonmembers. Luxe quarters, filled with antiques, have a retro 1950's or European style. They include free Wi-Fi and flat-screens, and some have terraces, soaking tubs and ocean views. Nonmembers agree to no photos or cell phones in common areas. The pool and beach have waiter service. Dining options include a rooftop taqueria and tequila bar, an elegant garden restaurant and an art-deco Cuban coffee bar with cigars. There's also a full-service spa, a gym and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soho Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Beach House Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing