We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice simple place, reasonable prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tradewinds Apartment Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

After looking for a long time for hotels in South Beach, we came to the realization that anything under $150 per night in January was going to be horrific--bugs, nasty employees, noisy, etc. There seems to be a huge amount of terrible places in South Beach.
So with trepidation we booked the Tradewinds. Most reviews here have it right--it's a pretty nice place, more like an apartment than a hotel, with also less polished service than a hotel. At check-in our reservation had been lost ("computer crash"), and it took at least 30 minutes to get past that. We were assigned a second floor room on a courtyard, and it was spacious, with a full kitchen, and one nice thing was that it had a full sized refrigerator and stove/oven. We made hot breakfasts every morning, it was lovely.
On our first days there were three large towels, and six smaller towels. On the last 3 days (even after asking the security guy to tell the housekeepers) we got only the large towels. Also tried calling the front desk, and multiple times there was no answer. Pretty bad in terms of service. Also a surprise $15/day resort fee. Huh? Not much resort-y about this place.
Still, it's a great deal for the $138/night plus fees and taxes that we got it for via a travel agency website.
It's about a 20-minute walk to the center of South Beach, Lincoln Road, and also is very quiet. The air conditioners are amazingly LOUD but actually we liked that because it was white noise, we slept great. There was a fold-out couch in the living room, as well as a double bed in the bedroom.
WiFi worked great except for one day when it was out; of course no anwwer at the front desk.
Parking is tricky; you can pay $20/night to park in the lot/street next to the hotel; we managed to find street parking every time, but sometimes as many as 5-6 blocks away.
So, come here if you don't mind nonexistent service, don't mind paying the resort fees. Lovely rooms, nice place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcaulum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Good Afternoon jcaulum,

We would like to thank you for sharing your honest and extensive feedback with us! We are glad that you had a great time here at Tradewinds! We offer a beautiful spacious equipped apartment, in a lovely location, with great amenities to go with, at an unbeatable price. You can't beat it!!! The daily fee for $15 covers all of the amenities that our guests enjoy- R/T shuttle from MIA, complimentary cocktail hour at our sister hotels Riviera or Catalina, bike rentals, WiFi, etc. We hope that you would stay with us again when visiting Miami!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,601 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Our family and friends booked these rooms aug 2013 for a wedding. We blocked 11 rooms. We all arrived different times and days. Rooms were not ready. Front desk very rude. Didn't clean rooms. Bathrooms small. Tolet made noise all night. It's a good location.

Room Tip: Get things in writing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hello pat c,

We value all of our guests feedback and want to thank you for sharing yours! We are extremely sorry to read that you found our front desk agents to be rude. We take customer service very serious, so it pains us to read that you did not have a great experience on that end. I will make sure to inform the front desk manager about this. They will definitely bring it up in our next weekly staff meeting.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

There is a lot to be said about Miami life it is very different from here at home in Austin Texas. From the moment we landed at the airport we knew we had to buckle up and hang on tight because we were in for one crazy ride. Life in Miami is very fast pace and everyone is moving in warp speed. We were so grateful we choose to stay at tradewinds while we were there in south beach. We knew right away when we checked in that this was going to be our get away from our get away. I know that sounds funny so let me explain. We partied every night while there. There are so many restaurants and clubs to go to and every night is a new exciting experience. During the day going to the beach and walking into all the stores and restaurants your day slips by very quickly. But once you step foot back onto tradewinds property life seems to slow down and you can breathe normally. We absolutely loved sitting in the seating area outside our room and drinking coffee. Laying by the pool and just relaxing. The rooms were always very clean and we were very comfortable the entire stay. Let me just give a big thank you to the staff and management there. We were very pleased with the our stay and the kind treatment we received the entire time there. I can't wait to go back to Miami and we will be seeing you when we go back tradewinds!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Good Evening Tira H,

We would like to thank you for your feedback, regarding your recent stay at our property! When you come back from partying and enjoying town, Tradewinds definitely is a great spot to allow you to cool down and breathe. We are in a very quiet neighborhood and a bit further away from all the noise. Our staff is always hard at work, making sure that the grounds of the hotel are in order. Please come back to your new home away from home here in Miami! We would love to have you again!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I wanna specially take the time to thank paola who provided me with great service and guidance.
that was a wonderful experience, food was great and I like the location. near beaches and restaurant. I would do it all over again.

Room Tip: paola will guide you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCHALYVERRIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Good Evening TCHALYVERRIER,

There is nothing that we love to read more then lovely 5 star feedback! We are so glad to read that you had such a great time with us! I will definitely make sure that Paola is aware of your wonderful praise! She is great and all of our guests seem to think so as well. We hope that you make us your go-to hotel when visiting South Beach again!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My family and I stayed here for about 5 days. We had a very large group so many rooms were rented out by us. It has the potential to be really great. But it's not. Some of it has to do with poor management and the rest of the issues come from the property itself. The bathrooms are tiny and the shower heads are awful. The towels are strange sized. The sofa beds are extremely uncomfortable. Even the beds in the rooms are not that great. Housekeeping seems to come when they feel like it and clean what they feel like, but not everything. The parking is ridiculous. The lot is tiny and they love to ticket and tow cars. The pool area is ok, there is no hot tub though. Really loud swamp coolers in the rooms and the walls are paper thin. Walking anywhere but walgreens is also difficult if you want to bring groceries back to the room the closest grocery store is over a mile away. It's nice that they have a complimentary shuttle that runs from Miami airport every hour, except on Wednesdays when it runs every other hour.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meetmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Hello meetmaria,

We would like to thank you for the feedback that you recently shared with us! I am terribly sorry that your stay with us was not a 5 star one! I am sure you can understand that a pull out is never very comfortable sleep on as adult but typically is used when guests have children. We appreciate your feedback!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Our room at the Tradewinds had lots of space including a kitchen. It has a nice pool area, is close to beaches and in walking distance to Collins Ave and Ocean Blvd, the arteries of the Miami South Beach district. Parking in a lot across the street is $20.00 a day. There is a Walgreens around the corner where you can get some basic supplies for the kitchen. The management upon checking in was very vague on the charges, mistakenly referred to the parking as in a garage instead of a lot and left us confused about its location and how to get from there to our room. This is a large apartment complex and because of that it was difficult to identify it as the hotel, especially in that we arrived at night. Our bedroom was across from the area that staff congregates in before and during the work day and occasionally they had some loud conversations.

One tip is that there are car rental places on Collins. Had we known this, we would not have rented a car for 5 days on arrival at Fort Lauderdale. We could have instead done our Miami touring and then rented a rented car to go to Key West.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hello there suethe,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We offer a spacious apartment, that is stocked with everything you will need to make yourself feel at home. We are within walking distance to the beach and hot spots here on South Beach. I will make sure to inform the staff that they need to keep their conversations low, in the AM time as we have guests that are sleeping. Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Tradewinds for three days, and the first thing that stood out was the absence of in-house dining. Somehow we missed checking out on this aspect when we were booking. The saving grace was the fact that we were close to a couple of good breakfast places, but some days you just want to sleep in and order room service. Oh well.
The location though is good for a nice, relaxing, not-too-touristy stay. If you find yourself a good deal for this place, I'd say go for it, but rent a car!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ravikrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Good Afternoon Ravilkrish,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us! Unfortunately we do not offer a restaurant on our property. We are just blocks away from 2 sister properties that do offer great dining- Riviera Suites has Moreno's Cuba and The Catalina Hotel has Maxine's Bistro & Bar, and FUNG KU. We offer free transportation to those locations as well, on our lovely electric buggy. We are in a great residential neighborhood that is a bit further away from all the action. We hope that you would stay with us again though.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,674 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Collins Hotel
#100 of 212 in Miami Beach
983 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#90 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,759 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#29 of 212 in Miami Beach
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Apartment Hotel

Address: 2365 Pinetree Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range: $143 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These amazingly, fully furnished luxury accommodations offer immaculate design and the ultimate beach location. Designed for the long term traveler in mind, Tradewinds feature 160 luxuriously appointed one-bedroom and studio suites anxiously waiting to be your next home-away-from-home. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tradewinds Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing