We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be careful”
Review of Cantinetta

Cantinetta
Ranked #336 of 1,103 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed February 3, 2013

we use to come to this place a lot before it change its name to cantinetta. it was very good.
we went one saturday for lunch and they had several dishes announced for under $10....we order two salads and then the waiter suggested a special appetizer, some cheese and prosciutto....we were smart to ask the price before we needed to ask the waiter to repeated it 3 times before we could understand....it was $40!!!!!
we loked around and most of the young couples, tourists, had it on the table, and i bet that they will be surprised when the bill show up......
the food and service are average but this tactic is a shame

2  Thank william w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CantinettaSouthBeach, Manager at Cantinetta, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

I am terribly sorry that your visit was less than acceptable and that you have left with a bad impression of us.

As you mentioned sometimes we do offer a $9.50 Lunch Special Menu ,anyone of the 10 different item on it for $9.50.
On the regular menu we also have a few choices for under $10, a few salads, paninis and pastas.

Now about the Chef Suggestions, the platter as you said correctly it is $40 but is not only "some cheese and prosciutto" the Antipasto dello Chef it is served on a 14in plate, which includes the following:

Burrata (fresh Italian cheese, made from mozzarella and cream)
Brie
Mozzarella
Parmesano
Speck
Prosciutto
Mortadella
Sorpressatta
Artichokes
Sundried Tomatoes
Olives
and Arrugula

You can actually see the picture of it
http://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-s/03/4b/2d/1d/cantinetta.jpg

But on the other hand, the waiter should know better, if you were ordering only salads, you wanted to have a light lunch he should suggest a smaller platter for $30 but large enough for two as an entree, not as an appetizer.

Whenever you have a few minutes I would be happy to speak with you about your visit.

Please contact me at your convenience;
Ximena Zegarra
Manager
ximezegarra@gmail.com
305-209-9197

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Cantinetta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 221 of 620 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very good service, excellent italian food !! Whit italian staff!! I went for business dinner and we have found a nice friendly atmosphere!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Licano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The food was excellent and price reasonable given the 20 percent discount which is general in this restaurant area. Service was good and the general ambiance interesting and comfortable. Overall a very positive and memorable experience. Manager Antonello Aldini very helpful re places to see in the area . Ann and Don McCarthy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annmccarthy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

In a week we went to La Cantinetta three times.
The food was very good, pizza was GREAT but it was all a bit overpriced.
Service the first night was very good, then a little bit less good.
Didn't have to wait much for food to arrive on the table(which is good when you are starving!).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank girasoliverdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CantinettaSouthBeach, Manager at Cantinetta, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

We take pride in knowing how to make an exceptional pizza. We think that all great pizzas start with a great crust! This is why we make our dough fresh every day using our authentic recipe.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Ximena Zegarra
Manager
ximezegarra@gmail.com
305-532-0930

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant clean and tidy professional waiters and above all, the food was great. It's like eating in Italy. I recommend it to everyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Monymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CantinettaSouthBeach, Manager at Cantinetta, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We are doing our best bring a little of Italy to your table, and we are glad you had such a good experience with us.

we will more than happy to have you here again soon,

Thank You,

Ximena Zegarra
Manager
ximezegarra@gmail.com
305-209-9197
305-532-0930

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantinetta also viewed

 

Been to Cantinetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing