We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Soho Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Soho Beach House
Ranked #90 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

The local and property where very very nice. We stayed there for a wedding and the whole place was booked and run around this wedding. The beach and access to the beach are great, the rooms are amazing. The decor is amazing.
The staff was the only thing holding this back from being 5/5. For the price (~450/night incl taxes) I would have expected the staff to be overwhelming you with service. In the 8th floor plunge and pool bar area the bartenders/staff seemed to feel unwelcoming and almost made you feel you were bothering them ordering food or asking for the shade to be rolled down around some of the tables. Also getting an ironing board / iron was an adventure and we usually waited literally until we had both (yes they did not come together!). I think some of this can be attributed to the fact it's a members club too and perhaps the staff was not used to the types of tenants/requests they were getting. The front desk staff and front door staff were amazing - evening refusing tips (is $5 an insult to them for waiving down a cab? lol)
Aside from the couple annoying staff experiences the gym/spa/facilities are amazing, the pool is beautiful and the view from the penthouse if you can get up there is spectacular.
Stay here if you can afford it.

Room Tip: Ocean side if you can - probably more expensive though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cozziad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    56
    21
    12
    10
See reviews for
39
136
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

The Beach House was great, Service and styling excellent and couldnt be faulted. My only constructive criticism would be around the room. I stayed on the 5th floor at the front and the room didnt feel comfortable. Dont get me wrong, the bed was great but the leisure areas were poor and you wouldnt want to spend more than sleep time in your room. A shame.

Room Tip: Make sure you opt if you can afford it a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonka100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

This hotel was exactly what we needed after a week long wedding party in Cancun for some R&R on the way back home to London. The hotel has everything you could think of: a cool private bar, a great restaurant, it's own beach with lots of great little touches there, a rooftop pool with cabanas, cinema, gorgeous shop, spa, gym, everything!
The staff are not the typically overly friendly american style staff but they were nice enough, especially the waiting staff in Cecconi's and AJ. Julian at reception was our first greeting point and if we'd have gone by his coldness we'd have left there and then, but we didn't, we stayed and we were glad that we did.
Great hotel, it's next door the well known Fountain Bleu which we ate at a few times but it very vegasy and it was a welcome relief to return to the intimacy of the Soho House.
The rooms were great, especially the bathrooms and the beds. There aren't enough hooks infact any for your towels which was probably our only annoyance as you're forced to leave them hanging on doors once you've used them

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

After a long drive from Kissimee, Soho beach house is relatively easy to find down collins on the right hand side before the road bends left. I used google earth to have a ground view of its location prior to arrival and planned my route when going accross the main causeway.

After leaving the car with the attendants at the front, we checked in to the left of the entrance. Check-in was a breeze, with a very helpful and friendly front desk clerk (Julien - apologies for spelling). Our suitcases were taken up to the 7th floor as we were staying in an Ocean-view 3 room and on a great deal from VHIP which also included continental breakfast (Thanks Tara).
The bedroom had a good view of the ocean and lots and lots of cowshed products to indulge yourself with in the large shower room.

There is a seperate WC, twin sinks, a stand alone bath and the shower room. The front part of the room has a large double bed, writing desk, chairs, mini-bar and a huge TV.

On our 4 night stay we ate mostly at the club bar which is a great relaxing area and has the same food as the house restaurant. The restaurant has members and public, whilst the club-bar is for members and is just as good in my opinion. The bar-pool is on the 8th floor and pool area only really gets busy on a sat/sun, where after a morning on the beach in the most comfortable of lounger chairs with really thick `mattresses`, people work there way upstairs. There are 4 poster "beds" upstairs on the deck and you can get a sun-shade to go over the top if it gets too hot. I did see a bit of bed-reservation on my stay, where some come upstairs get a towel and leave a book and then go away for 3-4 hours. Nevermind!!!
The beach is just accross the boardwalk and the attendants for the beach house are in a hut to the left. they will set you up with a brolly, cool box, fruit and a small watering can to get the sand off your toes.

The house restaurant - Cecconi`s - is quite reasonable, with lots of sparkly lights around the trees setting the mood for the evening although the heavens did open with a monsoon on the night we dined there. We were dry but the poor staff got soaked. The food was good as well as the service. There is a mandatory service charge of 18% on food and drink as well as tax of about 9%, but saying that I felt the prices were very reasonable for the location.

You also have a great gym with runners/cycles/ machines and free weights, this is on the 3rd floor by the changing rooms. As we were on a late flight we checked out at midday and left our bags at the froont desk, then made full use of the facilities and splendid changing rooms prior to our departure.

My tip to any holidaymakers is to ditch the rental car as soon as you arrive as there is a $35 per night parking charge. We had planned to go to the keys during our 4 days, but I was having too much of a relaxing time to drive and spent $140 for the car to sit around!! As I found out whilst taking a stroll one evening, there is an Alamo on collins about 2 blocks south, so if you need a car then get if from there as and when. Also, be aware of the un-barriered Toll road heading south from the Miami area to the Keys on the main highway, our rental company didn't inform us (we checked-in on-line) and I am expecting a bill in the coming weeks!!!!

We had a great stay here, as we were ready to chill and relax and you certainly can do it here. The stafff are friendly, the grounds are well kept, the rooms are clean and tidy (the air con in rm 34 was a bit weak though) and with our VHIP deal it was excellent value for money. It certainly is a members club area and the ambience/ service is certainly different to any hotel. I would definitely stay here again if/when in Miami.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor Ocean View 3 room if staying 4+ days as a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neile7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

The Soho Beach House people are true hosts - they have created a gorgeous venue that is very much high design style yet is still incredibly comfortable to visit and hang out - whether you have beach shorts on or a suit. Rooms are incedible, each one uniquly designed, food is excellent and service is generally very good (but always friendly and fun). Its a little expensive, but the value is still there. There are so many areas of the club/hotel to enjoy you can move from one to the other as the day goes on and/or you mood changes.

Room Tip: ocean side with a big terrace to eat room service on or have friends over. they bring the bar cart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 895462985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

I had an amazing time at The Soho Beach House in Miami. I stayed there for three days and literally did not leave the property once. Every experience exceeded my expectations: service on the beach was courteous and prompt, the rooftop deck and bar was a great place to spend an afternoon and the gym (usually a deal breaker for me) was well stocked with equiptment and had beautiful ocean views. The food in the restaurants was great. Definitely would go back...

Room Tip: Request ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

This weekend experience was one of the most incredible experiences I have ever had in all my years of international travel.The Cowshed is superb,and the detail and quality of the rooms is as unsurpassed. The private beach with full restaurant service is perfect for lounging in the morning sun...and then the Rooftop pool and cabanas is the perfect way to ease into the afternoon with a mild breeze and incredible ocean views.

The SohoBeach House is one of the best Hotel experiences I have had in the United States and also globally.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
The Miami Beach EDITION
#15 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#6 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Setai
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Beach House

Property: Soho Beach House
Address: 4385 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3212
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Beach House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soho Beach House is a private members club, hotel and spa located on the historic site of the Sovereign Hotel.The site has been entirely redesigned and expanded to include a 16-story oceanfront tower. Overlooking the ocean, the house includes 50 bedrooms, a private beach, an expansive Cowshed Spa spa and gym. There are two pools, indoor and outdoor dining, secluded gardens, a screening room and our signature restaurant Cecconi’s open to the public. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soho Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Beach House Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing