We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Hotel in SOBE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach to your Saves list
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Edgewater South Beach) (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #29 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
phoenix, az
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in SOBE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Only stayed one night on the last night of my business trip. Hotel is clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. I appreciate that windows open and the small kitchen in the room.
Well done Edgewater!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phllye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for the compliment and for staying with us! We hope to serve you for a longer time on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    493
    121
    35
    19
See reviews for
240
820
67
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Had a great 3 night stay on a business trip. The front desk personnel were extremely helpful and courteous, day or night. I used valet parking and that was helpful and timely. The room was spaceous and comfortable with nice kitchenette ammenities. Though there is a lot of activity going on along Ocean Drive, the room was quiet and I had no trouble sleeping. It was in easy walking distance of all the places and activities that I needed, especially accessible to the beach!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, Chad. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orfordville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Good price and great location. We have nothing bad to say about this hotel. No, it is not five star, but it is clean, nice breakfast on the roof patio, and you cross Ocean Ave. to access the park and of course the beach! Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Find the hotel by the street address. There is no large sign out front announcing this is the Edgew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, Norman. Glad you had a good stay, we look forward to your next one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great location, friendly helpful staff.
Happy hour good and breakfast not bad (more fruit and some cheese would have been nice).
Shame no plates or cutlery in room as there was a kitchen in the room.
Lobby could have done with place to display information on local attractions.
Restuarant was expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear T B,

We are grateful to have been chosen for your stay in South Beach, thank you for your invaluable feedback. We do provide plates and cutlery upon request, our front desk would have gladly accommodated your request. Our breakfast is being constantly changed based on our guests' feedback, we will definitely take your under consideration. Our elevator lobby does have various publications on local attractions, you might have missed it.
Thanks again for staying with us, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orsieres, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

everything was great in this hotel, food, location, rooms, roof top terrace, etc. It's on the beachside in a very nice and calm street full of restaurants. Just perfect. Staff is very friendly, they even have a french restaurant at the ground floor which does amazing food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us, Florentin! We enjoyed your stay with us as well and hope not too much time passes till we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It is extremely rare for me to give a hotel a 2 rating, however I have to do it to raise the hotel management attention to the very poor and rude customer service by the day time hotel front desk person. I should note that the evening front desk person Alehandro and hotel staff member Andre were friendly and caring.

The Negatives:

1. We arrived in the morning after a long flight. The front desk person (I think his first name starts with the an M) informed us that the room was not ready and he will call us once the room is ready. He never called us. He promised that will get a room away from the elevator per our request. When we finally checked in around 4 pm we got a room right by the elevator.

2. The toilet had difficulties flushing right from the beginning. By 10 pm in the evening it totally stopped flushing. Hotel staff member Andre was unable to fix the flushing problem. Per our request he agreed to change us to another room in the morning (I was already in bed and was too tired to change rooms that evening). In the morning we talked with the front desk person about switching rooms as agreed and he told us that he has no room to switch us to, because the room that was promised to us was given to new guests. I expressed my great surprise and disappointment since obviously we needed to use our room toilet in the morning, we were promised to be switched to a room with a working toilet and check-in time is 3 pm, so why would they give the room promised to us to a new guest in the morning? The front desk person was very rude, he did not care about our needs and did not even apologize. We obviously paid for a room with a working toilet and his message that we will only get a new room in the afternoon was unacceptable. But the biggest disappointment was his rudeness!

3. The toilet was fixed afterwards by hotel staff. It was explained that the day staff had tools that the night person did not have. A high quality hotel should provide the night staff with all the tools needed to fix a toilet flushing problem.

4. The breakfast is limited.

The Positives:

1. Excellent location on Ocean Drive close to 15th. Beach across the street and park.

2. Beach chairs and towels provided as part of the $18 Spoil Me Plan mandatory fee.

3. Hotel staff Alehandro and Andre friendly and caring.

4. The Delux Studio is spacious

5. Happy Hour on the roof with beer and wine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MTD-Travel-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Esteemed guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for not having provided the quality of stay you had expected. I did follow up with our staff on all the items you mentioned and even though we made every effort to provide an earlier check in, it unfortunately did not happen.
The tool you mentioned is used only by our engineers so it's not made available to our overnight staff. It seems this was addressed the next day though.
Thank you for mentioning Alejandro and Andre, they are grateful. Thank you for choosing us for your stay in South Beach, we hope to get a chance to change your mind about us during a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Edgewater was a very nice hotel with a great location, very friendly staff, and nice rooms. We called for information regarding the hotel and in the phone conversation got offered a free upgrade to a one bedroom ocean view room for the price of a studio. We were greeted from everyone like they knew us all personally and everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was huge with kitchen hallway, big bathroom, walk in-closet, bedroom and living room area all very clean with nice modern décor. The staff again was great very helpful and responsive. They had a beer and wine happy hour on the rooftop and a decent breakfast (yogurt, toast, pastries, bagels), however we thought these were complimentary and later found there was a charge for the "spoil me plan" in addition to another resort fee charge upon check out. For the price I would have gotten a better breakfast and different drinks somewhere else . They supplied chairs and an umbrella for the beach but did not have a cabana on the beach rather gave them to you as you exited the lobby and you carried the backpack style chairs and little umbrella with you across the street and to the beach, not a huge deal but with young children a stroller and other stuff to carry already the cabana type set up is nicer. It is right in the middle of all the restaurants and shops so the location was good and the one bedroom room was nice and huge, and the staff was all great. However, we also stayed at the Riviera Suites and it would be my pick of the two. It was only ten blocks north, three blocks from the beach and at less than half the price had just as nice rooms, more comfortable mattresses, better quality linens, better breakfast, free airport shuttle, nicer happy hour, and a pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest,

We're grateful that you took the time to share details of your stay with us. Seems there is some confusion about our resort fee which is actually one and the same with the "Spoil me" plan. Miami Beach taxes amount to 13% and your bill upon check out will show the taxes and the $18 resort fee/Spoil me plan. Overall feedback on the resort fee from our guests is positive especially when you consider that the average price for breakfast alone on Ocean Drive is around $20 for two.
We are a small boutique property which is not always the right fit for those in need of a full service hotel but we take great pride in the way we care for our guests and what we have to offer.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#36 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,917 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#24 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
The Confidante
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,697 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Edgewater South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 1400 block at the north end of Ocean Drive, Owners and guests are within an easy walking distance to the best South Beach has to offer. Built in 1936, Marriott Vacation Club, South Beach is one of Ocean Drive’s most iconic properties offering 49 studios and suites. Owners and guests will be immersed in the center of the action of South Beach from the restaurants and galleries of Lincoln Road to the boutique shops and nightclubs of Collins and Washington Avenues to the turquoise waters of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Marriott so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing