We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fabulous accommodation & service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tradewinds Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tradewinds Apartment Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived in south beach Miami with nowhere booked and came across trade winds. They can't do walk ins but Ricardo on the Front desk couldn't have been more helpful. He let us use the phone to book reservation with south beach bookings but on hold for so long he suggested we go to Starbucks to do it online and gave us a code to use. Worked perfectly and saved 70 dollars! He knew a lot about the area and also saved us from getting our car towed away as we just parked outside. (Apparently very quick to tow here if in wrong place) Rooms are lovely, spotlessly clean and spacious. Beach towels and bag provided free. Found a gem of a place and if Ricardo's Manager reads this, he deserves a bonus!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebailogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello thebailogs,

There is nothing that we love more then 5 star feedback from our guests. I am very glad to read that you were able to get a reservation with us. Ricardo is great and all of our guests absolutely love him! He is always up to date about what's going on in the area and knows about all the hot spots. Miami Beach is known for towing cars, so known that there is a show about it. I see that you were content with the rooms and the cleanliness of them. We hope to have you stay with us again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    512
    148
    49
    57
See reviews for
414
453
61
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I chose this hotel due to its location. This decision was probably the best decision I have ever made. I came here with a friend so it was two of us. The staff here are brilliant!!

Ricardo - Ricardo is one of the guys at the reception. This guy is so helpful beyond words. Being new to miami, he was able to give me directions on all the best places to go anywhere not to go. Always friendly and I believe that being always friendly can be a problem for some people but he made my holiday so much better. Even when there were problems, the level of customer service that he had is something that I have not experienced yet. His customer service skills are on a whole new level. He is a real asset to the hotel.

Omar - Omaris one of the security men during the evening. This guy is so awesome! Speaking to him was like speaking to one of my friends. He was also able to provide me with information on south beach and on miami as a whole. He even went that extra mile to print me off a couple of maps giving me directions to Malls and nice restaurants. If you stay here, have a chat with him. You may need to go to the reception at 4am but believe me, it is totally worth it.

Susan, Paola, John (I believe this is the nglish name) Sally were also all brilliant.

The hotel - The location of he hotel is just perfect. Literally around the corner, there is a 24 hour Wal Greens where you can practically get anything. Also, TreeHouse is just around the corner. Susprisingly, there isn't any noise in the evenings due to people coming from nights out. There are other hotels in south beach that are right next to clubs and the noise they get is bad. In the early hours of the morning there is total silence if you like that kinda thing. Getting around south beach is really easy thanks to Ricardo and Omar. you need to visit these guys. They are proper legends. Local buses, taxi's were the main form of transport. The hotel offers a free e cart service which can take you as far as the Chesterfield Hotel. The beach is also a 4 minute walk away. How do I know? I counted it. Brilliant location!

The room that my friend and I received was the single bedroom. I got the pull out bed and he got the bedroom. Surpringsly, there was so much room!! The rooms were cleaned everyday. There was nothing to complain about. The room had a fridge, freezer, two tv, microwave and oven. Basically there was a full kitchen. It was like being at home. For a hotel to make you feel at home is truly amazing.

As for the future, this hotel is like my second home, Ricardo and Omar are truly amazing. I can't stress that enough. If you stay here, speak to them about what to do in miami.

This is somewhere where I will 100% be coming back to.

Room Tip: 702 is where the party crew was at!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StreetTuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

okay ...here it goes !you goes are awesome !!!!great apartment !great service !great receptionists !!! all of them are so kind !About the resort fees that some of you complained about ...well dear tourists thats your fault because you have to ask yourselves about the resort fees when you book it at your travel agency YOU have to make sure how much you have to pay .We traveled for two weeks everything was wonderful !!!the receptionists informed us about the resort fees when we checked in but we already knew that the have extra charges !so dont blame it on them you wanna visit miami is gonna cost you alot it is not any other city its miami...and next time make sure you have a good travel agent !that is oing to be honest to you ...bottom line is THANK YOU tradewinds you made our vacation magic ;) u are the best !SEE YOU NEXT YEAR for sure ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ioannasalpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Tradewinds looks like a 1950s standard apartment block that has been turned into a hotel/aparthotel facility. Ours was a superior one bed apartment w double bedroom, bathroom and large kitchen dinner/living area. It was spacious and well appointed, the staff were helpful and pool fine. Location is at the top end of what can be called South Beach, but local buses meant we could move around easily.

Beware local building works on Collins and adjacent to Tradewinds. The aparthotel is also soulless - bar a tiny reception and the pool there is no hub, i.e. coffee area, bar etc. My only other gripe would be that the public areas were not cleaned as regularly or thoroughly as I would have liked.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hezz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Enjoyed the stay at this apart hotel. Basic and clean apartments and towels supplied at pool, staff very helpful too. The trees shaded a lot of the apartments but this was welcomed on extremely hot days. Beware of the payment of a resort fee charged at the hotel desk. No matter what the travel agent tells you, you will be charged it regardless. I was charged $118 for one week for 2 adults.

Room Tip: If you want to get the sun on the balcony, request a room that is not surrounded by trees..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0lidaysunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The apartment is really good, we particularly loved the kitchen which was full of every possible stuff we could need: a huge fridge, oven, and so on.
The bedroom is big too and is nice, the bathroom is on the small side but is ok.
Though it's not really in the very middle of SoBe I would say the position is good overall since you can get there with a 15min walk or you can get a bike for free at the front desk (which we didn't since you have to return them before 6pm, way too early for our needs - they should consider changing it to at least 7 or 8pm).
What disappointed us the most was the service: when we booked we asked for a shuttle to pick us up at the airport (a free service they offer), but we weren't told anything and when we tried to call the front desk (and we tried many times) no one was answering.
When we finally arrived (a $35, plus tip, taxi ride) and KINDLY explained the problem at the front desk the guy who was there was very rude and presumptuous and he seemed to care nothing about us.
Apart from that, we stayed at Tradewinds for a week and we really enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArmandoLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

A wonderful team, special thanks to Susan, Carlos, Wendie, Omar and the security men. The location is perfect, near the beach and Collins Street, couldn't be better! The rooms are clean, the furniture is news and modern. The price is fair. The pool is nice decorated and very inviting atmosphere. I just loved!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayde13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello Ayde13,

We really appreciate you taking your time to post your wonderful feedback! I see that you were content with our team and the service that they provided you with. The location is great, a walk away from almost everything. We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#22 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#80 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#52 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Apartment Hotel

Property: Tradewinds Apartment Hotel
Address: 2365 Pinetree Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4610
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Bayshore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These amazingly, fully furnished luxury accommodations offer immaculate design and the ultimate beach location. Designed for the long term traveler in mind, Tradewinds feature 160 luxuriously appointed one-bedroom and studio suites anxiously waiting to be your next home-away-from-home. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tradewinds Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing