We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Am I really on South Beach?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach to your Saves list
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Edgewater South Beach) (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #29 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Am I really on South Beach?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Trendy and hot South Beach is not as well known for its customer service as it is for sexy, Latino flair. However, at the Edgewater, tucked quietly between several other boutique hotels and restaurants on the 1400 block of Ocean Drive, customer service is as outstanding as its 5th floor patio waterfront view; there, a wine and beer happy hour from 5-6 PM and a continental breakfast are hosted, providing appreciated value-added hospitality for a $18/day fee. Towels for the beach are also provided and EVERYTHING at the Edgewater is provided with a smile. From the helpful doormen to housekeeping, and especially the reservations assistance through Martine, the Edgewater exudes pleasant attitude, a sincere interest in guest satisfaction and meticulous care of the premises. As a former condo turned hotel, this spot has become an annual favorite for business or pleasure travel. Neighboring restaurants are convenient and top-notch--especially Il Bolognese next door which has another restaurant on Lincoln Road. But please don't let TOO many people know about this great hotel--we don't want to lose our favorite room!

Room Tip: The 5th floor faces the balcony where happy hour and breakfast are hosted. Great view and convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmartiniup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
No matter how many know about us we will never lose attentiveness and will to please all of our guests. Thank you so much for your kind words, our team is very appreciative. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    493
    121
    35
    19
See reviews for
240
820
67
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Miami Beach is an expensive place and we’ve had some good and bad stays over the years. Late last year we booked a Deluxe Studio for 2 nights at Edgewater over New Years on Hotels.com, as the hotel was on the beach and included the following description: room overlooks ocean and beach. Unfortunately, we were sadly disappointed.
Check in was less than wonderful. We arrived at 1pm hoping to get in early and hit the beach; unfortunately no rooms were available until 3pm (which is normal check-in). While the staff was not very friendly when we first arrived, they improved during the rest of the stay. When we were able to check in, we found that the only view of the beach came from sticking our heads out the window on the side of hotel; not exactly what we imagined and we felt cheated. The room was large but uninspired and a little boring. It’s a studio equipped with a small kitchen but no crockery or cutlery so basically useless! Items for sale in the ‘mini bar’ were ridiculously priced. The bed was average but the bathroom was a good size and modern. The room included a seating area (couch and chairs) and a TV. The curtains did not block out the sun so might be an issue if you want to sleep in or you’re a light sleeper.
Guests are required to pay a resort fee per day which includes wifi (good reception), breakfast (rather lame, packaged muffins, bread, fruit, yogurt and coffee/tea/juices), and towels for the beach. I’d rather pay for the items we wanted (wifi only).
It’s a great location, on the beach and a few blocks from Lincoln Road (pedestrian road for shopping), many restaurants (hint: eat and drink during happy hour and you’ll save big money).
It’s a decent hotel, right in the action but not the best we’ve stayed at in South Beach, but perhaps worth it if you can find a good deal!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us constructive feedback, it's always appreciated as we use it to improve our product and services. We do our best to accommodate all requests, including early check in and succeed quite often but during sold out times it becomes very hard to grant certain requests without inconveniencing other guests.
Thank you for staying with us, we do hope you will consider giving us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I travel to Miami between 2 to 5 times a year on business and I bring my wife along when I can so I can get a bit of a vacation out of it as well. I have found hotels to be very hit and miss in South Beach, pictures don't always tell the story. I read a ton of positive reviews on Edgewater so I decided to give it a try.

In very simple terms Edgewater is the best spot in South Beach. Perfectly situated on Ocean Drive, quiet at nights in my room so I can get rest before a day of business, yet a 5 minute walk to all the hot restaurants, clubs and bars on Ocean Drive. Also a short 5 minute walk to the fantastic restaurants on Espanola way and another couple of minutes to the shops and restaurants on Lincoln road.

Now that location is covered, the biggest problem I've had with past hotels in south beach is quality, cleanliness, size of room and service. Edgewater was a 10 on all fronts, big room, great view of the ocean, very clean, full kitchen, great water pressure, comfortable bed. I don't know what else to say, other than the staff were fantastic and made our stay perfect.

South Beach can be expensive, so make sure when you go down you are not disappointed with your room. At Edgewater you will be 100% satisfied.

Thank you Edgewater, keep up the good work, see you guys in a few months.

Ed

Room Tip: If you are able request a room facing the beach and on the 5th floor. More costly but worth it. !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdD1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Ed,

Our team is very grateful for your wonderful feedback, THANK YOU for taking the time to share. We very much look forward to be at your service during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EL PASO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a great hotel with friendly helpful staff.
Recently remodeled.
They offer a continental breakfast on the rooftop that has an ocean view, this is wonderful.
They had a happy hour in the evening also on the rooftop.
Within walking distance to anything that you may want to do in south beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blucab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks for your kind words. Looking forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is very convenient and the staff is so friendly but hotel really has no charm. Nothing interesting about the common areas or room. We stayed in a suite which was roomy but lacked any warmth. The television was in the sitting room where the carpet was dirty and the furniture was uncomfortable. The lighting in the bathrooms (there were two in our suite) was horrible for putting on makeup. There is a kitchenette, but no silverware or plates.

Positives: size of room, location, very comfortable bed, linens and pillows, friendliness of staff
Negatives: dirty carpet, no bathtub, no TV in bedroom, bad lighting in bathrooms, uncomfortable seating in sitting room

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay, Paula, we appreciate it very much. We do have a particular setup and it's true that it does not appeal to all but what we lack in lobby space we make up in gorgeous rooftop space and consistently great service. We do offer kitchen amenities upon request, not sure that you inquired at our front desk.
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, az
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Only stayed one night on the last night of my business trip. Hotel is clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. I appreciate that windows open and the small kitchen in the room.
Well done Edgewater!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phllye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for the compliment and for staying with us! We hope to serve you for a longer time on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Had a great 3 night stay on a business trip. The front desk personnel were extremely helpful and courteous, day or night. I used valet parking and that was helpful and timely. The room was spaceous and comfortable with nice kitchenette ammenities. Though there is a lot of activity going on along Ocean Drive, the room was quiet and I had no trouble sleeping. It was in easy walking distance of all the places and activities that I needed, especially accessible to the beach!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, Chad. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#36 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,917 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#24 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
The Confidante
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Edgewater South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 1400 block at the north end of Ocean Drive, Owners and guests are within an easy walking distance to the best South Beach has to offer. Built in 1936, Marriott Vacation Club, South Beach is one of Ocean Drive’s most iconic properties offering 49 studios and suites. Owners and guests will be immersed in the center of the action of South Beach from the restaurants and galleries of Lincoln Road to the boutique shops and nightclubs of Collins and Washington Avenues to the turquoise waters of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Cancelon, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing