We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great little find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Ranked #28 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great little find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I Stayed at the Edgewater with my husband in June this year - what a great little hotel nestled away at the quieter side of South Beach. The hotel was a little difficult to find (we drove past it a few times) as it is very understated, but this fits very well with the theme of the hotel. It was very relaxed, all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful with any queries we had and it had a really nice roof terrace. Be aware there is a resort fee to pay, but I think this is good value and we took full advantage of the breakfast, happy hour and beach chairs. One last thing, the reception of the hotel smelled great - strange one I know but they had lovely scented candles - if anyone can let me know the scent that would be great as I would love to get some for my home!!! I hope to have the opportunity to return some day.

Room Tip: Try for an ocean view if possible as these rooms seemed much lighter than the rear/side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We know there are a lot of options in South Beach and appreciate that you chose us for your stay. Glad to see you took full advantage of what we have to offer.
The scent you noticed in the lobby does get noticed a lot and that's why we offer our guests the possibility to take it home with them in the form of a candle :) I will send you a separate email with information.
We look forward to your return as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    502
    125
    35
    19
See reviews for
249
824
67
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed three nights at Edgewater in Deluxe Studio Room 212 and thoroughly enjoyed the spacious room and its amenities. And, of course, the staff was wonderful, friendly and always helpful. My only complaint was the lighting in the bathroom. It was a bit dim and especially so in the shower area. The Ocean Drive location is also a plus being on a more 'quiet' block but, of course, only a very short walk to louder action on Ocean Drive and to other attractions on Collins Avenue, Lincoln Road Mall, Lummus Park, Espaniola Way and Washington Avenue. This was my first visit to Miami and South Beach and staying at Edgewater made for a very memorable time. I would definitely stay at Edgewater again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoytie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us on your first stay in South Beach, now we definitely feel special! It's fantastic that you had a great time, we hope to be at your service again during your next stay. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We agree with the positive comments about the staff and the so-so breakfast. The happy hour was a nice touch with quality beer, acceptable wine and quality mixed nuts and pretzels. We had two room issues. The first was in room 203. It smelled swampy or musty, sort of choked me up. The bed was comfortable and the bath was nice. They gladly moved us to room 303 and the air was fine; however the bed was terrible. It was like a piece of old foam and you sunk down so deep it was like sleeping in a hammock. We asked the front desk to be sure to mention this to the management on our departure and he wrote it down. The reason to stay here is value for location. Be careful of room selection. We loved our first time visit to Miami Beach!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, our guest feedback is very important to us. Our apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced, we are glad that we were able to resolve some to your satisfaction. We checked the mattress and unfortunately were not able to verify that it's defective in any way.
Thanks again for choosing Edgewater South Beach, we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passaic, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for two nights over the weekend and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was in a great location, the room was spacious and spotless, and the staff was the best I've ever dealt with. We didn't have a car but taxis were readily available and for a major city, affordable.
Downside was there was no pool but you were right across the street from a beautiful beach - why would you need a pool? For $18 per guest for the length of the stay you receive beach chairs, beach towels, wifi, computer and printer access, continental breakfast on a beautiful beach front patio, and a happy hour cocktail. The room had all the amenities you would need. The beds were very comfortable, and the entire hotel was very clean. I cannot say enough about the staff at this hotel, especially Victor! They all went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable and we had what we needed. It was first class service and made the stay all the more enjoyable. I will definitely be back to this great hotel, and highly recommend it for your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks very much for your kind words Suzanne. We appreciate being chosen for your getaway to South Beach and hope to be at your service again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loved the beautiful terrace overlooking Ocean Drive and the beach,conviniently located, large clean rooms, the staff was great always service with a smile. The General Manager even took the time to introduce himself. Thank you Richard, Andre, and Marteen for a very relaxing few days. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: A room on the 5th floor (Terrace floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
It was my pleasure to meet you, Ricardo! Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
262 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

OK there is no pool and you pay $30 a day to park but other than that this is a great hotel.

We upgraded our room to a one bed as we had 2 guests with us, the hotel were very helpful and accommodating and totally meet our needs before arrival.

While the lobby area in the hotel is small the rooms all appear to be a good size, the staff are fantastic and very helpful giving great advice and even sending us to a local Cuban restaurant to eat.

The breakfast is OK nothing hot other than the coffee but from 6-7pm there is a free bar with beer and wine available both served on the roof.

The location of the hotel is perfect right on Ocean Drive 1410, the beach is across the road and the hotel supply towels and chairs which you can use.

Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Look around before booking trips we found the best deals walking around some 40% cheaper than on off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Kevin,

We are very grateful that you chose Edgewater over the many other options you have in South Beach. Glad you had a great stay, please come see us again soon. Great pics, by the way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Well located, nice staff, nice rooms and clean.
Only and huge problem: spoiled plan tax - we stayed 4 nights and had to pay 200 dollars for this. We read it on the website before booking but it seemed to us that it was something optional, when we arrived at the hotel the receptionist said that it was not optional and we must pay it.
I said that I did not want to use those benefits (beach towels, breakfest and fruit on the reception) and at end did not use any but it was worthless.
This is not a fair tax and should be optional.
No plans to return because of lack of transparency on the reservation. They should say it's something you are forced to pay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Laura,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. Seems that our "Spoil me" fee was not properly explained to you and for that I apologize. The fee is $18 per day (tax inclusive) so for your 4 night stay the total is $72. Our website does explain this fee as "*Fee of $18.00 (per room per night) applies to all reservations." and the breakdown for the fee as: The Spoil Me Plan also includes:

Beach chairs & towels for the complete oceanfront hotel experience
High-speed wireless internet access in guest rooms and common areas
In-room safe access
Daily newspaper

What is also included is the continental breakfast, nightly happy hour and local calls.
Again, my apologies for the confusion, I will be sending you a separate private email with my information in hope of further discussing your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Cavalier South Beach
#104 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
The Confidante
#20 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,849 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#30 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#27 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,888 reviews
La Flora
#12 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108 (Formerly Edgewater South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach has earned the status as one of Ocean Drive's most iconic properties offering 49 studios and suites. Within easy walking distance to the best of South Beach, beautiful landscapes are easily discovered. Owners and guests will be immersed in the center of the action of South Beach from the restaurants and galleries of Lincoln Road to the boutique shops and nightclubs of Collins and Washington Avenues to the turquoise waters of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing