We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place to stay....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tradewinds Apartment Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to stay....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in room 108, We had a great experience here, I cant wait to go back to South Beach and we will stay here again... Clean, Friendly staff and wonderful rooms. I have not 1 thing to complain about.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahZaengle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hello SarahZaengle,

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star feedback! We love to hear that our guests have had a great time while staying with us! We can't wait to have you stay with us again in the near future! I see that you were content with the cleanliness of our property as well as with our staff. Hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    495
    141
    48
    53
See reviews for
400
435
59
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed in room 706, spacious but not cleaned enough... Bugs were available 24 hr :) but service no ! There is not one restaurant very near by, there is no breakfast available in the area period ...and make sure you bring your coffee or tea with you. I did not have hot water for two days. The air conditioned it is so loud that in my 4 nights stay I slept 10 hr in total... Very, very noise. The beach is close enough from the hotel. I will not recommend it to any one. I hate it my stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikkky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Good Afternoon Nikkky,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us and all of our future guests! I am terribly sorry that you did not have an amazing time while staying with us! During this time of the year the critters do come out more and are looking for a cool place to stay. We advise all of our guests not to leave their windows or doors open as this is the only way for them to get in. We are located in a residential area just a few minutes from all the action. Within walking distance there are tons of restaurants, bars, etc. Our apartments provide you with everything you need to cook, make coffee/tea, and is like your home away from home. Unfortunately we do not provide you with food but everything is there for you to make your favorite home cooked meals and such. Though situations like yours are rare, it is something we must always be vigilant about as we continually try to enrich your stay with the best experience in South Beach.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Pros. The hotel is not in the center of Miami Beach, but close, in a residential area, which provides tranquility and, on the other hand, it's just a walk distance (10/15 minutes) to eat, shop and have fun. The front desk staff was great. We did some shopping online and had no difficulties with the receipt and custody of the products by the hotel. The hotel is for people who do not care to fend for themselves, and provides the basic features for it (fridge, microwave, stove, oven, cutlery, plates etc). Interestingly, there was no phone in the room.

Cons. The cleaning service could be better. The dishes were washed only one day during our stay and the floor deserved a good scrubbing. The pool is small for the hotel (160 rooms). Offers no food service, even optional breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudiofontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello claudiofontes,

Thank you so much for providing us with your honest feedback! I am extremely glad that you had a good time while staying with us. We are not in the center of South Beach, just a few blocks away from all the action. I am glad that you were able to experience the great service that our staff provide to you first hand! They are always looking out for our guests best interest, and want to make sure that everyone is enjoying themselves! We will gladly accept your packages and inform you when they have arrived as a courtesy for our guests. I will definitely make sure to inform the Director of Housekeeping your comment about the cleaning service and your feedback about it. Our pool is small for the amount of rooms that we have, but we do the best that we can with the space that we have. We hope that you would stay with us again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Coming to Miami and staying at this place was definitely the best choice I made. From the beginning it was clear the staff were friendly and here to help. The staff, specifically Susan & Paola, were VERY helpful, explained things VERY well when needed and found information for us when we could not. The facilities are amazing, a pool, free bike rental, as well as a free shuttle to and from the airport. As well centrally located close to shopping, the beach(a hop and skip away), as well as restaurants and even some attractions!
You cannot go wrong booking your stay with Tradewinds as you can be guaranteed great service from friendly staff who are here to help you! Overall, 10/10 for every aspect of this trip!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamCanada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Good Evening SamCanada1,

There is absolutely nothing that we love more then to see a positive review with 5 stars!!!! :) I am glad that you stayed with us and feel that it was the best choice, I feel that way too! :) Our staff is on top of everything and wants to make sure that every guest is enjoying themselves and having a good time with us. I will definitely make sure to inform all the mentioned staff about your kind praise! We do offer great amenities when you choose to stay with us such at the R/T shuttle, complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM at Riviera or Catalina- just to name a few. We are just a hop and a skip away from the main strip and all the action, yet far enough when you want your peace and quiet. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel from Hotwire. The rooms are spacious and contemporary. My complaint last year was that we were left with no towels after housekeeping came in and a funny smelling room. This year, the room smells fine, but again towels were an issue. They replaced bath towels but from the way they were hanging (thrown over the rack and crooked) didnt inspire much confidence thet they werent the same towels we had previously used and just taken off the floor and rehung. The hand towels or washcloths weren't replaced so good luck washing your face. Also coffee pot didn't work and no hotel coffee was provided.

These things obviously annoyed me but the real thing that inspired this post was waking up to a HUGE COCKROACH that ran like the wind. Nothing is worse than waking up and sleepily heading to the bathroom only to experience an unpleasant adrenaline rush and be left with the heebie jeebies....not to mention the fear of not knowing if you can safely go through your suitcase or if some critter managed to take cover in your bag.

We have 2 nights left here since we prepaid thru Hotwire...I'm scared to go back.....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 31Cass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Good Evening 31Cass,

Thank you so much for the time you took in providing us with your honest feedback! I am glad to read that you are loyal and returning guests. I will definitely make sure to inform the Director of Housekeeping your comment regarding the towels, and moving forward that this doesn't happen again. Were you able to inform us about the coffee pot not working? We would have definitely provided you with one that was working. We don't provide the rooms with coffee, since we are more of an apartment hotel that is something that the guest would bring themselves. I am extremely sorry to read about the critter that you experienced in your room. I will make sure that the General Manager is aware of this, so that she can find a solution so that this doesn't happen again. We do advise guests to leave their windows closed and their doors as well, as this is the only way for these guys to get in. We would hope that you would give us another chance in the future, considering that we are going to eliminate this issue and make sure that it doesn't occur again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Pro's:
- We got a free upgrade upon arrival from a Studio to a 1 Bedroom appartment.
- The staff at the front desk was nice (we only talked with them during checking in and out). They told us up front about a possible fee + that they would charge us 100 dollars on our card as a deposit. This we would get back after checking out if all was okay.
- The room was big and spacious.
- Daily cleaning was fine.

Con's:
- The pool area is quite small the number of rooms taken into consideration. There aren't that many deck chairs.
- We had cockroaches in the kitchen...

Stuff that would have been nice:
- Better explanation about amenities on website. We brought towells, but that wasn't needed. We didn't bring a dishcloth, but that was needed.
- A pool bar where you could buy snacks or something to drink.
- A sitting area connected to the appartment. There are areas next to the road, where you can sit and enjoy a drink at night (unless you live in one of the studios - they have a table and chairs available in front of the appartment).

All in all we enjoyed our stay, but we wouldn't go back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lennah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello Lennah,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours with us! I am very glad that we were able to accommodate you with a complimentary upgrade to a 1 Bedroom Apartment. We are always willing to do that if we have rooms that are available. :) I see that you were able to experience the service of our staff first hand. They are all great and all take their jobs very serious, and want to make sure that each and every guest is enjoying themselves. I am terribly sorry that you found a cockroach in the kitchen area. I will make sure to inform the Director of Housekeeping about this. I will also inform the General Manager about the lack of explanation when checking in. We have sitting areas all around the hotel. Perhaps there is not one right in front of your apartment, but there is definitely one close enough.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed here for 9 nights from 4th Sept - 14th Sept. I stayed here on my own and this was my first time visiting the USA. The apartments are really good and spacious (i had a 1bed apt room 702) and they were a good size. They were cleaned everyday and new towels supplied daily. Overall i can`t knock this place as the grounds were kept in tip-top condition and everything was clean. I did have 2 cockroaches scurrying across the living room floor, but thats not a deal breaker.
The apartments were well placed for the beach as this was just a short walk away.
As someones previous review mentioned, yes you can hear what everyone else is doing of a night time IE music playing, doors slamming, high heels walking across floors, ppl having sex etc etc, but this goes on in all hotels.
This place is a bit far away from the action and tbh, was quite a walk if you wanted to go and have breakfast or a meal of a night time down on the strip facing the sea. I think this place has missed out on a massive trick by not having a in-house restaurant or bar as being a single holidaymaker it would of been nice to have got to know some of the other ppl staying at the complex and a bar/restaurant would have acted as a good hub to meet other ppl staying here, also after a day at the beach it would of been nice to have come back and chilled with a few drinks after a day of frazzling in the sun, or if you fancied a quiet night without having to go in town then this would have been ideal.
The pool and lounge area is way too small per ratio/number of apartments and would get very busy quick so i use to chill on the beach everyday.
It would of been nice to have a private terrace or patio to have your first cuppa in the morning in the sun.
Also there is no changing/wash room to use/hire in the situation if your flight is late at night and you`ve checked out at midday then had to doss on the beach all day, it would of been a nice to clean up before your flight home and i would not of minded paying $5 or $10 to hire a bathroom to freshen up, instead of cramming myself in that postage box size toilet in the reception area to change.
Sorry guys but as nice and plush as these apartments are they`re just too far from the action for me and i can`t be doing with all that walking if i want to go out and have a damn good drink or some food. If this place had a bar/restaurant and bigger pool area then i`d definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top 1st floor, that way you don`t get all upstairs noises bouncing through the flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Good Afternoon Scott B,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your honest and extensive feedback! We feel honored that you chose to stay with us on your first trip to the US. I am terribly sorry to read about the critters that you found in your room. We are just a short walk away from the beach and from many other hot spots. We are a bit far from the main strip but we are indeed an apartment hotel. The majority of our guests staying with us are here long term, and make us there little home away from home. Unfortunately we don't have a restaurant or bar on site, but each of the apartments include a full kitchen with all the cooking and serving ware that you need. We appreciate your feedback!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,856 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#80 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 4,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,065 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#84 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Apartment Hotel

Property: Tradewinds Apartment Hotel
Address: 2365 Pinetree Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4610
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Bayshore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These amazingly, fully furnished luxury accommodations offer immaculate design and the ultimate beach location. Designed for the long term traveler in mind, Tradewinds feature 160 luxuriously appointed one-bedroom and studio suites anxiously waiting to be your next home-away-from-home. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tradewinds Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing