We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Ranked #28 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Not a bad price for its perfect location, a few yards from the beach. You walk out, grab a chair and a towel and off you go. They have a restaurant on property and several more walking distance. The place is clean and modern.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Miosoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you Miosoti for staying with us and for letting us know how we did. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    499
    123
    35
    19
See reviews for
246
823
67
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were given a handicapped suite on the first floor. We did not require a handicapped suite, however usually this is no problem. There was no closet. Minimal furniture. Tiled floors increased echo. We felt as though our room was in the lobby as we could here every conversation. Also, a speaker on the outside wall reverberated techno bass beat fron 830am through 11pm daily. We could somewhat block out with ac fans. We did not sleep at all on our second night we complained to manager, Richard. He was very nice and refunded our valet service and resort fees. However he was aware of this problematic room and said they were working on it. Too late for our comfort. Please do not lease out rooms when you know the guest will be uncomfortable. We will not be back

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms 101, 102. Front of hotel,first floor. Felt as though we were sleeping in the lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for not having found your room as expected. We are looking into various options to address what you've described. We hope to have a chance to make it up to you during a future stay, we do have other studios and suites you might find to your liking.
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I enjoyed my stay immensely. The staff is welcoming and helpful. The room was clean, The breakfast was enjoyable. Best of all, I was on the beach and close enough to any activity I wanted to attend. Thanks

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing Edgewater, Mark. We're glad you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great staff, location and a nice continental breakfast. Lovely view over the sea from the roof terrace, would definitely stay here again.Staff were friendly and helpful.
Would be great if there was a normal amount of milk in the rooms though, not everyone drinks black coffee or with a tablespoon of milk...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Letitiamm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Letitia,

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do offer cream and milk for coffee during our breakfast every morning and some guests do opt to take some to their rooms. We unfortunately cannot place either in the rooms due to local health regulations.
Thank you for choosing Edgewater, we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Based on the previous reviews on this site our expectations were quite high. Unfortunately, things didn't go quite as planned.

Our first room (a one bedroom suite) was otherwise ok but VERY dark. 3 of the 4 windows were covered with a blind that couldn't be opened so the only actual window was in the kitchen / lounge area facing the street. The bedroom had only 3 dim lamps and there were no ceiling lights. We felt the first night in this room was ok as we were very tired after a long flight.

The next morning we asked if we could have another room with more natural light and luckily, were moved to a much better one bedroom suite. Both rooms had windows facing the sea and Ocean Drive. The views were absolutely beautiful and surprisingly, not too much noise from the street either.

The strange thing about this room (like the first one) was that it didn't have ceiling lights either, only a couple of spotlights in front of the bathroom. The living room and the bedroom had only a couple of table lamps and a floor lamp, all quite dim. That means in the evening there wasn't enough light to read anywhere in the room. Otherwise the room was fine and very spacious.

The weirdest thing happened a couple of days before we checked out. We had done some grocery shopping at Wholefoods and left the stuff that didn't need fridge (nuts, cookies etc) in the bag on the kitchen floor. The next day the bag was nowhere to be found. We went down to reception to ask if they could check with the housekeeping what was going on. Someone from the housekeeping came down to discuss this, unfortunately she didn't speak English and we don't speak Spanish. We were told that in a hotel if you leave a bag on the floor it usually means it's garbage and should be thrown away. We've travelled in dozens of countries and stayed in a lot of hotels and this was the first time I heard I shouldn't leave things on the floor unless I want them to be thrown away. We were told that the housekeeping had probably thrown our bag away accidentally and that they had checked the CCTV recording but couldn't find out what exactly had happened. We still find it very hard to believe that this is what happened because the grocery bag was quite full of unopened packages and quite heavy too. How could they not notice it wasn't garbage?

Also, previous travellers have commented how friendly the staff is. The way this problem was handled sure wasn't very friendly. Evasive is the word I would use. It was more like “we don't know what happened and that's why we can't do anything about it”. When checking out, I asked about the matter again and after telling us they didn't have any new information he told us he can deduct the $18 resort fee for 4 nights (we stayed 7 nights) from our hotel bill.

So, unfortunately I will not be booking Edgewater South Beach again or recommending it to my friends. That's a shame because the location is just brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank AlmaPornanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Alma,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such detailed feedback, we appreciate it very much. We are aware our lighting is a bit too cozy for most of our guests and are looking into improvements this year.
Please accept our apologies for the mishap with your grocery bag, we most definitely do not discard bags left on the floor without making sure it contains refuse. Management is also informed by our team so that we may research and resolve to our guest's satisfaction prior to departure. This doesn't seem to have happened. I will be contacting you directly to discuss further.
We hope that you will give us a chance to change your mind about us during a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

came for a week in miami beach with my wife
i was surprise about the spacious and very nice room compared to other hotel i've been in south beach
staff very friendly,hotel located on the quiete part of ocean drive

i highly recommend this hotel and definitely come back in my next trip to miami

Room Tip: the ocean view room worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank philippe v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We appreciate your recommendation very much, Phillipe! We're happy that you had a good time with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I had the best birthday and vacation getaway here. Besides the room (1bedrm oceanview) and property being gorgeous(open rooftop where they have free breakfast an happy hr) and right across the beach and right where all the fun Ocean Drive nightlife is happening is the one of a kind staff, Jonathan (my fave), Joseph and Raphael were excellent!!! The hotels restaurant was amazing as well, some of my hubby and I's faves were the banana pancakes, shrimp cocktail, skirt steak sandwich and their amazing lobster ravioli!
No need to even eat anywhere else really!
Attention to detail and service is 5 star here and I will be visiting again and again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clj714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Our team thanks you for choosing Edgewater for your stay in South Beach and for the mentions! As you noticed, we are quite passionate with our hospitality and work very hard to make sure our guests leave us happy. Glad that we'll be seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Cavalier South Beach
#49 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,950 reviews
The Confidante
#18 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#24 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,815 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108 (Formerly Edgewater South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach has earned the status as one of Ocean Drive's most iconic properties offering 49 studios and suites. Within easy walking distance to the best of South Beach, beautiful landscapes are easily discovered. Owners and guests will be immersed in the center of the action of South Beach from the restaurants and galleries of Lincoln Road to the boutique shops and nightclubs of Collins and Washington Avenues to the turquoise waters of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing