We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but poor service”
Review of Soho Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Soho Beach House
Ranked #106 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Soho Beach is a great location with really nice, relaxed feel to it. I had a Bayview room which was plenty big enough with a great bar, good comfy bed and large shower. Unlike some of the other reviews I found housekeeping to be fine however I agree with other reviews in that restaurant and bar staff were at times, almost abscent.
Cecconis restaurant offered a great menu and the portion sizes were European and not American however, on more then one occasion I had to leave my table to get a memeber of the waiting staff to come over. Apart from that I found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Would i go back ? Yes and i'm sure that service will improve.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulDeputyGM, Deputy General Manager at Soho Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

Dear Fdip,
I sincerely apologize for not being to able to deliver the world class service I know we're capable of. Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent visit. It is very important to me. I have already shared your feedback with the entire Food and Beverage Leadership team and service staff. We will update our service criteria to avoid any similar occurence.

If you do have an opportunity to return to Miami Beach please contact me personally so I may assist you with your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Soho Beach House.

My very best,
Paul E. Cardona
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 350 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2011

My 15 rear old daughter and I spent
3 nights here in March. Her dance team had performed in Disney and we came to the beach to recharge.
At the time I booked there were not any reviews on TA. I had read about it in a magazine and it caught my attention. We literally spent 3 days in paradise. It was our best trip yet. I loved the mid beach location. It was perfect! I reserved a beachside 2 room. It was very nice but it was directly over the outdoor restaurant. It was noisy the first night... The next morning we were moved to a beachside 1. We were given our key and we rode the elevator to the 38th floor. I had a feeling we were in for a treat. The suite was spectacular.Well, breathtaking actually. We never left the hotel grounds.. We loved the pool and beach. Service was good. We ate ar Cicconi"s our first night.
Loved it!!the other 2 nights I canceled reservations to stay in our suite and enjoy room service. I had friends over both nights and they were so impressed.
Yes. It is pricey, but worth every penny. Service great. Clean suite. Great food and drink...what more can you ask for on a vacation?? Security can be tight but thatvis a good thing. Oh, the spa was awesome too! If you like a small boutique hotel atmosphere with good food and drinks and you can afford to drop some money... Stay here! Worth it! I am a native Mami girl and know my way around Miami. You will love this place.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonigirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Soho beach house for me, is a great chilled location.
Great rooms (only if you stay in the tower). The older (cheaper) rooms aren't worth the money. Anything less than the "Beachside 3" will be a disappointment and at nearly $800 a night you'd really expect something special.

The rooms are wonderful. Great view - very cool. But the rooms weren't cleaned very well. Empty beer bottles were found behind curtains!!

However, the staff are simply dreadful. Well more importantly it's the managers that are the problem. I even took the manager aside at one point and complained about the general levels of service !

Soho House is a members only club. And really they should stick to being a club because they simply don't know how to run a hotel.

I should of known what to expect, when it took at least 2 emails to gain any response from the hotel prior to my visit.

On arrival the room we requested wasn't provided. Begrudgingly they moved us.
It really seemed that we were doing them a favour by spending our money at their hotel.

From bar staff to restaurants everyone seemed more interested in their own private staff conversations than god forbid serving their guests.

And don't get me wrong - we're far from being country bumpkins and wallflowers.
We regularly use Soho House clubs - but the management of Soho Beach Club has alot to learn about customer service.

We were pre warned about reserving your beach beds early - not a problem but I don't want to be beating the germans by reserving my bed with a towel at 5am !

All in all this hotel could be near perfect - but the staff and management to be rousted and replaced with people that know what guest that are paying $800 a night expect.

Room Tip: don't bother - stay at the Fort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jml911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

I am travelling with my husband, we are in room 41, really superb, ocean view, very big, complete bar and a huge choice of amenities...you don't need to bring them from home. The Cecconi restaurant is manage from a very simpatica Italian girl: food & pizza very tastefull and cooked " the italian way ". BUT, unfortunately there are 2 negative note: even if the price is high, they don't change sheet and pillow every day, the room is not very clean, the maid never put in order anything. WORSTE of all is to find a bed in the swimmming pool or on the beach and when you are so lucky to have one,be carefull, it can be " steal" under your eyes!!
I will recommend any way because the hotel is unique and with high profile's guests.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maison_Matilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulDeputyGM, Deputy General Manager at Soho Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2011

Dear Maison_M

I truly appreciate that you have taken the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay at Soho Beach House.
Please accept my sincere apologies for not being able to exceed your expectations. I have shared your note with the entire Housekeeping Department and will ensure that the proper procedures are implemented so a similar occurrence does not reoccur.
Soho Beach House values you as a guest and I look forward to welcoming you back. Please feel free to contact me personally so I may assist with your entire experience.

My very best,
Paul E. Cardona
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Corrado_Roma_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Mehmet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gourmet_GVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Setai
#4 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,152 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#12 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,666 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#5 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 214 in Miami Beach
383 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#9 of 214 in Miami Beach
827 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Beach House

Address: 4385 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3212
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#61 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Beach House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded by Soho House, a private club for the film and creative industries, this art-deco building on swanky beachside Collins Avenue in Miami Beach offers rooms to nonmembers. Luxe quarters, filled with antiques, have a retro 1950's or European style. They include free Wi-Fi and flat-screens, and some have terraces, soaking tubs and ocean views. Nonmembers agree to no photos or cell phones in common areas. The pool and beach have waiter service. Dining options include a rooftop taqueria and tequila bar, an elegant garden restaurant and an art-deco Cuban coffee bar with cigars. There's also a full-service spa, a gym and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Soho Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Beach House Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing