We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Ranked #32 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Orfordville, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Good price and great location. We have nothing bad to say about this hotel. No, it is not five star, but it is clean, nice breakfast on the roof patio, and you cross Ocean Ave. to access the park and of course the beach! Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Find the hotel by the street address. There is no large sign out front announcing this is the Edgew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, Norman. Glad you had a good stay, we look forward to your next one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    530
    130
    37
    23
See reviews for
269
865
71
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great location, friendly helpful staff.
Happy hour good and breakfast not bad (more fruit and some cheese would have been nice).
Shame no plates or cutlery in room as there was a kitchen in the room.
Lobby could have done with place to display information on local attractions.
Restuarant was expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear T B,

We are grateful to have been chosen for your stay in South Beach, thank you for your invaluable feedback. We do provide plates and cutlery upon request, our front desk would have gladly accommodated your request. Our breakfast is being constantly changed based on our guests' feedback, we will definitely take your under consideration. Our elevator lobby does have various publications on local attractions, you might have missed it.
Thanks again for staying with us, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orsieres, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2013

everything was great in this hotel, food, location, rooms, roof top terrace, etc. It's on the beachside in a very nice and calm street full of restaurants. Just perfect. Staff is very friendly, they even have a french restaurant at the ground floor which does amazing food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us, Florentin! We enjoyed your stay with us as well and hope not too much time passes till we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

It is extremely rare for me to give a hotel a 2 rating, however I have to do it to raise the hotel management attention to the very poor and rude customer service by the day time hotel front desk person. I should note that the evening front desk person Alehandro and hotel staff member Andre were friendly and caring.

The Negatives:

1. We arrived in the morning after a long flight. The front desk person (I think his first name starts with the an M) informed us that the room was not ready and he will call us once the room is ready. He never called us. He promised that will get a room away from the elevator per our request. When we finally checked in around 4 pm we got a room right by the elevator.

2. The toilet had difficulties flushing right from the beginning. By 10 pm in the evening it totally stopped flushing. Hotel staff member Andre was unable to fix the flushing problem. Per our request he agreed to change us to another room in the morning (I was already in bed and was too tired to change rooms that evening). In the morning we talked with the front desk person about switching rooms as agreed and he told us that he has no room to switch us to, because the room that was promised to us was given to new guests. I expressed my great surprise and disappointment since obviously we needed to use our room toilet in the morning, we were promised to be switched to a room with a working toilet and check-in time is 3 pm, so why would they give the room promised to us to a new guest in the morning? The front desk person was very rude, he did not care about our needs and did not even apologize. We obviously paid for a room with a working toilet and his message that we will only get a new room in the afternoon was unacceptable. But the biggest disappointment was his rudeness!

3. The toilet was fixed afterwards by hotel staff. It was explained that the day staff had tools that the night person did not have. A high quality hotel should provide the night staff with all the tools needed to fix a toilet flushing problem.

4. The breakfast is limited.

The Positives:

1. Excellent location on Ocean Drive close to 15th. Beach across the street and park.

2. Beach chairs and towels provided as part of the $18 Spoil Me Plan mandatory fee.

3. Hotel staff Alehandro and Andre friendly and caring.

4. The Delux Studio is spacious

5. Happy Hour on the roof with beer and wine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MTD-Travel-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Esteemed guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for not having provided the quality of stay you had expected. I did follow up with our staff on all the items you mentioned and even though we made every effort to provide an earlier check in, it unfortunately did not happen.
The tool you mentioned is used only by our engineers so it's not made available to our overnight staff. It seems this was addressed the next day though.
Thank you for mentioning Alejandro and Andre, they are grateful. Thank you for choosing us for your stay in South Beach, we hope to get a chance to change your mind about us during a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Edgewater was a very nice hotel with a great location, very friendly staff, and nice rooms. We called for information regarding the hotel and in the phone conversation got offered a free upgrade to a one bedroom ocean view room for the price of a studio. We were greeted from everyone like they knew us all personally and everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was huge with kitchen hallway, big bathroom, walk in-closet, bedroom and living room area all very clean with nice modern décor. The staff again was great very helpful and responsive. They had a beer and wine happy hour on the rooftop and a decent breakfast (yogurt, toast, pastries, bagels), however we thought these were complimentary and later found there was a charge for the "spoil me plan" in addition to another resort fee charge upon check out. For the price I would have gotten a better breakfast and different drinks somewhere else . They supplied chairs and an umbrella for the beach but did not have a cabana on the beach rather gave them to you as you exited the lobby and you carried the backpack style chairs and little umbrella with you across the street and to the beach, not a huge deal but with young children a stroller and other stuff to carry already the cabana type set up is nicer. It is right in the middle of all the restaurants and shops so the location was good and the one bedroom room was nice and huge, and the staff was all great. However, we also stayed at the Riviera Suites and it would be my pick of the two. It was only ten blocks north, three blocks from the beach and at less than half the price had just as nice rooms, more comfortable mattresses, better quality linens, better breakfast, free airport shuttle, nicer happy hour, and a pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest,

We're grateful that you took the time to share details of your stay with us. Seems there is some confusion about our resort fee which is actually one and the same with the "Spoil me" plan. Miami Beach taxes amount to 13% and your bill upon check out will show the taxes and the $18 resort fee/Spoil me plan. Overall feedback on the resort fee from our guests is positive especially when you consider that the average price for breakfast alone on Ocean Drive is around $20 for two.
We are a small boutique property which is not always the right fit for those in need of a full service hotel but we take great pride in the way we care for our guests and what we have to offer.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent six days at the Edgewater, getting a great deal online. We were upgraded to a one-bedroom suite with a quiet bedroom in the back and a front living room/kitchen with a view of palm trees in the park. Everything was clean, and everyone was helpful. The negatives? Uninspired breakfast choices and no pool. But we knew the latter going in and just walked to the beach on the other side of the park. There is a free happy hour on the roof deck at night. We'd go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoFarAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us feedback, we very much appreciate it. Our breakfast offering is being continuously changed according to our guest comments but as everyone has different preferences it becomes difficult to have the perfect selection.
We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is really well located and the rooms very large and clean. However, for the price of the room you would expect a far better service. Also expect to pay daily fees, whether you want it or not (it's not mentioned when booking online) on top of your bill to cover: beach towel, really average cold breakfast and free beers/wine from 5 pm to 6 pm ... When we asked if the breakfast was included in the room price we have been told that it was but actually this is not, you have to pay for the "spoil yourself" fees. The way it was presented let us imagined it was included in the pre-paid price, which was not.
For the price of the room, you would definitely expect a better service:
- poor breakfast : tea, coffee and cold food, sliced bread, yogurt, canned fruits, nutella.
- free wifi but but keeps shutting down which makes it really annoying
- no concierge
- the double beds are not very large
- late check in and early check out
- soaps and shampoos not systematically provided everyday
- no bathrobes
- noisy fridge, broken flush

Room Tip: I would avoid the rooms that are close to the terrace where the breakfast and the happy hours are se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jupiter219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Esteemed guest,

Please accept our sincere thanks for having chosen Edgewater for your stay in South Beach. It seems your experience was not as you expected, our sincere apologies. We do have the "Spoil me" plan fee listed on our website and all other channels on the Internet but are sometimes missed by our guests.
Our services and amenities do change constantly based on our guest feedback and we hope we will get the chance to make it up to you during a future stay. I will send you my contact information in hope of discussing your stay in more detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,399 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,567 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#46 of 208 in Miami Beach
553 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108 (Formerly Edgewater South Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach has earned the status as one of Ocean Drive's most iconic properties offering 49 studios and suites. Within easy walking distance to the best of South Beach, beautiful landscapes are easily discovered. Owners and guests will be immersed in the center of the action of South Beach from the restaurants and galleries of Lincoln Road to the boutique shops and nightclubs of Collins and Washington Avenues to the turquoise waters of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing