We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Location and a potential Deal in Price, Poor for service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Ranked #30 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for Location and a potential Deal in Price, Poor for service”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

In traveling to Miami we were looking for something affordable, clean and in a good location. The proximity of this hotel to the beach was perfect and in good walking distance to Lincoln road. However, I am not quite sure this makes up for a complete disregard for hospitality. Not only did they neglect to call us (as promised) when our room was ready, but they were extremely rude over the phone. The front desk person exclaimed that He got there at three so how was he to know and then when asked about happy hour said, " I will tell you about that when you get here." It only got worse. When asking about late checkout he called my friend "Sweetie" and exclaimed "well what would you rather, M'am?!" These are just a few examples of the poor service at this hotel. (not to mention them speaking ill of us in spanish while we were standing right there. (needless to say we understood) They surely need to learn what it means to be in the hospitality business.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterSouthBeach, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Dear Trvlmuch,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are sorry to hear that your experience with one of the staff members was less than satisfying.
We usually receive great feedback on our staff and we certainly aim for high service standards.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future to give you a most enjoyable experience while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    522
    129
    36
    21
See reviews for
264
855
70
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CANADA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

great hotel.. stayed 2 nights before our cruise.staff was great and helpful ....quiet hotel yet very close to all hot spots...we would definitly stay there there again and recommed it. price was right ... south beach is great and we will definitly be back..... mangos.an awsome bar...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEWTRAVELLER1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterSouthBeach, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Dear Newtraveller1966,

Your positive review is very much appreciated!
We are very happy you had a great time.
We hope to see you back sometime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2011

After a lot of research, I decided to book this hotel even though at the time I booked it there weren't any reviews. It was PERFECT! The location is the absolute best. It is right across the street from beach, nice walk to ALL shopping on Lincoln, Collins and Washington. The room itself, unlike many others on South Beach, was large, clean and quiet. It was nice to have the kitchenette, but it needs to be better equipped. If you drink wine, bring your own cork screw! The bathroom was nice too. The hotel is still not completely finished, but it was not loud at all. The staff was very nice and always willing to help. My ONLY complaint was the breakfast needs to be better organized and needs someone working it the entire time to clean up and restock as things run low.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauimem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterSouthBeach, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Dear Mauimem,

We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you for sharing your feedback.
We are also very exited with the opening of our new Boutique Hotel on Ocean Drive. The location is indeed perfect and the hotel is new. The rooms are among the best in South Beach.
We are glad to have the rooms equipped with kitchenettes. We have the coffeemaker, cups and glassware set up in the kitchenettes ready for guest use upon arrival. We do have all the other equipment as well such as toasters, utensils, plates, pots and pans,wine and can openers etc. available to be delivered to the room upon request thru the front desk. Since your stay with us we upgraded the breakfast experience and we hope to be able to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

PROS:
Oceanfront hotel
spacious rooms and bathrooms
very clean
excellent staff
complimentary happy hour
little outside noise can be heard in room except for elevator music that plays thru out hotel.
Free Wi Fi
NO RESORT FEE (rare in SoBe)
Edgewater does not have the feel of a hotel or resort. Instead, it feels more like a condo rental with daily maid service. The feeling of privacy is something to be appreciated.

CONS:
scratchy low quality sheets
cheap pillows
plumbing from other units loud enuf to wake you up in night.
squeaky bathroom door loud enuf to wake your partner up in night
cheap grocery store bought breakfast (pastries w preservatives in plastic containers)
The elevator music that is playing thru out hotel could be lower in volume for sleeping guests.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooveestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterSouthBeach, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Dear Mooveest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We really appreciate your comments. We are glad that your overall experience was a pleasant one.
We invested a considerable amount in top of the line linens and pillows, the breakfast was upgraded and moved to our beautiful rooftop terrace.
The music only plays during the day until the early evening hours. We are glad you enjoyed the level of service provided by our staff and the quality of our spacious guest accommodations.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future so that you can experience the improvements we made recently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania suburb
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Just returned from one night at the Edgewater. Got a great deal on Travelzoo for $159 which included a cocktail hour and continental breakfast. Here's the deal - the location was great but the rest of the stay was just so so. It's a nice looking room with an awesome ocean view but maybe just a bit too new. The hotel had only been open a few weeks. The closet doors didn't open and there were still price tags on things. The amenities in the room were nice but the soap was strange - actually a little hard to use. Also the piped in music throughout the hotel was nice when you're walking back and forth to your room but we could still hear it in our room when trying to sleep. Walls on the 1st floor were not complete and created a very messy look. Cocktail hour was just wine, beer and chips. The breakfast was coffee, juice and croissants in a plastic container. Both were just held at the front desk - I think they cheapened the stay. We took advantage and both were included in our room rate but normally I believe it's an extra $18 per room. Definitely not worth that. The employees/managers were extremely hospitable and really went out of their way to help the quests. Alex in particular was awesome. The rooftop deck was very nice and offered a beautiful view of the beach. Would I return - absolutely but only if I got a great price like this again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3hundrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterSouthBeach, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Dear 3Hundrd,

Thank you so much for your feedback! It is very much appreciated.
We took your comments seriously and made some immediate adjustments.
The music is now off at night and only plays during the day until early evening hours. We upgraded the breakfast experience and it is now served on our beautifull rooftop. The Happy Hour is done daily between 5:30 and 6:30 on the roof as well. Only in the rare occasion when the weather does not cooperate we will bring it inside.
We are glad you enjoyed the service of our staff and we hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISLE OF MAN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Fabulous position on ocean drive and rooftop terrace overlooking the beach. BOOKIT.COM were doing a 50% off special which surely cant last. The place isnt finished but its not a problem. Free bar at 530 every night was a great way to meet the neighbours and save a few $$ on south beach drinks, which it has to be said are not the cheapest. The staff in here are great , very laidback and happy to help.This has to be one of the best spots in town. Try and book room 503 , its worth the extra for the view from the sofa.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LORDLUCANIsleOfMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterSouthBeach, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Dear Lord Lucan,

It was our pleasure to have you as one of our first guests. We are glad you enjoyed our new hotel and it was nice to meet you during our daily rooftop get together.
We hope to see you back many more times in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Recently stayed at the Edgewater for 5 nights during their "Grand Opening" special. The staff was wonderfully helpful, Alex, Andre, John and their GM (?), Frank were always at the ready to meet any needs we had. Although they are still tweaking and renovating, don't let that keep you away, the location is superb, the rooms are not only spacious for South Beach, but spacious over all. The linens on the bed were lovely, the furnishings new and trendy, lots of storage and very nice to have the frig and microwave in the room.

The FREE nightly happy hour (beer & wine) is a great way to meet the other guests, we ended up going out to dinner with another couple and had a fabulous time. The Roof Deck Happy Hour has wonderful views of the ocean as the evening sets and the deck is also very spacious, a great place to go during the day, bring your lunch and a nap, as there are wonderful & numerous teak lounge chairs, tables, chairs and umbrellas. We hope to go back again soon, as long as we can still afford it :) Maybe they'll start a VIP club for those of us who came for the Opening? *hint*, *hint*

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlymom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterSouthBeach, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Dear Curlymom,

It was a pleasure to have you at Edgewater South Beach.
The team is exited that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you soon during your next visit to South Beach. We will look forward to show you our newest upgrades.
We will definitely see you as part as the VIP club for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leslie Hotel
#43 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108 (Formerly Edgewater South Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach has earned the status as one of Ocean Drive's most iconic properties offering 49 studios and suites. Within easy walking distance to the best of South Beach, beautiful landscapes are easily discovered. Owners and guests will be immersed in the center of the action of South Beach from the restaurants and galleries of Lincoln Road to the boutique shops and nightclubs of Collins and Washington Avenues to the turquoise waters of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing