We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A great venue away from the bustle of South Beach, but close enough...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soho Beach House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Soho Beach House
Ranked #84 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great venue away from the bustle of South Beach, but close enough...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Spent 5 nights here in Nov 2012, and overall enjoyed the experience, in particular the beach and the service received there. That said, as this is a members club there are times we felt like outsiders as a lot of staff are very friendly, at times over friendly with the regular members.
The rooms are great, ours was road side and I was concerned the traffic noise maybe an issue, this didn't turn out to be the case. The beds are comfortable, the mini bar amazing and the bathroom with cowshed products a throughly wonderful experience.
We took in brunch on Sunday in Ciccone's which is excellent value, and the selection and quality of food to the standard you'd expect, booking in advance is advisable.
The cinema room had a great atmosphere and we enjoyed 'Skyfall' which had only just been released.
The location is good if you want to avoid the noise and bustle of South Beach, and as we're from London and used to getting around on public transport to was great to have a regular bus service, line 'S', that operates regularly to Downtown Miami via Lincoln Road making ideal for exploring during the day and out to South Beach nightlife. Stops are within walking distance of the hotel.
The main disappointment was the roof bar, which never seemed to be open, but it looked like it would have been fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a16711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    47
    20
    10
    10
See reviews for
35
131
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Soho Beach House could be a service example in the hospitality industry. We would like to emphasize that the young and tall front office manager, Romain I believe, gave us excellent advices concerning the places to visit and made our stay memorable. We will come back to the Soho not only for its unique atmosphere but also for the staff who makes this place a dream home.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ileanaclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohobeachhouse1, Marketing Manager at Soho Beach House, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hello,

Hope this email finds you well. I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your kind review. I am glad to hear the overall positive feedback and will make sure to share your comments with Romain. We hope to have you stay with us once again real soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for anything you may need in the future.

Wishing you a wonderful Holiday Season,

Lilaj
lilaj@sohobeachhouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Quite difficult to locate at night as hotel signage is non existent on side walk and driveway is set in from road in a corner spot. I am sure that a lot of comments have been made about the style of the hotel and its furnishing but I suppose if you were being kind you could say shabby chic. The floor tiling throughout the property is either reclaimed, original 30s or repro but whatever the case looks dreadful and in places is nothing other than unattractive as stains are everywhere perhaps never sealed but you never know if that is new stain or old. The furniture in the rooms is a mish mash and honestly some of it not at all chic except in a dumpster. Comfortable beds with 9 pillows non of which were suitable. A bath in the bedroom, v trendy but pretty horrid if you want to have friends in for a drinks after bath time with damp towels and footprints. Bath was in the window so a great theatre like performance is needed with the blinds to stop frightening other guests. Great shower. Generous allocation of towels and toiletries. Promised morning paper never arrived any of three mornings. Noisy bar that keeps people awake but thoughtfully earplugs are included! Safe not fixed to bottom of wardrobe. No drawers for clothes storage. Good size room and fairly well insulated from adjoining rooms though double glazing is defeated by the noisy bar. The front of house staff are really below par. This is the case for the people on the door who stand around chatting and make guests stand in the street and hail their own cab. Upon return one evening the doorman was slouched across his desk and didn't even approach the taxi to open door and dropped his head back onto the desk as we walked into hotel. The receptionists, and I mean all of them, and I encountered a few over a weekend are obstructive, surly and should not be in the service industry. The staff around the pool on the other hand were super friendly and efficient and did their job perfectly. Cecconis is okay, pretty environment but trading on glory achieved elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PUTNEYBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohobeachhouse1, Marketing Manager at Soho Beach House, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hello,

Hope this email finds you well. I wanted to take a moment to recognize your review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to read your observation on the staff's overall attitude. We will make sure to share this with the team and use your experience to help us grow and improve.

We do hope to have you stay with us again in the near future as I am confident it will be greatly enjoyed. Please contact me directly for any bookings; we would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade.

Wishing you a wonderful Holiday Season,

Lilaj
lilaj@sohobeachhouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We chose this hotel for a girls trip Oct 2012. The rooms and decor are every bit as fun as the other Soho House locations. The lobby and Ciccone's restaurant are very colonial style and breezy, bedrooms are funky/utilitarian, and the roof bar is a kind of Mexico/Miami chic.
Food in the hotel was fabulous. Brunch on the weekend is unmissable, and the profiteroles on the lunch/dinner menu were to die for.
The Cowshed spa was also a highlight w/ friendly stylists. A pedicure there was a real treat!
Generally tho service in the hotel was bordering on rude, and was certainly laden w/ a lot of attitude that workers seemed to be doing the guests a favor… we had to get our own towels for the pool beds more than once, and waited an age for drinks.
The hotel is beautiful and we had a great weekend. Am not sure whether on principle I would go back and spend money to stay there again much as I loved the space. I understand a desire to keep things feeling exclusive and cool hence an aloof attitude from staff. Others might just call this bad service...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amysak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohobeachhouse1, Marketing Manager at Soho Beach House, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hello,

Hope this email finds you well. I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your kind review. I am glad to hear the overall positive feedback but I do regret your observation on the staff's attitude. I will make sure to share this with the team and use your experience to help us grow and improve. We do hope to have you stay with us again in the near future as I am confident it will be greatly enjoyed. Please contact me directly for any bookings; we would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade.

Wishing you a wonderful Holiday Season,

Lilaj
lilaj@sohobeachhouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our second trip to Soho Beach House. We had gotten a deal on jetsetter for a smaller room, but decided to upgrade to a beachfront room when we got to the property. The rooms are spectacular. I'm a bit biased, because I tend to judge hotel rooms by the bathrooms, and the bathrooms at Soho Beach House are fantastic. Because we had upgraded, our bathroom had a large soaking tub, separate from the amazing rainfall shower. Signature cowshed bath products are complimentary, and they provide you with (almost) all of the toiletries you'd need--toothpaste, shaving kit, mouthwash. (I say almost, since I forgot my contact lens solution and when I called down to the front desk, they didn't have any, but other than that, it seemed like they had everything covered!). We love that the Soho Beach House is really a private club. When you're staying there, you have access to the club events (like private screenings). We were there during a complimentary champagne tasting event at the penthouse given by Nicolas Feuillatte Champagne, which was great fun. The service is fantastic at Soho Beach House. We frequented their members only bar and felt like we got to know the bartenders during our short stay--the drinks are fantastic. Service on the beach is exceptional. Although it was quite crowded on the beach while we were there on the weekend, the service is still very good. Lounge chairs and umbrellas may be standard at any resort, but there is also an ice chest filled with water at each pair of lounge chairs, and they bring you fresh fruit intermittently through the day. We also went to the signature Cowshed spa, which is a wonderful little spa. However, I'd recommend staying away from the deep tissue massage as I felt more sore after my massage than before! Overall, my husband and I love this place--we'll definitely be back again.

Room Tip: it's worth it to pay more to get a slightly bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelrabbit2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohobeachhouse1, Public Relations Manager at Soho Beach House, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hello there,

A simple thank you for your generous review on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you at the Beach House in the near future.

Lilaj
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had to overnight in Miami on my way to the Caribbean, so at first I just looked for airport hotels, then I thought I am on holiday, I want the beach.

Lincoln road is very close and was the highlight of my visit.

The hotels is very clean nice and easy to be in. I only spoent one night so cannot sya more than it was a great experience.

Wonderful sea views on the upper floors. Wow.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank FlemmingRockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohobeachhouse1, Marketing Manager at Soho Beach House, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hello there,

A simple thank you for your generous review on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you at the Beach House in the near future.

Lilaj
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you like a laid back hotel where you can relax and chill out then this is the place for you. It isn't cheap but to get away from the large crowds and brash hotels futher down the beach, it is worth it.

The rooms are large and well equipped, although only a few have outside space. Food and drinks of a high quality and in my opinion it has one of the best spots on the beach. It does get very crowded at weekends when members come down to the beach so you need to be on your sunbed early.

As others have commented the service was not alwasy perfect, but they are working on it and it did not detract from a wonderful stay.

Cowshed spa feels like it has come straight from Babington House (where it orginates from). All very English and the treatments were wonderful.

The One While Changing drinks trolley in the evening is a must. Great hotel with some briliant touches.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#101 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#14 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Beach House

Property: Soho Beach House
Address: 4385 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3212
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Hotel Class:4 star — Soho Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soho Beach House is a private members club, hotel and spa located on the historic site of the Sovereign Hotel.The site has been entirely redesigned and expanded to include a 16-story oceanfront tower. Overlooking the ocean, the house includes 50 bedrooms, a private beach, an expansive Cowshed Spa spa and gym. There are two pools, indoor and outdoor dining, secluded gardens, a screening room and our signature restaurant Cecconi’s open to the public. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Soho Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Beach House Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing