We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hidden fees” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Ranked #28 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden fees”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Nice hotel but expect hidden fees that can add up to hundreds of dollars. Why they do this I will never understand.

The hotel has nice facilities and has excellent location on Ocean Drive, close to the beach. The staff is friendly and professional.

I purchased a 9 night stay using expedia.com. The purchase was made in full according to expedia. When I arrived at the front desk I was requested to sign a voucher agreeing to additional charges, up to $162 more. Of course there was no way to get another hotel or get my money back. Many apologies where given by the staff but this is the same as stealing your money. They told me that all Ocean Drive hotels did the same, so they did it. They call this extra charges, "spoiled and pampered". Which is nothing more than a European breakfast and a happy hour. Either you want them or not, you must pay 18 dlls extra a night.

Word of advise, if you pay all in advance, be warned that you still have some more to pay.

Room Tip: Beware of hidden extra costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrabNebula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your compliments on our staff, we do work very hard to make all of our guests happy. Sorry that you have missed the detail on our "Spoil me" plan fee listed on Expedia as part of the booking process. It is listed on the trip summary throughout the booking process:
"Hotel Resort Fee: Resort fee: USD 18.00 per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2011). Collected by hotel".
We also have it explained in detail on our website in the "Experience" section. We make a great effort to be transparent with all our taxes and fees as we understand how "hidden fees" affect a guest's perception of a hotel.
Thank you for choosing Edgewater South Beach, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    502
    125
    35
    19
See reviews for
249
824
67
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

we stayed in this hotel for four nights in january 2013 and we were not disappointed. The room was lovely and very spacious. It is located on ocean drive and just across the road from the beach. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Happy hour was great and for an hour on the roof terrace you were offered a compliment of beer , wine and soft drinks. we loved it!!

Room Tip: we were happy with our room although you can request sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing Edgewater, Shelly! We're always fulfilled when our guests tell us that we have everything they were looking for and we created a memorable stay. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I am in the restaurant business and believe in service. All the employees were perfect and very caring. The rooms were great and very clean. From the front desk to housekeeping everybody was always happy and willing to assist. I spent four nights there, now I want to go back and spend a month there. The location is great and the views are better. Don't be fooled by the big name hotels, this is the place. Enjoy your same.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dollar69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for recognizing our dedicated staff, we are all very appreciative. Being recognized for what we do always feels amazing, we're grateful that you took the time to share your experience.
Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We picked this hotel because we wanted to be by the beach and where all the action is in South Beach. We were not disappointed. The staff at the Edgewater was very helpful in anything we might have needed - restaurant suggestions, sights to see. We enjoyed out happy hour on the roof top terrace along with the continental breakfast on the terrace in the morning. We were within steps of all the lovely Art Deco hotels along the beach right on Ocean Ave. It was perfect site for a morning stroll or to check out the evening action. Our room far exceeded our expectations. It was large, well appointed and very comfortable. I would stay here again if I came back to South Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sirmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay and our location, please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I loved this hotel. The location is great -- very convenient but at the quieter end of Ocean Drive. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the staff was terrific.A pool would have been nice, but the hotel is right across the street from the beach. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks for the love, Lucy! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait for your return. Thank you for choosing Edgewater!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week-long stay at this fabulous property on Ocean Drive in South Beach, FL. Highly recommended for young children as the room layouts are very good and the furniture is all kid-safe (plastic, rounded edges, low tables and cabinets in all areas). Tough to beat the location as you can walk across Ocean Drive to the Beach and you can walk a couple of blocks to Lincoln Road mall for shopping and excellent restaurants. Plenty of nearby shops and restaurants, too. Staff was generally very friendly and helpful, although a few members seem confused about hotel amenities. Included breakfast is good, especially when enjoyed from rooftop patio. Only two small quibbles that prevent a 5-star rating (both consistent with prior comments from other travellers): first, the towels truly are terrible, like bad gym towels that are much, much too old and in some cases even torn; and, second, the wifi continually kicks you out so that you must re-enter login and password info. Also, the advertised king bed in our room was much closer to a double than a king (perhaps a queen). Still, as noted at the outset, a very, very good hotel and we will certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PreferParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We're quite glad you enjoyed your stay with us, our service and what we have to offer. I will definitely take a serious look at our towels and rectify immediately. Miami Beach does have pretty hard water which usually affects the terry in towels. We are working towards upgrading our WiFi network which will solve the intermittent connectivity as well as increase speeds.
Thank you very much for your invaluable feedback, please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Not so good: The breakfast was not that good and the same every day. Eventhough you pay an ekstra service charge for beach chairs you can not be sure to have one.
Good: Friendly and helpful staff, nice and clean rooms, nice roof terasse, close to beach and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mille4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hi Mille,

Looks like we might have missed on a few of our standards during your stay and for that we apologize. Would appreciate your time in discussing your stay further and will send an email through TripAdvisor in hope of reaching you.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope to get the chance to make it up to you during a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Cavalier South Beach
#104 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
The Confidante
#20 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,850 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#30 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#27 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,889 reviews
La Flora
#12 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108 (Formerly Edgewater South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach has earned the status as one of Ocean Drive's most iconic properties offering 49 studios and suites. Within easy walking distance to the best of South Beach, beautiful landscapes are easily discovered. Owners and guests will be immersed in the center of the action of South Beach from the restaurants and galleries of Lincoln Road to the boutique shops and nightclubs of Collins and Washington Avenues to the turquoise waters of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing