We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tradewinds Apartment Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kriens, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Let me start off in chronological order:
Before I went to the Hotel I wrote them a e-mail twice, to the adress mentioned on there website, to find out about the parking situation and if I could have a package sent to the Hotel, but never got an answer.
Coincidentally I found out that the group that the hotel is a part off offers a airport-shuttle. It's supposed to depart every full hour from the airport. However, we waited a full 1.5 hours with guests from other hotels for the shuttle. As it turns out, one of the two shuttles broke down, so they only went every 2nd hour. Arriving at the hotel there was a family of five which booked a shuttle to the airport for the time we arrived, however the shuttle we arrived in had to drop off the other guests first and told them that he'd arrive an hour later (obviously too late for the family). The response of the hotel staff: "We tried to tell you..." Which means they knocked at their door once and then didn't do anything further, according to themselves!!

We booked a room with two seperate beds, but there really aren't rooms with seperate beds. There's always a Quenn-size bed and the other one is a sofa which you can pull out... pretty unconfortable. Unfortunately, we got a room right at the lobby so on top of an uncofortable bed I also had to put up with a lot of noise during the night. Safe to say that I slept better the week before, when I was in a hotel right at Times Square in NYC!! Also, the wall between the upper and the lower floor seem to be pretty thin, as you can hear the people walking around in the appartment above.
I asked to get a different room twice to different employees, but all they had to say was that they're overbooked and "can not", "could not", "not possible", etc. The staff in general, whilst always friendly, seems incompetent.

The appartments are spacious but have some dirty sports, especially in the kitchen. The floor was never cleaned in my opinion, so walking around barefoot is not an option.
Also, I found a cockroach in the kitchen once, happens but still gives you a feeling that the place is messy.

I didn't even bother to ask for one of the limited parking spaces ($20 a night), but parked my car at the car rental station for free.

The poolarea seems pretty nice, but the pool is pretty small though.

I guess you could have a better time there if you get a room in the upper level and the whole shuttle-thing was obviously a bad coincidence, but I base this on my personal experience at the resort.

Warning: There's a resort fee of $15 per night, which I wasn't aware of, as I booked the room over the internet.

The next big supermarket is like 3-4 blocks away, so my personal advice if you don't have a car, bring bycicles or inline skates.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devilswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello Devilswiss,

Thank you for taking your time to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am extremely sorry to read that you didn't have an amazing time while staying with us! Unfortunately the shuttle did have some unexpected errors that were completely out of our control. We tried our best to fix these mechanical issues ourselves but we were not able to. Therefore we still had the shuttle service but it was running every other hour, instead of every hour. What site did you book with? We do not offer rooms with separate beds. They should have informed you this when you were placing your reservation. The pull out couch is a bed, when pulled out and can sleep 2 comfortably on it. Unfortunately we were sold out therefore we were not able to move you to another room, as there were no rooms available. I will definitely mention to the director of housekeeping the dirt on the floor that you experienced. Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    583
    176
    57
    68
See reviews for
487
518
72
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Man im out of words.. this Brown sugar in the front desk. Her name is Susan, will never forgett. I'll be back :) / Sweden. puss.

btw, the room was so nice and the pool area also. Out room was great and locatipb awesome as well for partying, Close to bars and club!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello Oscar1992,

Your wonderful 5 star feedback is greatly appreciated! I am glad to read that you had a great time while staying with us! I am glad that you were given such great service from Susan at the front desk. She is a great part of our team and all of our guests love her! I will let her know of your kind praise! I am also glad to know that you enjoyed the room and our pool area. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Trade Winds facilitated our Large group at the last minute, rooms were clean and the staff was excellent. Special Thank You to Wendy at the front Desk, she is absolutely the best and very attractive. Overall stay is a satisfied customer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geosedun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello Geosedun,

Thank you for your 5 star review!! I am extremely glad that you had a great time with us! Thank you for booking us on your last minute plans!! :) We are content to know that your room was clean and that the staff that serviced you was excellent!! I will definitely let Wendy at the front desk know of your kind praise! She is absolutely amazing, and a great worker as well!
We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Have an amazing day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

From our check-in time where we were warmly welcomed to our check-out time, Tradewinds did not disappoint. The cleanliness of the apartment (cleanly daily) and the spacious layout allowed us to relax in South Beach. Although some may quibble about walking several streets to the main attractions, we enjoyed a quiet stroll, finding quaint places to eat that it would have been easy to miss in the vibe that is SOBE. Restaurants and general supply shops are relatively close by (7 minutes) and the beach - if you need to drag yourself away from the very nice Tradewinds pool - is about 15 minutes or so but hardly noticable as there are shops and sights to keep your attention. The other aspects we enjoyed were the relative quiet (although the apartments were all occupied), the friendliness of the staff (who fulfilled our requests with real willingness and friendliness), and the superb all-round maintenance of their facilities by an unobtrusive staff. We would be back in a flash!

Room Tip: We had an apartment overlooking the pool. Lovely view and not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Good Afternoon ElleRon,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your 5 star feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am extremely glad read that you were given excellent service from the moment that you walked in! Our housekeepers work really hard to ensure that your home away from home is clean, so that you are comfortable! The walk to all of the action is very convenient! You don't really have to depend on having a car or taking a taxi. Everything is within steps. There are many shops, restaurants, nightclubs, bars, lounges, and everything else for you to enjoy within minutes away. Our staff is always eager to serve you with nothing but smiles. I am glad that you were given that!
We hope that you come back to stay with us in the future!
Hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed at the Tradewinds for 2 weeks and was very pleasantly surprised. The location was good and within easy walking distance of beaches, shopping, theatres, convention centre, bus routes etc. The staff were extremely helpful, the rooms were very clean and spacious , the whole package was extremely good value for money. Thanks to all the staff. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello Gillian T,

Your 5 star feedback is greatly appreciated, and we are glad that you chose to share it! Thank you for choosing to stay with us for 2 weeks! Our location is prime and all of our guests love how close we are to everything. You will never ever get bored on South Beach! :) Our staff is great, and we are glad to know that you were given exceptional service! Sounds to me like you had a great time while staying with us! We hope that you will choose to stay with us the next time you come to South Beach!

Have an amazing day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at tradewinds. There were free bikes for loan if you woke up early. Rooms were huge, well equipped and clean. Staff was really helpfull. Short distance to lincoln road and to beach. We had a car 4 days and there was no problems with parking because there is a big public parking area behind the corner wich costed couple of dollars per night.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heikkikainulainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Good Afternoon Heikkainulainen,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am extremely glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We offer excellent amenities for all of our guests to enjoy! I am very glad that you were able to take advantage of that! I am also glad to read that you were content with the size of your room, as well as with the cleanliness of it! The location of our property is in the heart of South Beach, within walking distance of all the action. Parking has always been an issue here on the beach! Thankfully you didn't experience any issues with that!

We hope to see you soon!

Have a great weekend!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Travelled to Miami for the ING Miami marathon and stayed at the Tradewinds. Great location as it is close to the convention center and rooms are spacious and clean. Couple complaints though to share: upon entering the room we instantly noticed a funky, musty smell in the room and this was always present. It seemed to absorb right into our clothing and it stayed with us throughout our trip. Secondly inquire about hidden fees, you pay for your hotel and then they charge you $15/day for maid service regardless of whether you ask for it or not and they really don't do that much, parking is not free during your stay: $20/day. All in all things that are normally included in your hotel fees are not at the Tradewinds.

Room Tip: Check to see whether or not your hotel fees include parking and maid service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hello Walter S,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are very glad that you chose to share it with us! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the ING Miami Marathon. The location of our property is definitely amazing. We are in the middle of all of the action, yet far enough to get a great nights rest. I am glad that you were content with the size of your room, as well as with the cleanliness of it. I am sorry to read that you experienced such a smell when you got to your room. We are constantly deep cleaning the rooms, and using certain chemicals to kill that smell. We do indeed charge a $15 resort fee that includes all of the amenities that you love to enjoy- complimentary cocktail hour nightly from 7-8pm, R/T Shuttle from Airport, etc.
I hope that you would chose to stay with us again, on your next visit to South Beach!

Have a wonderful day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,014 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#62 of 208 in Miami Beach
5,162 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Croydon
#48 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,879 reviews
Collins Hotel
#99 of 208 in Miami Beach
952 reviews
Freehand Miami
#6 of 85 in Miami Beach
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Apartment Hotel

Property: Tradewinds Apartment Hotel
Address: 2365 Pinetree Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4610
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Bayshore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These amazingly, fully furnished luxury accommodations offer immaculate design and the ultimate beach location. Designed for the long term traveler in mind, Tradewinds feature 160 luxuriously appointed one-bedroom and studio suites anxiously waiting to be your next home-away-from-home. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tradewinds Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing