We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious tapas for dinner and great breakfast the next day”
Review of De Rodriguez Cuba on Ocean - CLOSED

De Rodriguez Cuba on Ocean
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st Street
Description: “The Godfather of Nuevo Latino Cuisine” and James Beard Award winning Chef Douglas Rodriguez announces the relocation of his signature restaurant De Rodriguez Cuba to Miami Beach’s chic South of Fifth neighborhood. Serving his acclaimed Cuban fare in the Hilton Bentley South Beach location, De Rodriguez Cuba on Ocean will host guests ready to feast on ‘the best of the best’ from Chef Rodriguez.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Bentley the night before a cruise departure from Miami and ate at DRC for dinner (tapas) the evening before and breakfast the day of our trip.
The tapas were tasty, in great portions for tapas, and authentic. We loved the almond stuffed dates wrapped in bacon. Staff were friendly, attentive, and helpful in describing the dishes.
Breakfast was also great the next morning. Hot and cold items, pasteries, fresh fruit and fruit juices, and the usual eggs and breakfast meats. We also loved the hotel (separate review) and would absolutely stay there again and happily recommend this hotel to others.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joe_Syracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeRodriguezCuba, Manager at De Rodriguez Cuba on Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

The Hilton Bentley Miami/South Beach hotel offers memorable dining experiences and boasts a world-class restaurant as ourselves, De Rodriguez Cuba on Ocean, James Beard-awarded. We are located in a prime location of South Beach by all the cruise ports. Happy Hour Tapas for $5 are great, especially because Happy Hour is every day from 5pm to 8pm! Our staff members strive to make a great impression as well as serve great service to all of our guests. Breakfast choices at De Rodriguez Cuba on Ocean include A La Carte; omelettes, breakfast sandwiches, breakfast wraps, and a salmon platter. The menu listing for “From the Griddle” is Pineapple Upside Down Pancake, OMG French Toast, Greek Yogurt Parfait, and Steel Cut Oatmeal. Of course, as you know, we also offer the Bentley Sunrise Buffet! What an amazing meal to enjoy with us. Thank you for your kind words and opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 235 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went for a bachelorette party on a Sunday night (but over the holiday/Labor Day weekend). We had a reservation but the restaurant -- surprisingly -- never got that busy. Therefore, we sat at a large, poolside table giving us a small view of the ocean. I really enjoyed the outdoor ambience, although if there were a ton of kids/people at the pool the experience may have been awful.

We ordered 2 ceviche for appetizers -- both delicious and turned me into a believer of ceviche! We also split a pitched of Sangria amongst other drinks. Drinks are a little over-priced but hey #1 it's Miami so really not that expensive comparatively and #2 it's in a Hilton Hotel. Someone (manager? server?) even comped us one bottle since we were drinking so much, which I appreciate. Our server was very friendly & everything on the menu sounded amazing. It really was difficult to choose. Everyone in our group was happy with their dinner choice and all in all it was great for the occasion. This was our last night dining in Miami & the best restaurant of our stay, made even better by the quiet, non-club atmosphere!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gorocketdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeRodriguezCuba, Manager at De Rodriguez Cuba on Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for celebrating a bachelorette party with us here at De Rodriguez Cuba on Ocean and sharing your opinions!! Yes certain holidays such as Labor Day weekend, is not a desirable time to have our restaurant open in the evening due to the attraction of many visitors with less etiquette manners down of 5th. South Beach is full of great people, but some visitors to the beautiful city magnetize closer to lower quality dishes and more promoted bars during some holidays. Poolside seating is a great option we provide to our guests in which is mostly requested ahead of time. The pool times of the Bentley Hilton Hotel is 7am to 7pm. So by typical dinner time, the hotel guests are out of the pool. Our five ceviches melt in your mouth, especially if you like to try something new and innovative. Sangria is a great choice to share with a group. We knew that you and your group were celebrating a great occasion, and spending your time tasting many dishes on our menu, so we treated you with a gift from us. We loved to read your review and the details were great, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We ordered a few dishes from the menu for room service from De Rodriguez and they were pretty good. The marlin tacos were delicious, and the chips and salsa were actually plantain chips which was a nice surprise. The key lime pie was not actually pie, but still very tasty.

Thank KC R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeRodriguezCuba, Manager at De Rodriguez Cuba on Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

The Marlin Tacos are rum-marinated smoked marlin wrapped in crispy Malaga shell that has been in our menu for all time. This appetizer is our guest’s most desired dishes, along with the Cuban Sandwich Crispy Sticks. For a authentic Cuban twist, we choose to do plantains as the chips for our signature Chips and Salsa. De Rodriguez Cuba on Ocean is not typical, so why not have a typical dessert be extraordinary like us? Our Key-Lime Pie is de-constructed Key Lime Pie with raspberry sauce topped with coconut sorbet. Gladly enjoyed your review, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Dinner with friends, 9 people in total.
The value mentioned on the price range for this restaurant is wrong.
We had dinner there which included: 4 starters to share among everyone, 9 main courses, 1 desert, 2 bottles of wine and 4 beers. Total costs per person 70,5 US Dollar, including tip. Not saying that it is a very expensive restaurant, only that the price range mentioned is wrong.
Food was very good, the service not really. The waiters keep pushing us through the meal, speeding up the dinner. We were having some mojitos (ordered and paid while waiting in the bar - that's why it was not included in the above description of our bill), and as soon as we chose the wine, the waiter took them without asking if we were done.
Finally, we would like to aware you about the bill and the tip. The total cost already includes the tip, that appears listed together with the drinks, meals, etc. Below this value, the restaurant puts a space with a "tip sugestion" of 18% or 20% of the total cost (again, this total cost already includes tip!), which may mislead people and make them believe that tip was not yet included already.
We are not talking about the typical "additional tip" field that all bills usually have. In this case, it is really misleading and it does not mention "additional tip", only "suggested tip" so be aware of this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pedro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The best Mojitos in South beach. Try the fish tacos as tapas or appetizer, smoked marinated tuna with a malanga shell, enough to share.I recommend the Florida lobster with green rice, a delicious combination of flavors. Cuban shrimp with grits also a delicious dish,new latino cuisine. You must try the cuatro leches with dulce de leche, beautiful presentation, large enough to share. Try it you will like it. After your meal, sit at the bar by the pool.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AleliMiami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Rodriguez Cuba on Ocean also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing