We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, traditional, Cuban, food!”

Sazon Cuban Cuisine
Ranked #47 of 1,074 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: North Shores
san francisco
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good, traditional, Cuban, food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Yum! Why is it that you can only get authentic Cuban food in Miami. Yes of course most Cubans live in Miami, but you can eat good Italian in other places other than Italy, you can eat good Chines in other places besides China. But take Cuban food out of Miami and that's it, it falls flat. I know, I come from a Cuban family and a Cuban grandmother that was the best in traditional cooking. I live now in California and I got to tell you every time they try a Cuban food restaurant in California it seems it turns out tasting like Mexican food!

For a good authentic Cuban dinner Sazon is great. Nice atmosphere, very lively and don't forget to try the Sangria!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fcoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    206
    45
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Our first taste of Cuban food, delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Having read a few reviews of this place, and as it was within walking distance of our hotel (Solara Surfside where there isn't much nearby at all) we decided to give it a go. Looking at the menu before we went in, it was slightly daunting and we nearly went for the easy option of an Italian but we bit the bullet and so glad we did!
Our waitress was a lovely lady who explained a few dishes to us. We had already spotted a few diners getting served their meal, plus the reviews from TA, indicated to us that we should avoid ordering a starter and just go for a main course each. We went for the chicken and ordered the 2 'specials' on the main menu. Both fantastic although I would say chicken stuffed with plaintain was HUGE. We had side orders of plantain and cassava, along with moros and congri. Wow, the sides were as good as the main, and the moros really helped set off the richness of my chicken.
We had a bottle of house red, and 2 coffees, dinner plus healthy tip came to $67. A bargain for what we had and if we ever come back to the area, we'll definitely try here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artemis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Comfort Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Way up on Collins Ave in North Beach, this unpretentious neighborhood restaurant serves up home cooked style cuban food that can really satisfy

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juliearion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Average meals if you have to take a bite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Ordered King fish and some meal with beaf and pork skin inside ( waiter said it is Cuban dish)
Fish was good, but beaf was cheap and pork ( not sure if it should be so ) skin was as hard as the wood.
Basically my recommendation is if you have no other choice you can go there as menu is big and you can find something that can be OK for you

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IraBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Cuban food in Miami Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Best rotisserie chicken, black beans, sweet fried plantains, and more in Miami Beach. While you eat, enjoy Cuban and Puerto Rican background music. Clean.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HildiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sazon Cuban Cuisine also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Sazon Cuban Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing