We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of De Rodriguez Cuba on Ocean - CLOSED

De Rodriguez Cuba on Ocean
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st Street
Description: “The Godfather of Nuevo Latino Cuisine” and James Beard Award winning Chef Douglas Rodriguez announces the relocation of his signature restaurant De Rodriguez Cuba to Miami Beach’s chic South of Fifth neighborhood. Serving his acclaimed Cuban fare in the Hilton Bentley South Beach location, De Rodriguez Cuba on Ocean will host guests ready to feast on ‘the best of the best’ from Chef Rodriguez.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This restaurant is located at the Hilton Bentley hotel in Miami Beach. The menue is a combination of typical Cuban food and creative ones . All of them with a personal twist that is delicious.
I had an empanadas of foie gras and fig as an appetizer that was delicious. Then sea bass with Crab, also excellent. The service is excellent, the place quiet next to the Ocean. We had dinner inside, but you can dine inside around the pool.
All in all a very good experience

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfredoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    69
    30
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast Treat”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

For breakfast you'll want to try the Pineapple Upside Down Pancakes -- fabulous -- that's all there is to say.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JC R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant in Miami”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

To be fair, it's ONE of the worst restaurants in Miami. The place bills itself as offering authentic Cuban fare, but it's far from it, especially in the price category. Most entrees are a la carte. A side of black beans and white rice is $9!. For $9 at any real Cuban restaurant, you can buy five or six sides of black beans and rice and they're tastier. Our service was very slow. We brought our own white wine and our server had to be reminded that it'd be nice to chill the white in a bucket with ice. They had the sliding glass doors open to the pool area so pool guests kept walking through the restaurant letting in all the hot, humid air. Bathrooms were disgusting and music was loud, almost as if the place was aiming to be a club. $46 for a paella for ONE person! And it was horrible. You can get excellent paella for TWO for $46. Fish entrees all bland. Appetizers were acceptable.
Avoid this place at all costs unless you like to: 1) deal with horrible S Beach traffic, 2) eat grossly over-priced food, 3) be ignored by your servers, 4)sweat INDOORS!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
208 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Recommendation from South Beach Marriott”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ran our dinner ideas past the Concierge (Seth Frank - the best!) at the South Beach Marriott. He passionately recommended de Rodriguez. We were extremely wise to follow his lead, and were not disappointed. Partners got the Paella Valencia and the Sea Bass, while I got the Vaca Frita Steak. All were incredible!! The server was very helpful with a good wine recommendation and an affordable price. Note - ask the server if they are discontinuing any wines. We got a good bottle at a 50% discount.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
142 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great breakfast buffet”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We ate here every day on our recent long weekend to South Beach. We had a complimentary buffet with our room at the Hilton Bentley as Gold HHonors members. The staff was attentive and pleasant and did more than the average for a buffet. Gabriel waited on us daily and knew we went for a walk every day, had one coffee, and ate special order eggs. I ate the fresh fruit and muffins. The muffins were especially good. They were different daily, warm and wonderful. I would recommend this restaurant for breakfast for others staying at the Hilton and other hotels in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funfamily20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Rodriguez Cuba on Ocean also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing