We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room, friendly staff, but nothing special and needs carpet cleaned badly” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Ranked #32 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Large room, friendly staff, but nothing special and needs carpet cleaned badly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is very convenient and the staff is so friendly but hotel really has no charm. Nothing interesting about the common areas or room. We stayed in a suite which was roomy but lacked any warmth. The television was in the sitting room where the carpet was dirty and the furniture was uncomfortable. The lighting in the bathrooms (there were two in our suite) was horrible for putting on makeup. There is a kitchenette, but no silverware or plates.

Positives: size of room, location, very comfortable bed, linens and pillows, friendliness of staff
Negatives: dirty carpet, no bathtub, no TV in bedroom, bad lighting in bathrooms, uncomfortable seating in sitting room

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay, Paula, we appreciate it very much. We do have a particular setup and it's true that it does not appeal to all but what we lack in lobby space we make up in gorgeous rooftop space and consistently great service. We do offer kitchen amenities upon request, not sure that you inquired at our front desk.
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    503
    127
    35
    20
See reviews for
253
825
69
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix, az
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Only stayed one night on the last night of my business trip. Hotel is clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. I appreciate that windows open and the small kitchen in the room.
Well done Edgewater!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phllye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for the compliment and for staying with us! We hope to serve you for a longer time on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Had a great 3 night stay on a business trip. The front desk personnel were extremely helpful and courteous, day or night. I used valet parking and that was helpful and timely. The room was spaceous and comfortable with nice kitchenette ammenities. Though there is a lot of activity going on along Ocean Drive, the room was quiet and I had no trouble sleeping. It was in easy walking distance of all the places and activities that I needed, especially accessible to the beach!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, Chad. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orfordville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Good price and great location. We have nothing bad to say about this hotel. No, it is not five star, but it is clean, nice breakfast on the roof patio, and you cross Ocean Ave. to access the park and of course the beach! Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Find the hotel by the street address. There is no large sign out front announcing this is the Edgew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, Norman. Glad you had a good stay, we look forward to your next one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great location, friendly helpful staff.
Happy hour good and breakfast not bad (more fruit and some cheese would have been nice).
Shame no plates or cutlery in room as there was a kitchen in the room.
Lobby could have done with place to display information on local attractions.
Restuarant was expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear T B,

We are grateful to have been chosen for your stay in South Beach, thank you for your invaluable feedback. We do provide plates and cutlery upon request, our front desk would have gladly accommodated your request. Our breakfast is being constantly changed based on our guests' feedback, we will definitely take your under consideration. Our elevator lobby does have various publications on local attractions, you might have missed it.
Thanks again for staying with us, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orsieres, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

everything was great in this hotel, food, location, rooms, roof top terrace, etc. It's on the beachside in a very nice and calm street full of restaurants. Just perfect. Staff is very friendly, they even have a french restaurant at the ground floor which does amazing food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us, Florentin! We enjoyed your stay with us as well and hope not too much time passes till we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

It is extremely rare for me to give a hotel a 2 rating, however I have to do it to raise the hotel management attention to the very poor and rude customer service by the day time hotel front desk person. I should note that the evening front desk person Alehandro and hotel staff member Andre were friendly and caring.

The Negatives:

1. We arrived in the morning after a long flight. The front desk person (I think his first name starts with the an M) informed us that the room was not ready and he will call us once the room is ready. He never called us. He promised that will get a room away from the elevator per our request. When we finally checked in around 4 pm we got a room right by the elevator.

2. The toilet had difficulties flushing right from the beginning. By 10 pm in the evening it totally stopped flushing. Hotel staff member Andre was unable to fix the flushing problem. Per our request he agreed to change us to another room in the morning (I was already in bed and was too tired to change rooms that evening). In the morning we talked with the front desk person about switching rooms as agreed and he told us that he has no room to switch us to, because the room that was promised to us was given to new guests. I expressed my great surprise and disappointment since obviously we needed to use our room toilet in the morning, we were promised to be switched to a room with a working toilet and check-in time is 3 pm, so why would they give the room promised to us to a new guest in the morning? The front desk person was very rude, he did not care about our needs and did not even apologize. We obviously paid for a room with a working toilet and his message that we will only get a new room in the afternoon was unacceptable. But the biggest disappointment was his rudeness!

3. The toilet was fixed afterwards by hotel staff. It was explained that the day staff had tools that the night person did not have. A high quality hotel should provide the night staff with all the tools needed to fix a toilet flushing problem.

4. The breakfast is limited.

The Positives:

1. Excellent location on Ocean Drive close to 15th. Beach across the street and park.

2. Beach chairs and towels provided as part of the $18 Spoil Me Plan mandatory fee.

3. Hotel staff Alehandro and Andre friendly and caring.

4. The Delux Studio is spacious

5. Happy Hour on the roof with beer and wine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MTD-Travel-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Esteemed guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for not having provided the quality of stay you had expected. I did follow up with our staff on all the items you mentioned and even though we made every effort to provide an earlier check in, it unfortunately did not happen.
The tool you mentioned is used only by our engineers so it's not made available to our overnight staff. It seems this was addressed the next day though.
Thank you for mentioning Alejandro and Andre, they are grateful. Thank you for choosing us for your stay in South Beach, we hope to get a chance to change your mind about us during a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
The Shepley Hotel
#9 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Flora
#18 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#7 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108 (Formerly Edgewater South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach has earned the status as one of Ocean Drive's most iconic properties offering 49 studios and suites. Within easy walking distance to the best of South Beach, beautiful landscapes are easily discovered. Owners and guests will be immersed in the center of the action of South Beach from the restaurants and galleries of Lincoln Road to the boutique shops and nightclubs of Collins and Washington Avenues to the turquoise waters of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing